We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atholl Palace Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Ipswich, England.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed just one night, a double room and single room for my adult son.
The location is beautiful.
On reflection I wish we had booked into a smaller hotel, I found the breakfast experience (buffet style) rather like a posh staff canteen, the evening meal was a better experience. I did hear two customers complain about their main course, but ours was fine and the staff were polite and efficient.
The rooms were on the small size, my son's shower was poor, little power in the morning, but that could of been because everyone was using the hot water at the same time and it is such a large hotel. Our toilet seat was broken, but my husband did manage to fix it, and when we put on the bedside lights we could see cobwebs on the ceiling (not visible in normal light).
Just one very small lift in a huge hotel, being on the third floor we did have a little wait.
Having said all this we would go back, Pitlochry is a great base for a holiday, and the hotel was adequate, but does lack that personal touch.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, great view in one if the rooms, terrible view in the single room, overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzaITFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    496
    295
    163
    101
See reviews for
353
793
40
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
240 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

There is no doubt this hotel has a stunning location and the welcome at reception is great. I had eaten lunch here before, in the dining room, and was very impressed so when the opportunity came to stayovernight I was looking forward to the experience. My room was a real disappointment (I cannot speak for the others in our small group). Although it had the quirkiness of a curved window in the turret, the furnishings were very mismatched and outdated. The view was stunning but on what happened to be an unusually hot spell it was impossible to open the window and there were notices all over the hotel advising not to open the windows as the birds come into the bedrooms!The bedcover was heavy on top of a more winter style duvet. The en-suite bathroom looked like it had a makeover but still not up to 4 star stadard.
Although their web site states you can dine in the Stags Head Bar, this appears not to have been possible for a couple of years (a 4 star hotel should have an up to date web site). However I did order a main course from their menu and dined in the comfortable lounge area. The foodwas excellent andthe serving staff very pleasant. Breakfast was great and the views from the dining room are wonderful.The so calledc museum in the basement is basically the laundry service corridor with information on the walls.A pleasant enough stay but plenty of scope for improvements in certain areas.

Room Tip: Do not opt for room 217.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at the Atholl Palace for our daughter's wedding last weekend. I can only say it was amazing. Everyone was very friendly and nothing was too much bother. We stayed in one of the turret suites which has a sitting room above the bedroom which has a 360 degree view of the valley - wonderful as the weather was superb. The hotel sits on top of a hill and is a large imposing building as you drive/walk up the long driveway past a fountain, putting green & tennis courts. Many of the guests had come up from the south of England & thought it was out of this world. You certainly could not get a better location for a wedding. All the rooms are unique in style and size. They are continually renovating and modernising parts of the hotel but doing it in a way that it does not lose its charm or character. There is even a museum to visit to learn the history of the building. Certainly worth a visit. The night before the wedding I shared a large room with some of the bridesmaids. It was situated next to the spa for easy access. A great idea. The staff in the spa are excellent, offering a wide variety of treatments. In the run up to the wedding we visited several times and could not fault the service we received. The wedding planners listen to what you want and do not push you into anything. We particularly enjoyed the large buffet breakfasts, very welcome the morning after the wedding. Although we only live 40 miles from Pitlochry we will certainly return to stay in the Atholl Palace very soon. I could not praise it highly enough.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front have a view over the grounds, certainly the higher rooms will have the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moyra58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
208 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This spectacular hotel is sited on a sizeable estate on the edge of town. It is an impressive building but on the occasion I stayed it was full and struggled to service everyone. It's one small lift was overworked and the food service was extremely fast, so much that we kept asking in vain for it to slow down!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozpd70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived at the bottom of a beautiful drive way, with stunning landscaping. After a (very) long walk, arrived at reception to be checked in by a very rude receptionist. Didn't tell us anything about the hotel facilities or breakfast.

Got to the room, looked very tired. Doesn't have an in room ironing board but instead a room in the basement with an ironing board and iron - not very convenient.

Spa was good, but the steam room smelt and felt mouldy. Male shower room had 5 massive flies in.

Breakfast was in a beautiful room, but very poor quality. Literally the cheapest cooked breakfast I've had in a hotel in some time.

We went to view the menu for dinner (there wasn't a menu in the room so had to go down to the restaurant and ask). Upon viewing you had 2 choices: 2 courses or 3 courses - nothing was priced individually but instead almost every item on the set menu had a supplement. Nothing on the menu jumped out. I would certainly recommend reducing the menu size and letting customers buy what they want.

I would not recommend staying here unless it is less than £100 a night - its 4 stars are certainly for breadth of facilities; not quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The drive up to the Palace promises a lot more than you get on.. The rooms are dated- carpets are a headache and the elevator and hallways were full blue bottles! However, the real fun starts when you try to engage with the staff - the service is beyond comprehension. Don't get me wrong there were several very competent staff but they were outnumbered! My mother in-law asked for a poached egg, five minutes later the young lady serving us (who didn't speak English very well) returned to ask how she would like it cooked- scrambled or fried! We were asked three times if we would like a dessert despite siting at our table with our desserts in front of us. We asked for water and were told that this was someone else's job and when it eventually arrived it was warm. My three year old was presented with a plate that would have scolded her had I not tested it first. I had to send a side plate back three times as it was filthy and it goes on and on. The pool in the Spa was freezing, I cant see why this hotel has four stars to be honest. The service was the main let-down.

The garden and views are stunning as is the surrounding area and local village.

Room Tip: our room was a family room and was a good size - my sisters was a single and very small but adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigsistercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great first impression, sweeping up a curved driveway to reveal this imposing building. We arrived early and our allotted room wasn't ready. Rather than ask us to wait, Reception arranged another room. Horror - we really didn't like it. Sometimes you just don't 'gel' with a room and this one was all wrong. Very unusually for us, we requested a change as we were going to be there for 4 nights. We were immediately offered an alternative, which was lovely!
So thanks, and well done. The hotel has an interesting history as a spa with an informative museum in the basement. The rooms are all different in shape and character, the restaurant and bar areas (newly refurbished) are grand without being haughty and the staff are generally relaxed and easy in their manner but efficient in their responses. Thomas was very helpful and took and interest in our getting the best from our stay.There's an easy walk into the town of Pitlochry. Mrs W enjoyed her, somewhat frequent, Pimms and there was a range of local beers available. Overall, a nice place to spend a few days in this beautiful area of Scotland.

Room Tip: The views to the front of the hotel are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peteratsylvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Front Office Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Peteratsylvan,

I was very pleased to read that my Front Office team were so helpful in arranging an alternative room for you. I will ensure that they are made aware of your lovely comments!

We love our quirky museum and it is a favourite of all our guests as well as our beautiful Lavender Spa. We are very proud of our newly refurbished Stagshead Bar and it is proving very popular with all of our guests. Thomas will be thrilled at the special mention he has received on such a public platform so thank you!

I would completely agree that there is no more perfect location for seeing Scotland in all it's beauty than Atholl Palace Hotel.

We very much hope to see you again and please let Mrs W know...the Pimms shall be waiting!

Warm Regards,

Ashleigh Pink
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Property: Atholl Palace Hotel
Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing