We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Occasion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Very Special Occasion”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have stayed at this hotel from time to time since the mid 1980's and it always has a special place in our heart.

This time we were celebrating a special birthday for my wife so we booked the gate house lodge. An extravagance for just two people but well worth it for a special occasion.

The lodge is at the entrance to the long driveway leading up to the hotel. Very convenient for both the town and the hotel. Importantly we had no perception of being in such a prominent position when in the property. It was quiet and well insulated. The lodge itself is very well appointed, in excellent condition and with a four poster feature bedroom and a wood burner in the lounge we felt we were having a real treat being there. Highly recommended and I'm sure excellent value if 4-6 people were there to share the cost. That in mind, there is plenty of segregation between the 3 bedrooms/bathrooms though you do have to be mindful that the bathroom from the four poster room is off the main landing so not entirely private.

In the hotel itself, we were disappointed that the bar was shut every time we tried to use it even for pre-dinner drinks on Saturday evening. The restaurant food choice was limited and quality bland. We actually struggled to find something we wanted to eat. Pay attention to your bill on checking out. Although we had pre-paid for the accommodation in full there was an attempt to insert a supplementary charge amongst the expenses we'd charged to the room during the stay though in fairness when challenged it was removed without question.

Room Tip: Front or rear facing if in a standard room as the others tend to face inward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikenwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
It was lovely you shared such a very special occasion with us.. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    515
    308
    168
    102
See reviews for
369
827
40
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south cumbria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Spent a night here for our wedding anniversary. Looked beautiful from the outside but didn't live up to expectations. Our room had a window which would not shut, the television wouldn't work.No help with luggage at reception desk. went downstairs for afternoon tea and had to find a member of staff to take our order as there was no-one to be seen . Sat at a table in the conservatory lovely view but very draughty as windows in need of attention. Disappointed as we were the only people there . The young lady waitress was helpful and she tried to sort out the tv problem but it still didn't work. She said we could sit in the lounge/bar area and watch the tv in there in the evening but it proved awkward as more people were sitting there and wanted a different channel on so had to go up to the room which wasn't very warm on account of the window (gap was quite large) Breakfast was more efficient but only average. On the whole disappointing . It was a surprise for my husband so I felt upset as it was meant to be special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi there

Thanks for your review. I am slightly confused as we dont have TVs in our lounges nor do we have a conservatory?

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just back from a couple of days at the Atholl Palace Hotel to celebrate my wife's Birthday.

What a great time we had, helped by the brilliant staff and management.

If you are looking for good old fashioned service, where the staff are polite friendly and always willing to help then this is the place for you :-)

We stayed in the Lodge House, which was something a bit special. We bumped into one of the staff (may have been housekeeping) and when we mentioned we were not sure the best way to drive to a couple of place we were keen to visit for the day, off she went to get us maps to help, telling us to keep hold of them until we were leaving the hotel.

Great place to stay if you want to do some touring around Scotland

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bry12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
I am so happy you had a fantastic stay at the Palace and genuinely hope you will return soon

Best Wishes

Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I decided to have lunch here as we were visiting Pitlochry for the day. The hotel has a lovely situation and the decor is very presentable. It was an ideal setting for the wedding which was taking place at the time of our visit.

Our choice of seating was at the far end of the dining room so that we could be far away from the open windows. It was still chilly given that the temperature was only 5* outside and the surrounding hills had snow. We both started with the mushroom soup. It was lovely but was served with soda bread which was thick and dry. The butter had obviously just been taken from the fridge and the bread crumbled when attempting to spread the butter on it. Our next course was breaded haddock with chips, a small amount of lettuce and an onion ring. The chips were served in an open basket and were very cool on arrival. By the time the waiter returned to the dining room and we mentioned this, we had started eating our fish the chips being inedible. He offered to replace the chips but felt it wouldn't be worth it as we then would have cold fish but hot chips! We just felt the lunch we had been looking forward to, was ruined. We decided to leave and not wait for a sweet as planned. Part of the problem may have been the distance the waiter had to travel from the kitchen with the chips in an open basket and not on the warm plate. The salad was poor so really we ended up with a main course of fish. The waiter did not charge us for the one glass of wine but this hardly made up for an unpleasant lunch experience. We will not return.

Something else I must mention. While the wedding guests were waiting for the bridal photographs being taken outside they were having drinks and nibbles in the area just outside the dining room. It was fairly crowded and we had no other option but to excuse our way through this crowd to get to the exit door. It must have been as annoying for them as it was for us. Surely in a place the size of this hotel such guests could be accommodated in an area other than a main passageway to the main door of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marionhas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Booked an overnight stay, travelled with husband and two small children. Nice room, very spacious, close to a baby room with fridge and microwave, great surprise and very useful. Pool was small but good. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1980x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hi we've stayed at atholl palace a few times but the last time was about 15 years ago. However atholl palace didn't disappoint it is still lovely and retains its Scottishness . The grounds are beautiful great for walks . Food is great couldn't fault it. Atholl palace is a lovely place to stay a real treat

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Sales Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for coming back to visit us after 15 years - I do hope you wont leave it that long again before we can see you back! Thank you for your kind review and I look forward to welcoming you back!
With best regards
Jenny Dow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked this Hotel for 1 night when travelling with Grandchildren.

The Location and setting is fantastic as is the Hotel and Grand features within. The Staff were most helpful when we arrived, the Family room on fourth floor was first class. The onsite leisure facilities were very nice and enjoyed by all of the party.

The breakfast was first class in presentation and finish and provided a great start to our day, followed by a walk through the grounds after breakfast was most enjoyable.

As an observation the one small lift may not be sufficient enough for a Hotel of this size.

The Location, setting, service and Hotel experience was first class and we will most definitely return again in near future and highly recommend the fabulous Hotel to all and sundry.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Sales Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
I am delighted to hear you all enjoyed your stay, and thank you for posting your review! I hope you are already planning to come back and visit us again with the rest of the family, we would love to see you all back.
With best wishes
Jenny Dow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,861 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Property: Atholl Palace Hotel
Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing