We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place : great view : she is tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good place : great view : she is tired”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We have been staying in this hotel since 2000. Love this place ..room 82 has always been our home from home but this time a little annoyed though.

The bathroom had mould in the shower cubicle .The mats were old and dirty after repeated complaints nothing was done although the manager was very accommodative and helpful. But the house keeping service was appalling. We stayed 3 days in these circumstances.

A token of goodwill was given only after we again talked and showed the pictures. Thanks . But we were not after discount ...We love this place and want it to remain as the best.

Varandha roof and ceilings looked a bit tired.
The tennis court is abundant and unloved.

The pool and steam room the sauna and the jacuzzi was fab

Please please rectify the problem so that we can come again and again to stay here like we used to stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank I C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran A, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hi there

Many thanks for your review. Room 82 which you mention in particular closes its doors tomorrow for a couple of weeks as we are renovating and refurbishing all 6 bedrooms on the garden wing. We are very excited at this will be the introduction of the third decor scheme which will be common throughout a large number of the rooms. We have been quietly working away on our full refurbishment programme and delighted to see light at the end of the tunnel. I hope to meet you for your feedback on your next visit

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    516
    308
    169
    102
See reviews for
371
828
40
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have just returned from my third visit to the Atholl Palace Hotel and I enjoyed every minute of it from start to finish. Spotless bedroom, beautiful meals, hardworking staff, lovely relaxing atmosphere. I dont think I would ever tire of this hotel or the stunning views and beautiful gardens and wildlife. Cant wait to go back!!! This is a real find in Pitlochry and amazing value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldineVeitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Many thanks for your review of our hotel!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and we can't wait to welcome you back.
Thank you very for taking the time to review us.

Kindest Regards,

Atholl Palace Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Superb building, magnificent surroundings, friendly staff, where shall I start. With the building, a magnificent edifice greets you, on the hill overlooking the drive that sweeps around the greenery. A little stream meandering down the side of the drive, herons and ducks stood watching as you walk or drive up to the hotel. Enter the hallway and be met with very pleasant reception staff, and the glass of whiskey liqueur helps. Rooms are very nice, spacious and well appointed with all you require. Next the surroundings, what magnificent woodlands, filled with wildlife and birdsong, deer and red squirrels. A peaceful paradise for anyone, even if you don't like walking. Staff are very pleasant from cleaner to manager, well mannered. Each giving a cheery greeting when your paths cross. I and my wife have enjoyed a relaxing four days, and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: All rooms fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran A, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for such a splendid and heartfelt review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We recently enjoyed a wonderful '1 night spa break' as a group to celebrate a hen-do, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped, each one individual and with wonderful views.

The spa treatments were fantastic, many of the group saying they were the best they've ever had and it was lovely to just be able to relax in the spa area and make the most of the pool, sauna, jacuzzi etc… which had just reopened after repair work.

Afternoon tea was delicious and plentiful! And dinner and breakfast were also very good. The dining room and bar staff were great, attentive and welcoming - they really made our stay.

We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmajanelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran A, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your spa break to our lovely hotel. Debbie and her team must be some of the best therapists I have ever had the pleasure to work with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a beautiful building in spectacular surroundings. We were greeted by friendly staff who gave us a complimentary liqueur. The food at night was wonderful, nothing too much trouble for the staff, but the breakfast buffet was incredible, all freshly cooked, piping hot and so varied. A Hotel to return to without doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran A, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
I am blown away with your fantastic review so thank you so much. Its things like this that realy make all our hard work worthwhile. I took great delight sharing this with the team today

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a lovely four day break, earlier this month! We found the hotel to be of a very high standard, with very attentive staff. Certainly will be back! The hotel has been upgraded to a high standard. The food was excellent and served in the beautiful dining room by very pleasant staff

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran A, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Just cant wait to welcome you back to the hotel. Thank you for your fabulous review

Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here following the Etape Calidonia.
From the moment we checked in to our departure we could not have been better looked after.
We would certainly recommend this hotel, furthermore we have booked again for next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran A, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
So happy you had a great stay with us recently and I thank you for your kind feedback. I hop we can welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,865 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Property: Atholl Palace Hotel
Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing