We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful outside, average inside and a bit over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Weybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful outside, average inside and a bit over-priced”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived at the bottom of a beautiful drive way, with stunning landscaping. After a (very) long walk, arrived at reception to be checked in by a very rude receptionist. Didn't tell us anything about the hotel facilities or breakfast.

Got to the room, looked very tired. Doesn't have an in room ironing board but instead a room in the basement with an ironing board and iron - not very convenient.

Spa was good, but the steam room smelt and felt mouldy. Male shower room had 5 massive flies in.

Breakfast was in a beautiful room, but very poor quality. Literally the cheapest cooked breakfast I've had in a hotel in some time.

We went to view the menu for dinner (there wasn't a menu in the room so had to go down to the restaurant and ask). Upon viewing you had 2 choices: 2 courses or 3 courses - nothing was priced individually but instead almost every item on the set menu had a supplement. Nothing on the menu jumped out. I would certainly recommend reducing the menu size and letting customers buy what they want.

I would not recommend staying here unless it is less than £100 a night - its 4 stars are certainly for breadth of facilities; not quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    506
    299
    166
    102
See reviews for
363
811
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The drive up to the Palace promises a lot more than you get on.. The rooms are dated- carpets are a headache and the elevator and hallways were full blue bottles! However, the real fun starts when you try to engage with the staff - the service is beyond comprehension. Don't get me wrong there were several very competent staff but they were outnumbered! My mother in-law asked for a poached egg, five minutes later the young lady serving us (who didn't speak English very well) returned to ask how she would like it cooked- scrambled or fried! We were asked three times if we would like a dessert despite siting at our table with our desserts in front of us. We asked for water and were told that this was someone else's job and when it eventually arrived it was warm. My three year old was presented with a plate that would have scolded her had I not tested it first. I had to send a side plate back three times as it was filthy and it goes on and on. The pool in the Spa was freezing, I cant see why this hotel has four stars to be honest. The service was the main let-down.

The garden and views are stunning as is the surrounding area and local village.

Room Tip: our room was a family room and was a good size - my sisters was a single and very small but adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigsistercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great first impression, sweeping up a curved driveway to reveal this imposing building. We arrived early and our allotted room wasn't ready. Rather than ask us to wait, Reception arranged another room. Horror - we really didn't like it. Sometimes you just don't 'gel' with a room and this one was all wrong. Very unusually for us, we requested a change as we were going to be there for 4 nights. We were immediately offered an alternative, which was lovely!
So thanks, and well done. The hotel has an interesting history as a spa with an informative museum in the basement. The rooms are all different in shape and character, the restaurant and bar areas (newly refurbished) are grand without being haughty and the staff are generally relaxed and easy in their manner but efficient in their responses. Thomas was very helpful and took and interest in our getting the best from our stay.There's an easy walk into the town of Pitlochry. Mrs W enjoyed her, somewhat frequent, Pimms and there was a range of local beers available. Overall, a nice place to spend a few days in this beautiful area of Scotland.

Room Tip: The views to the front of the hotel are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteratsylvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Front Office Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Peteratsylvan,

I was very pleased to read that my Front Office team were so helpful in arranging an alternative room for you. I will ensure that they are made aware of your lovely comments!

We love our quirky museum and it is a favourite of all our guests as well as our beautiful Lavender Spa. We are very proud of our newly refurbished Stagshead Bar and it is proving very popular with all of our guests. Thomas will be thrilled at the special mention he has received on such a public platform so thank you!

I would completely agree that there is no more perfect location for seeing Scotland in all it's beauty than Atholl Palace Hotel.

We very much hope to see you again and please let Mrs W know...the Pimms shall be waiting!

Warm Regards,

Ashleigh Pink
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Really disappointing! After many years of loving this place, the spa has gone downhill. Despite the lovely setting, staff have let the place go. The sauna was broken, the steam room not even hot, the indoor pool too chilly, an dth elocker rooms filthy. The staff member who was behind th edesk seemed unconcerned, disbelieving, and then just unavailable. Do not go. It is an expensive waste of money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BonVivant151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lavender Spa. We'd be grateful for more information about your experience in our spa and would ask you to contact our Front Office Manager, Ashleigh - ashleigh@athollpalace.com so that we can look into this further for you.

Kind regards,

Atholl Palace Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I've been at APH before (a few years ago) and enjoyed my stay then and also on this trip. Lovely room, clean towels each day, lovely buffet breakfast and friendly staff. Some of the earlier reviews have given the impression that some of these features were poor, but not on our visit. Free, unlimited wi-fi throughout the hotel was very welcome compared with limited and/or subscription fee access in other hotels. Really we had no complaints. Only one comment that you need to be aware that the slope on the path down to the pitch and putt is very steep with no Health and Safety warning at the top. Take a tip from me - take the car to the car park by driving out the town (South) and look for the blue sign to the Black Spout car park, take the left fork up the rough 'unauthorised road' and you get to the car park about 75m later. As far as I was concerned, I WAS authorised as a resident of the hotel. Never saw anybody else on the road.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Ian,

Thank you for such a lovely review of Atholl Palace Hotel!

We're delighted you enjoyed so many different aspects to your stay and you'll be pleased to read that we'll be enhancing our wifi offering later this summer so that we can offer even faster complimentary internet access!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Atholl Palace Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My family stayed in the gate house for 3 days and it was stunning....old fashioned but with great amenities. Yes it cld do with a slight update but it didnt ruin our stay. The hotel was stunning with beautiful grounds. The pool was small but adequate. It says heated but it defo wasnt but after a few minutes you adjust. My only criticism is that the garden area wasnt fenced and my 2year continually tried to run out onto the busy road, we moved the bins to block the exit. Would defo recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PamandAndyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear PamandAndyGlasgow,

What a lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our iconic Gate Lodge. It really is the most popular of all of our lodges. Our grounds are also looking fabulous and all of the hard work that our Estates team have been doing in the background has really paid off. Thank you for your feedback regarding the fencing. This is something that the management team will look in to.

Warm Regards,

Atholl Palace Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you read other reviews for the Atholl Palace, they are either 5 or 1, there's few in the middle ground. So who's right?
Our experience is that the Atholl Palace is both at the same time. The grounds for example; beautiful, postcard stuff - well kept with pitch and putt, walks and tennis courts - a 5. But there's insufficient car parking spaces. We arrived at 15:45 and had to park around the back of the hotel in an undesignated space - a 1. Or the rooms; spacious, nice decor, clean and tidy - a 5. But there's only one chair and no table to sit at (other than the dressing table), The bed is so small that we struggled not to fall out of it to the extent that we considered one sleeping in the separate single bed - a 1. Or the restaurant; lovely setting, panoramic views, good service from the Maitre D and staff - a 5. But the food. A chef who cannot cook a roast beef dinner should not be a chef - fatty poor cut of meat accompanied by a Yorkshire pudding the like of which I have never never see before (and hope never to see again) - a generous 1.
The Atholl Palace - a 5 or 1? You decide!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smoboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Atholl Palace Management Team at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Smoboz,

Thank you for your very detailed review following your stay at Atholl Palace.

We love to hear all of our guests feedback, the things we got right and the things that we didn't get quite so right.

Each morning our senior managment team meet to discuss all of our guest reviews and we will absolutely take all of your comments on board and feed these back to the relevants departments.

Kind Regards,

Atholl Palace Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Property: Atholl Palace Hotel
Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing