We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good standard for a budget hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A good standard for a budget hostel”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This is a budget hostel and must be judged as such. We had a double room which was quite large, comfortable bed and had a sitting area with table and 2 chairs in a turret on the road side. It was clean. Toilet and shower en suite were dated but fully functional. Ryan the manager is a real hoot, great character, very hospitable and friendly. Breakfast is basic continental, cereal, juice, toast. Free tea and coffee making anytime. Free car park at the back. Right in the town centre which can be plus or minus. Main road wasn't too busy on a Wed night

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Guys,
Thank you for taking the out to review the Hostel :)
Also we are really pleased you had a good time and thanks for the lovely comments :) It really good to hear nice comments for me and the rest of the staff because we do try. Hopefully we will get to see you guys again in the future and we can thank you in person.
All the best for the future
Thanks
Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    42
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
32
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A very standard hostel in a good location. Our twin room was nowhere near worth £45, crap night sleep in rubbish beds, punctuated roaring and singing from drunk people outside the bar next door.
A BnB would have been a much better option for the same price. Lesson learned!

Room Tip: Avoid the ones on the side next to the pub if you value your sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millymeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hostel and glad to hear that you liked our great central location. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise from the bar next door. I have raised your complaint with the manager of the pub who apologizes profusely for any annoyance their customers may have caused you. We work together with our neighbours to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum which it usually is. However, in this case it appears that they were unable to keep everyone quiet at closing time. I am also sorry to hear that you found our beds uncomfortable. This is genuinely the first time we have ever had a complaint about the beds in your room so we will investigate further to see if we can determine why they were so uncomfortable for you. We are in the middle of completely refurbishing our bedrooms and if the mattresses are unsatisfactory they will be replaced. We wish that you had raised your concerns with us during your stay and have given us the chance to try and put things right for you. Best wishes, Ryan, Manager, Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I booked an 8 berth room plus a twin for just the one night due to our roaming weekend. All of the party were more than happy with the place, the showers were decent and nice big rooms. Free tea and coffee and a free pool table! The people who run the backpackers are fabulous, very helpful and welcoming. If you need somewhere on a budget for a night or a week I'd recommend here - beautiful area and a great place to stay. Will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusty154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi,
Thanks for the nice review :) We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are happy you might return on day.........i will put the kettle on for your arrival :) All the best for the future and see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I called in here as I had been delayed on my journey and needed an overnight stay. The staff were really helpful and friendly, the hostel itself had a great atmosphere and brilliant kitchen and laundry facilities, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. My night's stay was fantastic value for money, and meant I had the chance to visit beautiful Pitlochry too, which was a bonus. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlymau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi,
You are too kind and your review was lovely, Thank you very much and hast you back as we say :) I wish you all the best and hopefully we see you some time again in the future.
Thanks
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Great location and price. Exactly what we needed for a weekend walking..staff very helpful and great amenities..sure we will be back. Our room even had en suite however communal showers were much better

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi,
Thanks so much for writing such lovely feedback :)
It was great having you here and we would love to have you back with us sometime.
Regarding the showers.....this is something we are trying to get right and we have just this week got new shower heads etc so hopefully when you come back all the shower will be the same.
Thanks again and take care :)
Ryan
Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

It is a home feeling little place in the middle of nowhere. Even though there is not much to do, I found incredible joyful a cup of tea listening some good music and talking with the people. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager090, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thankyou,

We will always have a cup of tea waiting for you should you return.

Ryan

Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We spent a couple of nights here and couldn't recommend it enough - the manager, Ryan, was so helpful and nothing was too much of a bother. The hostel itself is huge with great communal areas and different rooms to hang out in - we were really impressed at how clean the place was too. The hostel is half thru a re-furb and the room we stayed in had been freshly painted with new duvet and pillows - looking forward to going back next year to see it all finished. There is free tea/ coffee and wifi which was a bonus and there is also a car park behind the hostel.

The location is spot on too - right on the high street, 2 min from the rail station with plenty of pubs and cafes to visit.

We really enjoyed our time here - having stayed in a few hostels in my time, this place gets a definite 2 thumbs up.

Room Tip: We were in Room 26 - the Butterfly Room. Nice and quiet and comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redleader333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager090, Front Office Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thankyou very much, you really were a fantastic group!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel

Property: Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel
Address: 134 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of beautiful rural Perthshire, Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel makes a terrific first stop for any trip into the Highlands. All the comforts of a hotel plus the ambiance and facilities of a hostel - twin, double and dorm rooms are available plus a wonderful sunny lounge, overlooking the main street. Pitlochry Backpackers is an old Victorian hotel, bursting with character. We offer a range of rooms - dormitory (4-8 beds), twins and double rooms (our twin & double rooms are all en-suite). It's such a relaxing place to stay and unwind, with its big cosy lounge that boasts a free pool table, comfy sofas, free tea, coffee & hot chocolate, free WiFi, musical instruments, games, book swap and loads of info on the local area. We also have a separate movie lounge with comfy sofas & cushions and a wide range of movies for our guests to watch. Our comfy beds come complete with bedding so there is no need to worry about carrying a sleeping bag and our self catering kitchen has everything you will need to prepare your favourite dinner. It's a great place to meet like minded people and although you might think you're only staying one night, you'll end up staying three or four - it's that kind of place!Best of all it's literally a stroll away from the beautiful highland countryside. In just 5 minutes you can be at a tranquil lochside with views through the trees to the hills above this pretty highland town. There are many wonderful walks to take; to waterfalls, along rivers, through ancient forests, or up Ben Vrackie (2760 feet, the hill above the town) - these walks all start from our hostel door! The area is also dotted with distilleries, castles and ancient standing stones all within easy reach. Perthshire is also a big centre for adventure activities, including white-water rafting, canoeing, bungee jumping, mountain biking, canoeing etc if you're up for it - or simply get your boots on and get exploring - there are some fantastic trails. The Pitlochry staff are a friendly bunch who know the surrounding area like the backs of their hands and are willing to help so don't be shy! Come and have a chat at reception and we can make sure you make the most of your time in Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing