We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nice hotel, staff were great, we had dinner on the two nights we stayed the food and the service were excellent, there was so much choice for breakfast would recommend the grilled kippers cooked to order. The spa was good nice heated jacuzzi , the stags head lounge is nice for a quite drink.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Diane R,

Reviews like this are wonderful! It is great to know that we are "getting it right". The fresh kippers are extremely popular and we completely agree...absolutely delicious!

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we very much hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Atholl Palace Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,899 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

The booking of this grand venue our hopes were high. As soon as we entered out room priced £185 for the evening, we were disappointed - a room at a travel lodge would have been bigger. The room was tired and needed a good clean (the taps were filthy). Staying at such a grand location, we thought the breakfast would have least been something special.... a buffet.... and it wasn't special. The table where we were sited, was set with dirty plates and napkins... A real disappointing trip.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to get better value and eat else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear G F,

I was extremely disappointed to read your review and wondered if you would be kind enough to provide me with further details?

I can be contacted on graeme@athollpalace.com

Kind Regards,

Graeme Strachan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I got married here on the 6th June 2014. From the moment our wedding was booked Gillian who was the organiser was excellent who helped us with all the planning of the wedding, the attention to detail was perfect and on the day of the wedding the gardeners were outside planting flowers and plants for us to have the first wedding ceremony on a new location overlooking the Tummel Valley which was beautiful. Met Diane the new organiser who was there to help Gillian on the day of our wedding the two of them were superb and made sure everything was perfect. Barry was our MC for the day and was brilliant and ensured we had the best service.The waiters and bar staff were excellent too. The grounds and the setting of the Atholl Palace is perfect for a wedding big or small and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Have seen some our wedding photos from the gardens and they are stunning.

Room Tip: A room with a view overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxydee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Foxydee75,

How lovely that you have taken the time to review us on Trip Advisor! Your wedding was fantastic and we loved the new outside area where you said your vows! Our Estate team are so hard working and will be grateful to hear that their efforts were noted so well!

Gillian loved working so intently on your wedding and both herself and Diane will be thrilled to hear your feedback!

We agree completely that the magical backdrop of Atholl Palace and our breathtaking grounds really would take some beating especially in wedding photographs! We can't wait to see yours!

Warm Regards,

Atholl Palace Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My previous review said it all, and we were compensated following my complaints to the Directors of the Hotel and also the Tourist Board, having informed them that we would be back to stay at the Hotel
We returned and was disgusted at the lack of improvement.
The Sani bin in the bathroom had not been emptied prior to our arrival.
We complained to the house keeper who explained that the Hotel had been busy and that she had to borrow staff from another hotel!!!
We will definitely not be back ever again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanandTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Needed a wee break and the Atholl Palace looked the place to be! When we arrived there was a wedding on, and as we approached the entrance a piper started playing, said to the wife that was nice they've arranged a piper for us! some hotel! Checked in and the receptionist gave us an upgrade without asking. the room was lovely and three televisions, the view was nice overlooking the hills and the sun was shining Good start! Went down for a swim and sauna once we settled in and it was perfect couldn't fault it in any way. Took a stroll round Pitlochry and after a wee bit of restaurant pricing wee decided to dine in the hotel! A good move and the meal and service was fine,there was a chap going round the tables, welcoming the guests and seeing if all was ok! turned out to be the owner,he was really pleasant and down to earth, thought I would mention the cost of the room for one night was a bit pricey,just as a bye your leave, you do get deals for two nights and you have to shop around it wasn't a big moan! anyway no sooner had the words left my mouth and the owner, made sure we had a bottle of Rosie wine with our meal! Thank you very much! I would like to take the chance to say Im sorry for breaking the table in the room, put a bit of weight on it and the leg gave way doh! Apparently Robert the Bruce and William Wallace played cards on it! only kiddin! Anyway this hotel is lovely and I would recommend a weekend break there anytime, your only a ten minute walk from the shops pubs etc! Would also mention the Foresters we had a tipple in there and the bar staff made us welcome!

Room Tip: We had 403 facing the courtyard and it was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrcurrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I was a guest at a wedding here in June and from check-in to when we left was absolutely fantastic! The staff were friendly, welcoming and always someone around to answer queries. We had a lovely room and had an amazing time at the wedding. The whole day and night was run perfectly and we would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to hold their wedding in a beautiful Palace or just to have a 1 night stay surrounded by gorgeous scenery! Fantastic from start to finish!

Room Tip: They have a selection of superior & upgraded rooms with extra supplements but definitely worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZumbaPitlochry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Zumbapitlochry,

Reviews like this make us all very happy. We are so proud of our wedding team and the award winning wedding venue that is Atholl Palace!

We were delighted to read you had such a wonderful time at the wedding you attended and were looked after so well. We would also agree that our upgraded rooms are worth every penny!!

Best Regards,

Atholl Palace Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This year was the fourteenth year in a row that we have stayd at the Atholl Palace Hotel.
There is a new Manager (Kieran) and the changes made since he took over have been a breath of fresh air even though we have seen the hotel improving year on year.
It was very interesting to hear the very positive opinions from all the staff we canvassed about the changes.
As always our stay was wonderful and we cannot speak highly enough of the hotel and of all the Staff
We have never expirienced any of the issues that some of the less than positive reviews convey and we are both very much looking forward to returning next Spring

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThistleRoseMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Thistle Rose MK,

Many thanks for your wonderful review.

The Hotel is already looking fantastic after the start of our refurbishment programme and we were delighted to read that our wonderful staff looked after you so well.

We very much look forward to welcoming you in the Spring if not before!

Best Regards,

Atholl Palace Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
921 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
808 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £116 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing