We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feedback”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for six night with variety if friends, up to six. Facilities good, staff excellent, Ryan made sense of my complicated booking. Only negative was wifi - works best standing on stairs!! Breakfast provision great with prompt early starts. Will be back

Stayed: August 2014
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager090, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi,
Thank you for giving us a review and it was lovely have you guys stay with us :)
Regarding the Wifi,yes sometimes it is dropping out and we are in the process of resolving this issue with Bt,looks like a new router will be on its way soon :) Sorry if this caused any inconvenience.
Hopefully we get the chance to see you again some other time in the future.
Thanks
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We walked in and got a room here on short notice, Ryan is a great help with lots of tips on what to see and do, we changed our itinerary the next day based on his advice and were not disappointed. The rooms were nice, it was not full so we were lucky to have a 4 bed dorm to ourselves. The showers and bathrooms were nice and clean. The rooms also very nice. We cooked in and were very happy with the kitchen facilities.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager090, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hi Guys :)
Thanks for your very kind review and it was my pleasure to help out. As long as you enjoyed your trip that is all that matters :) It was really nice having you stay with us and meeting you both and hopefully if your ever passing again our paths will cross :) All the best and take care for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My friends booked this as a stop over. They shared a twin room and I got a double. Although the place looks and feels old, it has been made to feel a bit funky with some cool bed covers and wallpapers. I think it is mainly aimed at the younger type of traveller. Check in was easy and there is a big chill out room with sofas and pool table.

The room was quite dark but relatively clean and bed was not bad for a decent nights sleep. En-suite was small and functional but could have been a little cleaner, I think there is no excuse for mould on a shower head and it should be one of the first things cleaned in a hotel bathroom. It cost around £90 for the 3 of us which I thought was pretty steep given the overall level of accommodation provided, a bit cheaper and this may have gained an extra half star to round it to 4.

Certainly a decent little place and if you aren't fussed about luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mouse1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager090, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi,
Thanks for coming and stay with us and for giving us a review.
Glad you liked our colors and bed sheets :) The lounge is something we are really pleased to have as it is nice and big and good for our guests to get together and get to know each other.
Really gutted about your bathroom on your visit and i would like to give you our apologies and i would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention and i promise i will look into this and resolve this issue. We pride ourself on our cleaning so this is not what we like to hear.
All the best for the future and hopefully see you again.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Thanks to Jo Jo and her band of merry staff who made us all super welcome over the weekend! Gorgeous bright hostel, superbly comfy beds, free tea and coffee and pool table. Our room was ensuite and my best friend had a gorgeous double with a turrett! Get your "Rapunzel" on and check it out!!! Thanks guys, we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeilanCoo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager090, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi and thanks for taking time out to give us a lovely review :) Totally chuffed to bits you had a good stay and it was our pleasure. We have the best guests and this just proves it. Hope all is well and fingerscrossed our paths cross again. All the best for the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at the hostel for one night. The hostel had a good vibe and the double room with bathroom we stayed in was value for money. The hostel stood out because of the staff. During my stay i had several things to take care of since my motorbike needed mending. The staff let me use their tools and were helpful although this was beyond their core business.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DdK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager090, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi,
Thank you so much for the review :) Glad to hear you had a good stay with us and our staff were helpful. We are always happy to help if we can and the fact you had a motorbike would have pleased our receptionist as he likes his motorbikes too. Hopefully see you again in the future and i hope the bike is running smooth again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for one night at Pitlochry Backpackers in a private double room. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations and info on the town of Pitlochry. The room was a pretty decent size with a pretty good bathroom attached. The bed wasn't great as it was just a couple of foam mattresses stacked but it turned out to be better than we thought it would be. Located right on the main street in Pitlochry and less than a 5 min walk to the train station. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi to our Canadian Friends :)
Thanks for taking the time to give us a nice review :) We totally appreciate the comments. Really glad you had a nice stay with ourselfs and my fingers are crossed we meet you again sometime in the future. all the best for the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

called in after walking the robroy way, was given the turret room (double, en-suite),plenty of clean towels an overall lovely room with a great view from the comfy chairs in the turret window.
hostel is full of lovely bright colours and has a good standard of cleanliness both in the room, en-suite, and the hostel in general.
very friendly helpful staff who recommended places to eat and were also able to advise on travel options too.
cheap breakfast available. plentiful free tea, coffee, hot chocolate.
fantastic central location. would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi,
Thank you for your kind review, Im really glad you had a good stay with us and congrats on completing the Rob Roy way...............another walk done eh. Il pass your nice comments to the staff and they will totally be please to hear them. Thanks again for coming and staying with us and all the best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
704 reviews
6 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dundarach Hotel
Dundarach Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel

Address: 134 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Pitlochry
Price Range: £37 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of beautiful rural Perthshire, Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel makes a terrific first stop for any trip into the Highlands. All the comforts of a hotel plus the ambiance and facilities of a hostel - twin, double and dorm rooms are available plus a wonderful sunny lounge, overlooking the main street. Pitlochry Backpackers is an old Victorian hotel, bursting with character. We offer a range of rooms - dormitory (4-8 beds), twins and double rooms (our twin & double rooms are all en-suite). It's such a relaxing place to stay and unwind, with its big cosy lounge that boasts a free pool table, comfy sofas, free tea, coffee & hot chocolate, free WiFi, musical instruments, games, book swap and loads of info on the local area. We also have a separate movie lounge with comfy sofas & cushions and a wide range of movies for our guests to watch. Our comfy beds come complete with bedding so there is no need to worry about carrying a sleeping bag and our self catering kitchen has everything you will need to prepare your favourite dinner. It's a great place to meet like minded people and although you might think you're only staying one night, you'll end up staying three or four - it's that kind of place!Best of all it's literally a stroll away from the beautiful highland countryside. In just 5 minutes you can be at a tranquil lochside with views through the trees to the hills above this pretty highland town. There are many wonderful walks to take; to waterfalls, along rivers, through ancient forests, or up Ben Vrackie (2760 feet, the hill above the town) - these walks all start from our hostel door! The area is also dotted with distilleries, castles and ancient standing stones all within easy reach. Perthshire is also a big centre for adventure activities, including white-water rafting, canoeing, bungee jumping, mountain biking, canoeing etc if you're up for it - or simply get your boots on and get exploring - there are some fantastic trails. The Pitlochry staff are a friendly bunch who know the surrounding area like the backs of their hands and are willing to help so don't be shy! Come and have a chat at reception and we can make sure you make the most of your time in Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing