We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atholl Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Moulin Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$381
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisher's Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$384
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Trees Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dundarach Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atholl Arms Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,030)
Filter reviews
2,030 results
Traveller rating
808
579
346
190
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
808
579
346
190
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavender spaturret suitetennis courtsplunge poolpitch and puttstags headmanor houserestaurant managerafternoon teasteam roomwedding partywelcome drinkputting greenhotel groundsspa breakspa arealovely grounds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,219 - 1,224 of 2,030 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

First visit to this lovely hotel and definately wont be the last. Great feeling about this place with lovely food and friendly staff. OK so the pool was out of order but no big deal. Great grounds to explore Only downside was they don,t allow dogs in the hotel

Room Tip: Front facing
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the trouble to review your recent visit to our hotel. I was very happy that you had an enjoyable visit and we sincerely look forward to a return in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel on 4th May and had been looking forward to it however, apart from the
stunning building and fabulous grounds it was a big disappointment from the moment we arrived.
The receptionist was very abrupt and didn't ask if we required newspapaers/wake up calls or actually take time to explain the facilities of the hotel (there was nothing in our room either to
advise what was available).
Rooms were adequate and clean.
We sat in the lounge where it seemed impossible to get service to order drinks. When we eventually did get a barperson we were told there were 2 bars we could go to........ she eventually brought us our drinks but rather grudgingly.
When we went for dinner we were greeted by the restaurant manager who proceeded to tell us how busy he was and could we wait even although we had already prebooked our table.
The menu was not very exciting and quality of food was very average. We asked for water
and one of the waitresses "plonked" the jug of water on our table - I am surprised we were not asked to fetch the water ourselves! There was also a delay with our main course and one of the waitresses explained they were busy with a bigger table! How to make your customers feel important!!
After dinner we moved to the lounge where again there seemed to be no-one serving drinks and a few other residents had to go looking for someone to serve them.
There are 2 beautiful pianos in the hotel but having young children batter on them until 11pm was not ideal, surely these could be locked at night?
Breakfast was buffet style but as another reviewer reported there was again little attention to service.
At check out we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay but then again the overall impression is that most of the staff are not interested in their jobs or their customers.
We would not go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Many thanks for your feedback following your visit on the 4th of May. I am sorry that we seemed to have failed somewhat miserably and would be very happy to talk through your points if you would like to call me direct on 01796 472000.

Kind Regards

Kieran Whyte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel seemed to be going through a refresh which meant a strong smell of paint along the first floor and various marks of paint across our bathroom floor.
The room was of a good standard and I'm sure improved on the previous décor.
Bed linen and mattress was of a good standard.
The pool was out of service and the pamper sessions fully booked well in advance of our visit.
The service was the poorest received for a long time, serving staff spoke little English and the chamber maids were discussing something in a foreign tongue outside of my bedroom door at 7am.
The evening food was a limited menu as we were part of a group, they couldn't seem to get us in and out of the dining room quick enough!
Breakfast was a standard affair with little attention or service.
Bar service was hard to come by prior to early evening and not good when the barman is having to radio through to see how he works the till!
There is plenty of lounge and seating but if there is a wedding on(as was during our visit) it can be very busy during the day.
The grounds and surrounding area were stunning, sadly our view from the first floor was of the offices and recycling area but then looking out over the hotel driveway.
Considering the cost of this hotel I have to rate it as poor mainly for the service received overall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwp12c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi there and thank you for posting your findings on Trip Advisor. I am glad you found our revamped rooms to be pleasant following our on going revamp but am saddened that this was spoiled by the smell of paint. I am baffled as to why the paint was a strong smell as its now been 3 weeks sine we finished the first floor bedrooms and we did use low odour paints .

The views from all of our bedrooms are of the rolling countryside for which the Highlands is famous for and it is beautiful at this time of year when the colours are changing and Spring is doing the magic of changing the whole landscape.

I am sorry you found the menu limited but this was agreed at group level and I am Shure you can understand that when dining as a group the menu has to reflect this. I have had some really great feedback rom other group members regarding the quality of the offering.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Really nice staff both at reception and in the restaurant, made the weekend. Lovely grounds and a nice stroll into Pitlochry.
Room 401 should be avoided, very basic, when using the wc you need to squash your knees up against the bath. anyone over 5'7" don't even bother trying. Would go back again on the basis we had a better room.

Room Tip: Not room 401
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shar0n_P574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent visit to the Atholl Palace and you really had a chill out break which is so important in the busy lives we lead.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl Palace in the not to distant future


Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

paid for room dinner and breakfast most of the menu asked for a supplement lack of choice very poor no draught beer or ciders barman said they ran out went down for swim no water in pool want told that maintenance was getting done when booking other customers complained about this to ripped off wont be back again also no hairdryer had to phone down to reception for one ,girlfriend not very happy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback via Trip Advisor. There is no excuse for a hairdryer not being in the room but I am please that housekeeping did manage to supply one without to much of a delay.

Our seasonal menus have proved very popular and there is a good choice of items that do not carry a supplement and the items that do we feel are very fairly priced considering that we do use local fresh ingredients where possible and we have held off putting up our dinner menu prices for 2 years despite the nearly monthly rise in raw ingredients.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews