We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Fisher's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fisher's Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Read other reviews which were very unfair.booked in for two nights wish it had been more. The rooms were well decorated and very clean.We had the cooked breakfast which came on hot plates and the food was piping hot the service was very good also the girls at reception were very friendly.

Room Tip: We were looking onto the garden and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

983 - 989 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Called in for a High Tea. Chose the Steak Pie was OK but the cake selection and its presentation was very poor.
3 types of bun, 3 small scones you could play squash with, one poor excuse for a Strawberry tart and a piece of cinnamon bun lying on plain bun which contaminated the plain bun with cinnamon.
Really disappointing and not recommended. Did see other places in the town to eat which I will use in future
Hotel looked fine and staff were ok

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AcciesOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on recommendation from family. Great location and parking at rear. Clean rooms, good size room number 51. Great location, nice friendly staff in hotel and the bar area. Breakfast was good & varied selection to choose from.
Only little minor things I would I disliked was the main entrance door to the corridor where our room was (door was right next to it) it squeaked everything someone Opened it which was a little annoying late at night or early morning but not a major thing, there was no door handle on bathroom door and our window handle was broke also.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shnookamScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Charming hotel with spacious rooms and a great location in Pitlochry town center. We were greated with a glass of whisky which made a nice impression. There was entertainment provided at the hotel a few times a week. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to get a better deal on the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ITM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just a step from the train station. Friendly staff. Worth a visit. Pitlochrie has a great number of quaint shops, pubs and entertainment. Also plenty of walking
. Lots of great eating places and the people are very friendly. Do various tours eg-t whisky

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Paid for dinner, bed and breakfast. Got a lovely sized room with twin beds, one of which was similar size to a double. Lovely shower room. Flat screen tv and tea/coffee plus shortbread in the room. Staff very pleasant particularly in the bar.

Had a lovely dinner in the dining room and lovely cooked breakfast in the morning.

Great location and you can sit outside with your drinks and watch the world go by

Would of given 5 stars, but had booked one of their extras-bottle of wine in my room, but that never happened

The other problem was our lock on the door was broken, reported it but was never sorted

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Parsaregreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We’ve visited Pitlochry annually for about the last 24 years to take in a couple of the season’s plays at the wonderful Pitlochry Festival Theatre. For many years we always stayed at Fisher’s, as the location suited us really well to leave the car in the car park and walk everywhere.

A few years ago we had the worst experience ever at the hotel, and vowed we’d never return. It was like Fawlty Towers only worse on that occasion....much worse. From then on, we booked up for Scotland’s Hotel instead. Then when we were in Pitlochry again last year we noticed changes were taking place at Fisher’s and received an email advising me of a change of management etc, etc, so for our August 2013 stay I decided I would book again, and give it another go. On this occasion, I booked directly with the hotel.

We arrived to check in on Friday, and the receptionist had no record of our booking, despite me having the ‘Reservation Confirmation’ email, and indeed the ‘Pre-Stay Reservation Reminder’ in my hand – both sent to me directly from Fisher’s Hotel themselves, not any third party. Despite this, we were quizzed for several minutes as to who we booked through, and I was beginning to get a bit narked, especially as at that point we’d no idea if the hotel was entirely full or not! Eventually, once the receptionist had had a glance at our paperwork, she deemed it must be right and set about assigning a room to us, but she was very keen to keep all my paperwork, and I was not happy at all to be left with nothing to prove our booking, so protested and she said she must keep one piece to photocopy, so I relented, but held on to the booking confirmation.

At this point we wondered if we’d made a big mistake in giving Fishers a second go. Anyway, we took the key given for Room 209 and headed up there in the tiny lift with all our luggage..... to find it was a tiny double bed, and not the twin room clearly booked on our reservation. Down we came again, and pointed out our booking was for a twin room. Not getting off to a very good start at all. Our key was exchanged for another to Room 66 and we were both offered a complimentary whisky or sherry! A welcome gesture, presumably after the check-in fiasco. Room 66 is on the ground floor at the back. We’ve stayed so many times, we know where all the rooms are. This was a smaller room, but perfectly fine in all ways for our needs.

As we went around the hotel we noticed many changes – larger areas for dining, change of areas for lounging around, and a much better feel to the place generally. We only eat breakfast, preferring to eat once at the theatre restaurant and once at a nearby Indian restaurant, but it was clear they were catering for large numbers – a good sign things were looking up, so long may it continue.

Breakfast is served in 3 different areas, so on the first morning we did find ourselves being shown to two different tables, as my husband waited at once section to be checked-in, while I wandered to another area, and another waiter was keen to seat me! The buffet style cold selections were not as vast as a hotel we’d just stayed two nights in near Peebles, but all the usual options were there, and the cooked breakfast was very good indeed. The waiting staff were all very pleasant at all times.

We were out and about all day both days, but popped back in and out, (which is why we love the location of the hotel), and a huge party of guest were enjoying a luncheon which smelled really good indeed. At night there did seem to have been some form of entertainment when we arrived back after our dinner out.

There is definitely a vast improvement here, and like some other reviewers, I’d urge people to give the hotel another go, if they had a bad experience in the past.

We shall certainly stay again, as it is so central, (many hotels in Pitlochry are surprisingly far out, especially for elderly people), and we’ve never had a problem getting our car into the adjacent car park. However, I would recommend you always take along your booking confirmation!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larsonsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
0.3 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 17 in Pitlochry
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
952 reviews
1.7 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
723 reviews
6.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 17 in Pitlochry
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisher's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisher's Hotel

Address: 75-79 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range: £79 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisher's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fishers is an amazing unique propery set in the heart of the beautiful town of Pitlochry. This iconic building has recently undergone a major refurbishment and is once again a jewel in the crown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fisher's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishers Hotel Pitlochry
Fisher's Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing