We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel, great loacation.”
Review of Fisher's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fisher's Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tired hotel, great loacation.”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This hotel has a great location, right in the heart of Pitlochry town, so we feel it is 'missing a trick' by being so run down and tatty.
On entering the hotel we noticed the lounge area on the left was dirty, none of the tables had been cleared, and the carpets were dirty, they were still like this at 11p.m.
The reception staff were excellent, and freindly, the corridors were clean, but the general room housekeeping was extremely poor. While the room itself was fine, we were greeted by dust, the beds had obviously NEVER been vacuumed under, a stain on the duvet, and no mattress valance, also a FILTHY toilet brush, and hairs on the bathroom floor.
The breakfast room was extremly dissapointing, with mis-matched furniture which looked like it had been donated from a junk shop, tinned fruit, and a meagre cooked offering.
I guess it depends what you are used to, if a 'coach party' hotel is what you desire, then this is for you, if not, don't bother. Also they advertise having a car park, this has extremely limited spaces, so be prepared to park on-street. On the plus side, the gardens are lovely.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden, and at the back, away from the Public Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkingdudes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    448
    249
    109
    60
See reviews for
184
557
55
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Enjoyed our stay,lovely clean hotel,fresh towels every day, super breakfast lots to choose from, dinners were very good ,staff were very effient & friendly, very good music nights. Would stay again, Excellent location for visiting Blair castle for various entertainments and also good for theatre goers.

Room Tip: We found back room noisless except for train which did not disturb us in the least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanny073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Having stayed at Fishers previously, we decided to stay overnight before moving further north to Aberdeen.
We booked in for bed breakfast and evening dinner.
The room was fine and quiet, if a little dated, and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in.
We went down to dinner a little early to avoid any rush, as there was a coach load of continental tourists staying, who had arrived that afternoon, and we were advised it may be busy?
Down stairs was undergoing some refurbishment (again as it was on the previous occasion that we stayed) the smell of paint was very strong.
Fortunately the smell did not permiate the dining room, which is very elegant.
Being virtually empty such a large room lacked atmosphere, our fault for being too clever by dining early?
The staff were very attentive, but the meal was poor, as was the menu which had little choice.
Plates were cleared the moment we finished each course, a little too quickly?
The small bar is comfortable, with an excellent barman, and it is possible to eat in there and in the garden room which is what we should have done, because the bar menu was better with more choice. The food although produced in the same kitchen appeared more appertising and of better value.
Following a good nights sleep, we went down to breakfast.
Same attentive staff, but the food again was poor, dried eggs, over cooked bacon, very dissapointing.
The town however is lovely and a favourite of ours. If you have not visited Pitlochry then you really should.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished room overlooking the gardens and on the second floor, it does have lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

First time at this hotel. Food fantastic.complements to chef.waiting staff so pleasant. Stayed in room 103 radiator didn't work.complained to reception. And she came up to. Room with a small convector heater .alright for an hour or two. But it was to noisy to keep on all night. Told this at reception next day.still waiting for an answer.would return back .as the hotel was lovely and the rest of staff very efficient.
So glad to be home for a heat.

Room Tip: Don't get room overlooking the Main Street if you go to bed early very.noisy with pub next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bingojanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Just returned from 2 nights in the Fisher hotel. Room was spotless clean, breakfast was excellent - good choice and staff were friendly and efficient. Did not have Dinner but overheard people saying that they had an excellent meal. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

For £82.00 Bed & Breakfast, I expected the room to been in a better condition. Door frame looked as though it had been forced open at some point. Window frame needed to be looked at and the room was constantly hot which meant that you had to open the window which did not stay open.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGR247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgowl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed at the Fisher's hotel and for a few days this week and really enjoyed our visit.The staff at the reception desk were very helpful and friendly .All the staff in the dining room were very attentive during our meal,Colin the head waiter was very good and has the place running like clockwork.Pitlochery is a lovely place to visit ,the shop-keepers are so friendly.I will definately be back to visit.

Room Tip: Ihad a room at the front of the hotel,from the window you can see all that's going on.At night a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agnes q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,753 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisher's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisher's Hotel

Property: Fisher's Hotel
Address: 75-79 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisher's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fishers is an amazing unique propery set in the heart of the beautiful town of Pitlochry. This iconic building has recently undergone a major refurbishment and is once again a jewel in the crown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fisher's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishers Hotel Pitlochry
Fisher's Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing