We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & great local advice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location & great local advice!”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here as a couple in a double room with private ensuite. We booked it only the night before arrival so paid £50 but was still the cheapest in town (&only available!) But... The guy at reception (forget his name...) was extremely helpful! Definatley ask him for advice about what to do in the local area. The room was quite small and bed was not the comfiest, but for what we paid, the location, convenience of the hostel facilities & £2 breakfast that was worth it - we would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    45
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
35
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stopped here on a cycling trip recently and whilst i wasn't expecting much the rooms are quite basic and the beds most uncomfortable and built for dwarfs. There were quite a few around the night we were there and the lounge is decent with a pool table, music and plenty of space to relax but main thing one needs is a decent bed and that is sorely lacking..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decbres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

No complaints about this place. A little expensive (for a hostel at least) at £15 a night AND an additional £2 for breakfast, but well located with basic but clean rooms and facilities. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gasman6331
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed here as part of my LEJOG cycle ride. I arrived early pm and found the YHA very easily. It is at the top end of the highstreet. Upon arrival I tried to check in but was rudely told by the lady on reception to go away and come back in 30 mins. I did so and was treated slightly better. They had a garage at the back of YHA where I securely locked my bike. I was put in a shared room where I was put on the bottom bunk bed. All beds were pilled up with other peoples clothing but no one was about. By 8-9pm at night loads of people came back from working at the Blair Attoll agriculutral show. They were all very freindly but all went out and came back drunk about 2am in the morning. I went to bed about 11pm but awoke at 12 by the first people to return. I was then awoken by the YHA introducing more people to the room! When I woke up in the morning there were an extra four bodies asleep on the fllor in sleeping bags! This was certainly a surprise. The bunk bed had very few springs and the sheets were very worn. I only stayed here due to the fact there was no other cheap accomodation available. I would avoid this YHA at all costs. It is the first one I have ever stayed at but if this is the current standard of YHA's in the UK then god help us! A very eventful stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gasman6331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My friend and I stayed at this hostel in high anticipation - we heard it had a reputation to be jam packed full of entertainment opportunities, both from the variety of fellow backpackers who were likewise fun-minded and the abundance of exciting things to see and do in Pitlochry.

Boy did they get that wrong.

Our room was an 8 bed dorm and we were the first to arrive and settle at about 2pm. The beds were solid timber with a mattress the thickness of a slice of spam (and almost as smelly). But that's OK, we had experienced worse and this really wasn't too bad. High anticipation of who was going to join us that afternoon and evening in our 'mixed' dorm room.
3pm - we had finished our first two beers, no sign of other life.
4pm - 2 more beers and still just us.
5pm and...no, still just us, 6 beers the worse....
5:17pm - enter Gandalf the Wizard! Well, a very softly spoken Lakes District rambler in his late 40's who had a striking resemblance to Ian McKellen, or Gandalf the Wizard - one and the same really. Nice guy actually, but he was the sum total of our fellow dorm inhabitants that night.
Not that I'm complaining but you can imagine my disappointment when he didn't so much as fight a Balrog, let alone flash off the odd fireball!
But it's a decent enough hostel, in a town that is, well, quiet.
We ended up going for a curry, more beers, and then in bed not too late.

Our advice - stage here, if you have to, but move on...quickly...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeDudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Nice little hostel right on the town's main street, car park at rear, free pool table, tea/coffee etc and standard rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAWA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stay one night in a familiy room for 4 persons. Room very small, very dirty without bathroom, sink and anything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
It should be normal for an hostel? No, because we pay 18 pounds anyone!!!! Adding 3 or 4 pounds you can go in two twin rooms in a B&B: more confortable and with breakfast too!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattoviedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,810 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel

Property: Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel
Address: 134 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of beautiful rural Perthshire, Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel makes a terrific first stop for any trip into the Highlands. All the comforts of a hotel plus the ambiance and facilities of a hostel - twin, double and dorm rooms are available plus a wonderful sunny lounge, overlooking the main street. Pitlochry Backpackers is an old Victorian hotel, bursting with character. We offer a range of rooms - dormitory (4-8 beds), twins and double rooms (our twin & double rooms are all en-suite). It's such a relaxing place to stay and unwind, with its big cosy lounge that boasts a free pool table, comfy sofas, free tea, coffee & hot chocolate, free WiFi, musical instruments, games, book swap and loads of info on the local area. We also have a separate movie lounge with comfy sofas & cushions and a wide range of movies for our guests to watch. Our comfy beds come complete with bedding so there is no need to worry about carrying a sleeping bag and our self catering kitchen has everything you will need to prepare your favourite dinner. It's a great place to meet like minded people and although you might think you're only staying one night, you'll end up staying three or four - it's that kind of place!Best of all it's literally a stroll away from the beautiful highland countryside. In just 5 minutes you can be at a tranquil lochside with views through the trees to the hills above this pretty highland town. There are many wonderful walks to take; to waterfalls, along rivers, through ancient forests, or up Ben Vrackie (2760 feet, the hill above the town) - these walks all start from our hostel door! The area is also dotted with distilleries, castles and ancient standing stones all within easy reach. Perthshire is also a big centre for adventure activities, including white-water rafting, canoeing, bungee jumping, mountain biking, canoeing etc if you're up for it - or simply get your boots on and get exploring - there are some fantastic trails. The Pitlochry staff are a friendly bunch who know the surrounding area like the backs of their hands and are willing to help so don't be shy! Come and have a chat at reception and we can make sure you make the most of your time in Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing