We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable stay”
Review of Fisher's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fisher's Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed one (Monday) night here as part of our trip to the Enchanted Forrest and were pleased to find that our fears after reading some of the negative reviews were not realised.

On arrival, there was a nice touch of an offer of a Whisky or Sherry to welcome us to the hotel and the check in process was efficient.

We had a refurbished room on the 3rd floor which faced the street and it WAS noisy with traffic during the day and evening, particularly with the window open, but as Pitlochry doesn't have through traffic, there was little traffic noise at night. The bedroom was very nice, the beds were very comfortable and the room was a decent size with plenty of storage space and electricity sockets The bathroom was modern and had obviously been recenty done up. There were small toiletries supplied and a heated towel rail (although we didn't have it switched on)

The hotel is in an old building and we loved the layout of it. There is a large area near reception with comfortable chairs and complimentary newspapers to read where you could have coffee and sit and chill. There was also a small residents bar entitled 'the snug' where you could have a drink, or eat a bar meal without going into the main bar

The dining room, which was also where we had breakfast, was a nice area which looked out onto the rear garden. As we were attending the Enchanted Forrest we weren't able to dine at night however Breakfast was good. The cooked breakfast was cooked to perfection and didn't take long to arrive. Our waitress (Yvonne) was a lovely friendly soul and made us feel very welcome

We didn't use the Kingfisher Bar while we were there but we did investigate it and it looked very nice and welcoming

I would have liked to give this hotel a 4* rating because many aspects deserved it however there were a few (minor) negative points which I feel it would be unfair to overlook entirely as follows:

The windows in our bedroom and bathroom both had some peeling paint. The bedroom one was an old style sash window and it may be that it can't be changed in order to keep the look of the building. There apeared to be mould on the bathroom one (although it was hidden in a recess and I might be mistaken

All of the staff were polite and courteous, however only a couple were what I would call really friendly and welcoming. We were told on arrival that Dinner started at 7pm which was too late for us, however I realised later that they were doing an 'Enchanted Forrest Dinner' for those going to it from 5-7pm which we would have been interested in if we had been told about it. There was a board at the door advertising it but we were too busy trying to get into the hotel to notice it when we arrived!

Last but not least, the bar meals looked good from what we saw, but the menu is quite limited and I personally was a bit disappointed with it. The hotel does do room service though, if you fancy it and you could get sandwiches 24 hours if you wanted to

These are mostly minor points but if they were attended to I would have no hesitation in awarding this 4*

Bottom Line - would we stay there again? Absolutely. All in all a Very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFunkyGibb0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    453
    254
    112
    61
See reviews for
184
566
57
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just been for a 3 night stay in this hotel and had a lovely time. Rooms basic but very clean with the usual facilities, such as tv, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. We went on a bed and breakfast basis and the scottish breakfast was very nice. Beautful location, with lots of vistor attractions in the surrounding areas. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Clean ,bright room. Very good evening meal and breakfast . Service was satisfactory pleasant staff but the quality of service improved when the duty manager arrived on the Monday.
It was an excellent location central in the town and accessible to all amenities and transport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Bedroom was a disapointment as the bed was very hard and uncomfortable, also loose pipes sticking out of the flooring at the doorway. Breakfast was dreadful as we had orderd 2 cooked breakfast's which when asked why they were taking so long we were told our food would be only 2mins away. Our breakfast's never arrived and we ended up having to walk out which the staff including the Manager did not notice. Checked out of the hotel and reception staff did not even ask how our stay was at the hotel and to be honest I don't think she really cared anyway. Will not be gong back to Fisher's Hotel ever!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valerie19762013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pitlochry hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed for one night prior to a wedding in the same town. The hotel was spacious, the staff courteous, welcoming and accommodating. The bar food was first class. (I had the sirloin which was superb.) The room was clean, large and attractive. I really liked the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iverm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have just come back from an excellent weekend break at the Fishers Hotel in Pitlochry. The hotel has been upgraded and the rooms, restaurant and bars are all nicely decorated to a high standard. It is worth having the evening meal in the hotel as the food is lovely with a brilliant breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andol186518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambleton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

stayed at fishers hotel last week with a coach party, breakfast was a coach party breakfast cereal was ok the rest was one fried egg,crusty one rasher of bacon, half of tomato and one sausage ,that was take it or leave it. can I have poached eggs please,No, well can I have scrambled egg please,No,its coach party breakfast .crap

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,571 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisher's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisher's Hotel

Property: Fisher's Hotel
Address: 75-79 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisher's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fishers is an amazing unique propery set in the heart of the beautiful town of Pitlochry. This iconic building has recently undergone a major refurbishment and is once again a jewel in the crown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fisher's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishers Hotel Pitlochry
Fisher's Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing