We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Fisher's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fisher's Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Arrived in the middle of a snow storm to a lovely warm welcome. Offered a whisky or a sherry on arrival at reception. Check in very quick and easy with a lovely smiling receptionist. Our room was huge, with 2 queen sized beds!
We had dinner in the restaurant, which was delicious. Turkey with all the trimmings seemed very apt with the wintry weather outside. Service was smooth and professional.
Breakfast was cooked to order - much preferable to a self serve buffet, and again the service was impeccable.
Overall a really nice hotel with happy and helpful staff and I am already planning my return trip. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friend's and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hks1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    448
    250
    109
    60
See reviews for
184
557
55
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
220 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We had heard good things about this hotel over the years so decided to eat here on our return visit to Inverness where we had been for the weekend.

Have to say very very disappointed.

Arrived in the lounge bar which was a bit tired and in need of a good hoover.

The menu wasn't very varied for a hotel that size. One of party asked if it were possible to has a salad, and they said that was possible. They asked for it with potatoes. It arrived with chips, it then came back with lukewarm mashed potatoes, 2 slices of ham and lettuce!!! They tried to charge £8.50 for that!!

The rest of us ordered fish and chips which was ok, although I was pretty convinced mine was of the frozen variety as I have seldom seen fish in a kind of triangular shape!!!

I suppose the icing on the cake was when the cup of tea we ordered arrived just as that. A cup, no saucer, no pot, no extra hot water, just a plain cup. Never in any place I have ever been I have seen something so shoddy!!

We complained about the price of the bill especially the salad and it was taken off the bill without a question, I think that tells its own story.

Very, very disappointing experiance and we won't be back!! Can't remember ever saying that in a review before.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanG1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pitlochry hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort william
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Couldnt find our booking on arrival. Not enough parking so parked on the street.Room was cold - lucky i had my hot water bottle with me !! Room drab.Bar meal was nice and good service. Nice breakfast but a very average stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frasers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to north Scotland. At check in we were offered a whisky or sherry - very welcome as it was snowing outside. Our room was lovely and had obviously been recently refurbished to a high standard. I understand that the hotel had recently been aquired by new owners and the entire hotel is to be refurbished. The staff were very friendly and the general manager was much in evidence, meeting and greeting.
The weather made us choose to eat in and both the service and the meal were exemplary.
Overall we enjoyed our short stay here and intend to stay here again on our next northern trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roughcrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and been disappointed. When I arrived for a function here I was pleasantly surprised with the very good receptionist who was most efficient and also kindly recommended somewhere to park my car at no cost behind the hotel. My single room was clean and adequate but no more.

I was eating in the function room and I have to admit the food was more than adequate and speaking to fellow guests the feeling was the hotel kitchen had more than risen to the occasion. There was a good choice of wines and all at a very reasonable price. Over the course of the evening the staff were most friendly and helpful.

Breakfast the next morning was very good with the hot dishes well served and very good.

I understand this hotel has recently to new owners and I have to say they appear to be doing a very good job. I would recommend this hotel if you wish to be in the centre of Pitlochry and get Very Good Value for your Money

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rannoch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We booked a double room for an overnight stay at Fisher's hotel while visiting the Enchanted Forrest. Unfortunately our double room was very dated and tired looking, the furniture was dark brown wood and bedding a yellow colour, the windows were the old fashioned break your back to pull them up type and the light coloured carpet was covered in dirty marks. The room looked nothing like what was advertised on the hotel website. Once inside the hotel felt and looked like an old folks home. I think the hotel is more suited to seniors and coach trips. Reception staff were friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LEMGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I chose Fisher's as there is a family connection.
All the staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to ensure my stay was enjoyable, the manager even showed me around the older part of the hotel!
The whiskey upon check in was a nice touch.
Look forward to coming back to Pitlochry and staying here again!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenji77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,761 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisher's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisher's Hotel

Property: Fisher's Hotel
Address: 75-79 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fisher's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fishers is an amazing unique propery set in the heart of the beautiful town of Pitlochry. This iconic building has recently undergone a major refurbishment and is once again a jewel in the crown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fisher's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishers Hotel Pitlochry
Fisher's Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing