We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed Saturday and Sunday night for accommodation to visit the Enchanted Forest at Pitlochry. A lovely clean hotel with friendly staff. We stayed in the double room, which was also en suite. Room and en suite facilities (shower, WC and basin) were spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable and the stay overall was great. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry186533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager090, General Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you so much for your really nice review and hopefully see catch up with you guys sometime soon. All the best for the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    42
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
30
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

You’ll be hard pressed to find a hostel with a nicer staff. Ryan and Stuart are the friendliest people ever! Also, the facilities are really good. The beds are comfortable and I took the warmest shower I had in days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meowli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
What can i say but a big THANK YOU for your lovely words :) Im glad you enjoyed your stay as this is the main thing. As i keep saying its Guests like yourself that make this place what it is so again Thanks for staying with us and hopefully see you some other time. Take care and Good luck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Could not ask for more friendly staff. Manager extreemly pleasant and helpful and knowledgeable in giving us information on eating places and directions for walks etc . Spotless throughout. This hostel is well situated for all types of activities. Whether you are young or older you will get a good nights sleep. Only negative thing was having to leave. Will definately come back. Would recommend this to everyone. Keep up the good work. Thanks again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail e e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Great location, helpful staff, clean facilities and homely feel. The guest fridges are a wee bit too small, for a hostel your size and the number of people you accommodate. Other than that, you guys rock! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed one night in this hostel, in a double room that was perfectly clean. The manager was very friendly, and even funny!
The hostel is very well located, and very well equipped as well, with free billiard table, guitars, lots of table games, etc. Last but not least, free wifi !!
I would totally recommend this hostel, as there are also a lot of activities in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager090, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words,we really do appreciate this feed back and it helps keep the smile on our faces :) Next time your passing,even if your not staying pop in for a wee cup of Tea and a catch up. Fingerscross we see you again :(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last night as we were at a wedding at the Athol Palace. Arrived lunchtime and had a lovely welcome. Staggered back late and had a great nights sleep. Room was spotless and was just what we needed. Really friendly place and fab location. Will be back again. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager090, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review, We are glad you enjoyed yourself and we had a good time with you guys. Aileen i hope you have hidden the shirt he had on when you were here :),i still cant sleep (just kidding). All the best for the future and HOPEFULLY see you again sometime soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I loved all of the time i spent at this hostel. Most friendly, welcoming staff I experienced on my trip and very helpful as well. Comfortable rooms, and well kept. This was my favorite hostel i stayed at on my 20 day journey!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel

Property: Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel
Address: 134 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of beautiful rural Perthshire, Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel makes a terrific first stop for any trip into the Highlands. All the comforts of a hotel plus the ambiance and facilities of a hostel - twin, double and dorm rooms are available plus a wonderful sunny lounge, overlooking the main street. Pitlochry Backpackers is an old Victorian hotel, bursting with character. We offer a range of rooms - dormitory (4-8 beds), twins and double rooms (our twin & double rooms are all en-suite). It's such a relaxing place to stay and unwind, with its big cosy lounge that boasts a free pool table, comfy sofas, free tea, coffee & hot chocolate, free WiFi, musical instruments, games, book swap and loads of info on the local area. We also have a separate movie lounge with comfy sofas & cushions and a wide range of movies for our guests to watch. Our comfy beds come complete with bedding so there is no need to worry about carrying a sleeping bag and our self catering kitchen has everything you will need to prepare your favourite dinner. It's a great place to meet like minded people and although you might think you're only staying one night, you'll end up staying three or four - it's that kind of place!Best of all it's literally a stroll away from the beautiful highland countryside. In just 5 minutes you can be at a tranquil lochside with views through the trees to the hills above this pretty highland town. There are many wonderful walks to take; to waterfalls, along rivers, through ancient forests, or up Ben Vrackie (2760 feet, the hill above the town) - these walks all start from our hostel door! The area is also dotted with distilleries, castles and ancient standing stones all within easy reach. Perthshire is also a big centre for adventure activities, including white-water rafting, canoeing, bungee jumping, mountain biking, canoeing etc if you're up for it - or simply get your boots on and get exploring - there are some fantastic trails. The Pitlochry staff are a friendly bunch who know the surrounding area like the backs of their hands and are willing to help so don't be shy! Come and have a chat at reception and we can make sure you make the most of your time in Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing