We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect in everyway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atholl Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect in everyway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

From the second you walk in the history is everywhere,the staff are brill room 115 had a panoramic view ,breakfast was great something for everyone spa snooker tennis golf museum never bored will be back

Room Tip: room 115 is on corner great views take binnoculars
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexRice2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
What a fantastic review which I am delighted to share with the team. Thank you so very very much


Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    496
    295
    163
    101
See reviews for
353
793
40
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have just returned from a 3 day DBB at the Atholl Palace and are still on a 'high'! It is a beautiful Victorian 'Hydro' building, gorgeous grounds with pitch and putt, woodland walks, gardens, children's play area and any amount of beautiful wildlife - we saw two roe deer and a very friendly red squirrel. We had a family room which has been the best room we've ever had in a hotel. Very spacious, our four year old daughter had her own room as such which connected to ours via an archway, however it meant we could still have the television on and the room lit when she was in bed. The hotel and our room had glorious Perthshire views and we had great weather. To be honest, whatever the weather, the hotel is beautiful. Fine architecture, terrific food and hospitality. Our daughter was pleased to bits with being the "Princess" in the Palace and loved the swimming pool and all the lavish attention that she received from the very friendly and helpful staff. We found bar costs to be very reasonable and the afternoon tea is a must. We cannot wait to return to the Atholl Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rucksackScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
It is feedback like this that makes a hard days toil worthwhile.. Thank you so very much and I hope to welcome you back very soon


Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wormit
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just back from a two night break at the Atholl Palace Pitlochry. The staff very good and helpful, the room very comfortable, the food was extremely fine, a very warm and comforting atmosphere about the whole place. I shall return.

Room Tip: I believe that they are all good, was shown few by a very nice housemaid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoianMiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
I am so happy you enjoyed your visit to our wonderful hotel and sincerely thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We all look forward to welcoming yo back hopefully soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

I am a hard person to please when it comes to hotels as I have worked in the industry for 15 years....but this hotel is just fantastic!! Steeped in history (it even has its own museum and original hydro tiling)the hotel is traditional, whilst retaining something that is becoming rare now....Scottish hospitality! We had a refurbished room ( they are doing up about 10 rooms a month up so pics you may see on here are likely going to start changing) which was modern but retained original features (fireplace, cornicing etc) and so comfortable!! The staff were lovely, and really attentive....I must have said hello at least 5 times in the morning as staff bussled around. the food was great, and they even do smoothies at breakfast! I liked that the GM made an effort to talk to guests that he passed in the lobby, like they were an old friend. It is still in the process of being refurbed, but when finished I think it will be stunning....and in the meantime they are not trying to be something its not! Humble, charming, quaint and efficient is how I would describe it....cant wait to see it in all its glory. In the meantime-keep doing what you are doing and employing the right people, they made our stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
I am so happy that the staff made your stay with us a great one. A property is only as good as its staff and I am very fortunate to have a lovely team to work alongside me. We are fast tracking the bedrooms which have not yet had the upgrade but even our older rooms are extremely comfortable and have a grand character all of their own.

thanks for such lovely comments

Yours Aye

Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Nice place to stay en-route along the A9

The building has a lot of history and seems to make its living through weddings but as this was a dreary Midweek overnight stay em route to Perth for the following morning all that was required was a bit of food and somewhere to rest a weary head.

Right the food was of better class than a normal hotel with 2 courses for £18 and a gwaited service. When you are used to the usual Premier Inn service level it is a welcome change!

However... There was a random £8 charge found at reception on departure the following day that might be related to having a drink in the bar while waiting for food to be announced... Easy money I guess...

The whiskey on arrival was a nice touch and the staff were professional and friendly but...

...the room was TINY!!!

Single awful bed in a room the size of a large wardrobe but luckily with ensuite shower/basin. Was quite tidy with easy access wifi but not suited to a business traveller who needs to catchup with work in such a small room.

It was £59 with breakfast though...

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
I t was great having you stay with us and I am pleased you found it a welcome change from the more mundane chain offerings available to buisness people on the road.

I am not sure what the pricey extras relate to but our lounge bar is very reasonable. If the charge was infact an error , I will of couse be pleased to arrange a refund.

Our bedrooms do very in size and I am in process of upgrading our limited singles to small doubles for single occupancy. Please ask for one of these new rooms should you be passing our way again.

Thanks for your kind comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Had a wonderful 2 nights in twin room with my best friend then a luxury night when my husband joined me on the Sunday. Hotel was charming & so were the staff. Drinks & hotel rates were extremely reasonable. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thanks for your kind comments and I am delighted you found the grand old lady which is the Atholl Palace to be a wonderfully relaxing retreat. I hope to welcome you back soon

Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

just back from a brilliant weekend celebrating my wedding anniversary. This is the second time I've spent a weekend here and it was just as great as the first.We didn't use the spa this time as we didn't have too much time and we forgot our bathers! Can say we went skiing (Glenshee) which was 30 miles away and that was brilliant too. The interior isn't new but has a really nice olde worlde charm, if that's not your thing then I'm sure there's a Sheraton out there for you,but not in Pitlochry. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the dinner we had on both nights was superb and a completely different menu on each night.The piped music in the dinning room wasn't though and could really do with a change,nothing wrong with the selection if a little loud,just not the same loop please. We shall be back to check!

Room Tip: front has the better views,although none bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
A lovely review so thank you. Your comments exactly reflect the feeling that we as a team have for the Palace. The building is indeed alive with charm and its oppulant past is still resinent in the old plaster walls of the rooms.

Many thanks once again and please hurry back

Yours Aye



Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Property: Atholl Palace Hotel
Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing