We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent night's sleep without the car.....”
Review of Fisher's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fisher's Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A decent night's sleep without the car.....”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights over a weekend. The room was spacious and comfortable if a little dated. The bathroom was one of the smallest we have ever encountered. Food was of a decent standard and the pub attached to the hotel provided lively entertainment on one evening though this is probably not a venue for the shy and retiring. That said, no noise could be heard in the hotel. The car park is totally inadequate for the hotel although there is sufficient public parking nearby.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    453
    254
    112
    61
See reviews for
184
566
57
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were in Pitlochry for the Etape Caledonia Cycle Race and had booked our room for two nights some time ago to ensure that we were not disappointed. The room was very spacious and comfortable and had a large bathroom with a huge bath and shower which was excellent for my husband to soak in after finishing the race. Our room was at the front of the hotel which was an added bonus as we got too see the 5000 cyclist queuing up the high street from our second floor window, a fabulous site of colourful lycra!! The hotel laid on an early breakfast for the cyclist including items cooked to order which is unusual it's normally just cereal and toast on offer at 5.30 in the morning. I enjoyed my full Scottish breakfast at the more civilised hour 8.30, it was lovely and warm and there was plenty of it, the staff were very friendly and happy to chat despite being on duty so early. The hotel is a work in progress and still has some quant features but they made us smile. The location is excellent as we were able to leave our car in the car park and walk everywhere. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: At Etape weekend arrive early to ensure a parking space it is very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during the Etape Caledonia cycle race 2013. The hotel is in a very central location in Pitlochry and has free parking which is good. The check-in staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. The room was very clear (we were in room 114) but no bath - but shower was very powerful.

The hotel food was very poor quality. The breakfasts were poor and it felt like the hotel used very cheap ingredients for the full scottish breakfast. The other breakfast options aside from the scottish cooked breakfast were very limited in choice (prunes, cereals, fruit juice, bread, yoghurt on some days) which was very disappointing. The ketchup and brown sauce the hotel serves with breakfasts all appear to be 'value' / cheap mass caterng brands which was also very disappointing. The hotel staff at breakfast also seemed very disinterested in their jobs.

Although the bedroom was very clean, some of the cereal bowls at breakfast were NOT CLEAN. Had remnants of food / cereal still there!! Had been through the dishwasher and hadnt been cleaned properly - dried cereal still in the bowls!

We went to the hotel's 'pasta party' put on for all the cyclists the night before the Etape Caledonia - once again, the food was very very poor quality - the pasta was over cooked, the sauces were all extremely bland - all in all, not a good experience at all.

This hotel is overpriced for what you get. There are no gym, pool, spa facilities on site and the bar is small and lacks any atmosphere.

I won't be recommending this hotel. The location is good though if you want somewhere central. Not much else going for it though I'm afraid!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank culture_vulture_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pitlochry hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stouport on Severn
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

A large traditional hotel located on the Main Street with limited on site parking (for size if hotel). We stayed here with friends and were allocated two rooms in the newer rear part of the hotel. The rooms were small and in desperate need of updating and repair. On arrival our room had no chairs (which were provided following a request to reception), there was no bulb in the lamp, the radiator in the bathroom did not work and the sticker on it stated that it should have been tested in 2011. In our friends room, the Velux window was broken and could not be fully closed. Generally the rooms needed updating. The breakfast was also disappointing - watered down orange juice, cold coffee, tinned fruit and the sausage in the Scottish breakfast was nearly in edible. No taste, just bulk. Service was too quick - our hot breakfast was brought to the table before we had finished our cereals. p
Perhaps some further staff training is required. Our disappointing stay was made even worse by a sign outside the hotel offerring rooms from £39 when we had paid nearly full rate.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The new owners seem to have improved this hotel steadily in the year since I was here last, it's still a bit pricey and in need of some modernising but many of the small points I picked up on last year have been addressed. I slept well and found the staff to be very accommodating, breakfast was good and the room well looked after.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Aikone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I loved this hotel which is on the main street in Pitlochry and very conveniently situated. It seems to have been refurbished and my single room on the third floor had everything I needed and all looked new. The bathroom was very large and the shower very hot. The food was good, my only small complaint being that the breakfast was plated rather than a buffet so a bit of a waste for those of us who like small helpings.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stranraer,scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed for Two nights wee weekend away. Hotel was ok room was clean enough really in need of a lot of refurbishment lots of pipes sticking out and ceiling covers left lying open which didn't look very professional. Kingfisher bar joined on next to the hotel grotty and glasses minging in my opinion place could do with a good scrub..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,783 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisher's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisher's Hotel

Property: Fisher's Hotel
Address: 75-79 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisher's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fishers is an amazing unique propery set in the heart of the beautiful town of Pitlochry. This iconic building has recently undergone a major refurbishment and is once again a jewel in the crown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fisher's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishers Hotel Pitlochry
Fisher's Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing