We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Brought family here to experience Scottish hospitality and visit Pitlochry area.

Had 8 guests and was told the restaurant would have no problem accommodating us for Dinner. When we tried to get dinner we were faced with the rudest manager I have encountered anywhere in the world. We could not get served at the hotel and had to go into town to eat.

Embarrassing example of how a premier resort should not be managed.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BR1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear BR1950,

We would be very grateful if you could contact us directly to discuss this further to fully investigate what has happened. If you could email ashleigh@athollpalace.com and our Front Office Manager will be available to ascertain what happened to dampen your stay with us.

Many thanks,

Atholl Palace Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,083 - 1,089 of 1,939 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I are just back from a two night stay in this hotel. We have stayed here four times in total over the past two years and just keep coming back for more! Cannot fault the staff, food and beautiful settings. We were pleasantly surprised to see some new changes made throughout the hotel that have made it feel a bit more modern, fab refurbishment of the Stag's Head bar and love the new food menu. AP- we will be back again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weegirl862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear weegirl682,

The heading of this review made all the team at Atholl Palace smile!
We are so proud of our new bar and seasonal menu. The Directors of Castle Collection have really done a marvellous job with all the refurbishment so far and the Executive Head Chef has worked tirelessly with this team in creating the new menu. It is always invigorating when these things are noted in such a positive light.

How wonderful that you keep coming back to visit us! We very much look forward to seeing you soon!

Fondest Regards,

Atholl Palace Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hate to give this hotel less than 4 stars....but....

The location is perfect, not right in the heart of Pitlochry like the multitude of hotels and B&Bs on the high street but a short walk, expansive picturesque grounds and an amazing building (very grand). So much to do on the grounds: the spa, tennis, a little putting etc.

But, everything is just a little old and dated, well worn I suppose. I wouldnt say it was dirty as some of the harsher reviewers have suggested, everything seemed as clean as it could be when it is all so well worn. A few fixtures and fittings seemed a bit wobbly and in need of maintenance, yellowed grout in bathroom, sanitation that looks like it hasn't been updated for 20+ years. So if you are looking for something as shiny and fresh as I think the atholl palace website suggests, you might be a little disappointed.

I think the above would be tolerable in such a grand old building, if the things that could be so very easily modernised were. I'm thinking particularly of the menu. The food was just astonishingly mediocre. Not bad, or poorly cooked, but just really substandard in this day and age. It might have been fine dining 20 years ago but most of us cook on a par with this kind of food at home now and expect better when we eat out. Bascially various cuts of meat plus veg plus sauce and none too amazing or unusual. And I had the knickerbockerglory someone else mentioned -it is just jelly, tinned fruit and cream with a few random jelly babies. They forgot to light my sparkler!

The staff were generally pleasant and courteous. I was also really suprised to find that we were almost entirely unbothered by a wedding party here at the same time and presume that good organisation was the key to this.

I'd so like to leave a better review as we had a good weekend in a fine old building but we just weren't wowed. The food was probably the main reason for this -I actually felt quite embarrased as a Scot that the international visitors might think this is what passes for cuisine here. The irritating thing is that they have such a slick and modern looking website, you get the sense that they know what is needed to wow and get your booking, so the failure to deliver is less forgiveable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simplecreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Simple Creature,

We welcome all feedback to the hotel, good or bad but reviews such as this, which are completely fair and constructive are especially helpful.

As you may be aware,, this year marked a start in a major refurbishment of Atholl Palace. This includes all the public areas and the bedrooms. Our Stagshead bar was one of the first areas to be revamped and this has recently reopened with rave reviews from our guests. We are so lucky that we have all of the amenities on site that you have listed such as tennis, pitch 'n' putt etc and we were glad you made use of them.

Our Executive Head Chef particulary embraced your review of the food. A new seasonal menu has recently been introduced and admittidly we did have some adjustments to do to get things right. Little things (such as your sparkler failing to be lit) is really not good enough and all our Food and Beverage Team have undergone training to ensure that these little things are not forgotten about again.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again soon.

Warm regards,

Atholl Palace Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My mum and I stayed on a one night spa break and enjoyed it very much. Hotel is in an amazing location with lovely views. The gardens are excellent and despite a bit of rain we enjoyed looking at the herb garden and walking to the Japanese garden. Rooms were comfortable although a little warm. We enjoyed afternoon tea and dinner - although the menu is a little limited - but the staff are very friendly and attentive. One disappointment was the cheese selection - it was uninspired and did not feature many Scottish cheeses - which is a shame that a Scottish hotel does not showcase and support our fine Scottish cheeses. Our spa treatment was very nice. There was a large wedding on the same day we were there but it was well organised and we did not feel in the way or ignored by staff as they were very busy looking after the guests which was nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front or right hand side overlooking gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Louise B,

Each morning the Management team meet and discuss the latest feedback....many thanks for writing such an honest and constructive review.

Our Estates team do such a wonderful job of keeping our grounds in such spectacular condition and our Japenese garden is absolutely glorious! Our Executive Head Chef really welcomed your comments regarding the lack of Scottish cheeses and this is something that he is currently sourcing and sampling.

Our Lavender Spa is such a peaceful spot and we are glad you managed to find time to relax and pamper yourself down there.

Thank you once again and we really hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,

Atholl Palace Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

One of the best place we stayed on this trip, It is a palace.The property is huge and the town is just lovely.We were there for 3 nights but it was not enough.The people of the hotel are very helpful and they always guided us for sightseeing. We had breakfast and dinner here and both were just remarkable. Surely would love to come and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Mr Nalwala,

Wow! What a wonderful review to read. We are extremely proud of our hotel and the team we have working here and it is always a delight to read when expectations are raised and indeed exceeded.

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you soon.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were at a wedding which was brilliant, there was lots of 'spill out' space and the hotel is very grand with amazing gardens so it was all in a lovely setting. We were booked for 3 nights and asked if we could stay an extra night. We were given a great deal by the manager - thank you.
There are stunning walks within and around the grounds, great if you are keen photographer. We stayed B&B - there was a good choice at breakfast with a fabulous view over the valley from the whole dining area.
Our room was spacious & comfortable with uninterrupted view of the river and valley.
Reception were very accommodating and attentive, the hotel was huge and busy but the service felt very personal
I used the spa pool and had a massage - I would recommend both.(there was a small gym as well but we didn't use it)
Ensure you go to the basement - there is a great wee museum and a full size snooker table.
The walk into town is lovely as you walk down along well kept gardens, ponds and streams - the walk back - a bit steep - so be warned...

Room Tip: I think all rooms will have a great view as the gardens are spectacular - a real joy, we were at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Sue B,

What a lovely and honest review. Thank you so much. As an award winning wedding venue we are always delighted when people who have attended take the time to write on Trip Advisor regarding their stay and the day itself. Our breakfast was recently revamped and the feedback we have received has been very complimentary.

It was lovely to read that although the hotel was fully booked you still felt our Reception team gave a personal service. Customer service is our number one priority and they will be over the moon at such a personal compliment.

We very much hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Atholl Palace Managment Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My son Rik and Andrea were married in an open air ceremony in the grounds of the Atholl Palace Hotel. It was a perfect day thanks to the setting,the atmosphere and the help of the wonderful staff.Gillian and Diane were the organisers and there attention to detail was incredible,nothing was too much trouble for them. Barry was brilliant as the MC for the day and over the 3 days we stayed ensured we and other had the best of service.
I would recommend this as a wedding venue to anyone.
Its also just great for a getaway break.

Andy M.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view down the Tummel valley are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Andrew,

What a day! We loved Andrea and Riks wedding...it was beautiful and we were so pleased that the weather allowed for the ceremony outside!

Gillian, Diane and Barry were particulary pleased to get a special mention.

Many thanks for your review.

Kind Regards,

Atholl Palace Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,174 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £114 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing