We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attractive building and welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Attractive building and welcoming staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The drive and grounds are particularly attractive and the hotel is fairly well located for going into Pitlochry. Food was good and the head waiter was exemplary: he was professional, polite and very helpful - perhaps guests affect staff behaviour at times.
We enjoyed our visit and would recommend this hotel..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran A, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
A lovely review. The staff make a hotel and I appreciate each and every one of the members working here. I will gladly pass on your great comments re the food and service.

Hope to welcome you back soon


Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    502
    297
    165
    101
See reviews for
359
804
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gullane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We last called in at the Atholl Palace about six years ago, and were not impressed - it was shabby and the service was poor. We were persuaded by friends to stay there last month, and found it to be hugely improved. Our bedroom was more than adequate, with a good bathroom and a superb view. The food was good - not 5 star, but very good nonetheless, and the service was superb - every member of staff said hello when you passed them, and they were well trained. Unfortunately the swimming pool was out of order owing to a leak, but these things happen - not the hotel's fault. Clearly a great deal of money has been spent on the hotel, and we would certainly go back. Our only criticism was that we would normally ask for a double bedded room, but all the double beds are 4ft.6ins - which we find a bit too small, so had to settle for twin beds, which were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - can be spectacular; also enquire about the size of beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran A, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Its very encouraging when repeat guests notice and comment on the constant improvements we are making to both the fabric and service levels of the hotel so thank you very much for this. I do hope you return soon to enjoy the current investment that is making us even better

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Wonderful location ,woeful service and value....
Aside from the pool closure (which I knew about) which has no real bearing on my overall imrpession, many other issues prevented me from enjoying, or reflecting positively on my stay there- of course the approach to the hotel is amazing and very grand, but once inside the venue, any pleasing sensation of luxury, or feeling special quickly goes. It is tired, in need of renonvation and some staff replaced entirely. Particalur mention should be made of one of the waiters (head waiter, if that is not a contradiction terms....), who was wonderfully rude and short with people (myself included). Like a comedy villain who clearly though he worked in some sort of exclusive, michelin starred gaff (and not a provincial baording house passed it's best). When asked by a hungry guest could he get a burger (which you could get I think, but couldnt work out where or by what means as I had been unable to find the 'bar' menu they managed to securely hide), he replied "what, a burger, in here??". Was funny until I realsied I was paying for such appaling servce. I could go on but I have waste denough of my life on this place.
(oh, they also tried to charge me for a meal I didnt have. Worth a shot right? Also, there was a dead beetle/insect waiting for me in bed)
Please do not stay here, vote with your feet!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Garreth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran A, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
OUCH" We clearly failed you and I do understand you were met by our Duty Manager. This is not what we are about however on investigating your comments with my Head Waiter I do think some items may have been taken out on context as it was never his intention to cause offence .

We do work very hard to deliver great service and sometimes we can it wrong as can anyone however we are the first to hold our hands up to the same.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Where to start? The room was cozy, clean and spacious. The staff were an utter delight, kind, friendly and went out their way to make sure our stay was the best it could possibly be. The grounds are the best I have experienced at any hotel. I was here a few years ago and the improvement under the new management is vast. Can't wait to come back here again. I will recommend to anyone coming to stay in Pitlochry.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brothersun86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
So glad you had an enjoyable time in the hotel. Its great to note your comments that the improvements we are slowly introducing aren't going unnoticed.

Thanks for such wonderful comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

First class hotel! Made to feel very welcome, particularly by manager Kieran Whyte, although all staff went over and above expectations. Beautiful grounds and setting and the restaurant is well worth a visit. Went home relaxed and already looking forward to planning our next visit. 10 out of 10 from us!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
A lovely review thank you. So happy you and your family has a great visit to both our hotel and Pitlochry which is a great destination for a short break.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

First visit to this lovely hotel and definately wont be the last. Great feeling about this place with lovely food and friendly staff. OK so the pool was out of order but no big deal. Great grounds to explore Only downside was they don,t allow dogs in the hotel

Room Tip: Front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the trouble to review your recent visit to our hotel. I was very happy that you had an enjoyable visit and we sincerely look forward to a return in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel on 4th May and had been looking forward to it however, apart from the
stunning building and fabulous grounds it was a big disappointment from the moment we arrived.
The receptionist was very abrupt and didn't ask if we required newspapaers/wake up calls or actually take time to explain the facilities of the hotel (there was nothing in our room either to
advise what was available).
Rooms were adequate and clean.
We sat in the lounge where it seemed impossible to get service to order drinks. When we eventually did get a barperson we were told there were 2 bars we could go to........ she eventually brought us our drinks but rather grudgingly.
When we went for dinner we were greeted by the restaurant manager who proceeded to tell us how busy he was and could we wait even although we had already prebooked our table.
The menu was not very exciting and quality of food was very average. We asked for water
and one of the waitresses "plonked" the jug of water on our table - I am surprised we were not asked to fetch the water ourselves! There was also a delay with our main course and one of the waitresses explained they were busy with a bigger table! How to make your customers feel important!!
After dinner we moved to the lounge where again there seemed to be no-one serving drinks and a few other residents had to go looking for someone to serve them.
There are 2 beautiful pianos in the hotel but having young children batter on them until 11pm was not ideal, surely these could be locked at night?
Breakfast was buffet style but as another reviewer reported there was again little attention to service.
At check out we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay but then again the overall impression is that most of the staff are not interested in their jobs or their customers.
We would not go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Many thanks for your feedback following your visit on the 4th of May. I am sorry that we seemed to have failed somewhat miserably and would be very happy to talk through your points if you would like to call me direct on 01796 472000.

Kind Regards

Kieran Whyte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Property: Atholl Palace Hotel
Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing