We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best B&B I've ever been to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Benvrackie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Benvrackie
Ranked #19 of 68 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best B&B I've ever been to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here on a Saturday evening and were just blown away by the experience. I had no idea that B&Bs could be so good. They have definitely set the bar now at a very high level. We felt welcomed from the off and the place was homely whilst being very classy. I will be recommending this place to anyone who is wanting to stop off for the night around the Cairngorms region. The beds were large and comfortable, the shower was a large overhead drench shower and the breakfast was the icing on the cake! The couple who run the place, definitely know what guests want from a stay and they execute it with style. From a price point, it's amazing value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg_OC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinmellor, Manager at Benvrackie, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello G. First of all thank you for writing this for us. We do strive to look after our guests ,but let me say it Is an absolute pleasure looking after Guests like yourselves..Maybe see you again if you are ever up in Highland Perthshire. "Haste ye Back"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
86
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Whilst on route to the Cairngorms, this B&B provided us with the perfect stop off. Situated in an idyllic location on the outskirts of Pitlochry, it oozed comfort, warmth and character. We were greeted with a friendly welcome, the room was exceptional (with a large walk-in shower and home baking on our table) and breakfast was delicious with an array of choice to please anybody's belly. To top it all off, the owners went to the trouble of reserving us a table at a local restaurant, gave us a discount card for 10% off of our meal and provided us with head torches for the trip down, only after us declining an offered lift.

Overall, albeit a short visit, this bed and breakfast went above and beyond for us and we would highly recommend it to anybody else considering a stay in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grenwick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinmellor, Manager at Benvrackie, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review for us. We do like recommending our local award winning Restaurant which is under a five minutes walk from Benvrackie. "Haste ye Back"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My dad and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Benvrackie and only wish we stayed longer!

By far the highest standards of a bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in. Rooms fresh, clean, modern, cosy....a very welcoming relaxing place to stay and feel relaxed.

Colin and Brenda are extremely welcoming, friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was top class, fresh and a vast range to choose from to set you up for the day.

I would not ever consider another place to stay on returning to the area on my next visit to the picturesque Pitlochry as I can't imagine a better place exists.

Thank you again Colin and Brenda.



Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Staceeeee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinmellor, Owner at Benvrackie, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello once more. We really enjoyed having you stay with us here. Many thanks for taking the time to write this .Hope you have settled back in Aberdeen after your break.."Haste ye Back"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at Benvrackie. Colin and Brenda were very welcoming, our bedroom was beautiful and finished to a very high standard, very warm and cosy. The breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice. I look forward to returning in the near future.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank May M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinmellor, Owner at Benvrackie, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We enjoyed having you stay here with us for a couple of nights .We do try to serve produce from Scotlands bountiful Larder and we were pleased you enjoyed our Loch Fyne Smoked Salmon,"Haste ye Back"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

After a walking trip up the mountain of the same name. We arrived to tea, cakes and a warm welcome. So appreciated after the snows of the mountain top. Colin and Brenda looked after us like family, it was a pleasure to stay with them and we'll return for Schiehallion soon. Well done for creating such a lovely vibe. Kev and Kirsty.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinmellor, Owner at Benvrackie, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We hope Everything went OK on Sunday and that you got back to Aberdeen in the afternoon. The Benvrackie mountain was covered in snow all week Thank you once more. "Haste ye Back"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetzikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed for a short while but were really feeling welcome by the lovely owners. They surely took their time to feel at home and make the most out of our visit. Location was also very good, a bit away from all the tourists, which we enjoyed allot. During a walk around the area we ran into some deer and beautiful forrest, close to a superb wiskey distillery. Must visit this place again if we're close by in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verlawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinmellor, Owner at Benvrackie, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Many many thanks for the first review recieved in 2014. Hopefully we can keep up our standards which our guests enjoy. "Haste ye Back"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Lovely accommodation run by lovely people who went the 'extra mile' when we asked about a local place to eat in the evening and actually booked it for us!

We only used Benvrackie as an overnight stay when going to the Theatre, which worked very well but left us wishing we had booked for longer - we enjoyed the brief stay that much.

e cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the front, with a lovely view - which faces across fields to the A9 (a busy r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinmellor, Owner at Benvrackie, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you so much for writing this review. Trip Advisor reviews are important to us Thanks once more. "Haste ye Back"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalshian Guest House
Dalshian Guest House
#11 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#1 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benvrackie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benvrackie

Property: Benvrackie
Address: Benvrackie Benvrackie General Wades Military Road | East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5TE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Benvrackie 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually designed property offering high end accommodation with views over river and wooded hillside,contemporary bedrooms,en-suites and an upstairs lounge with a delightful view over the Tummel Valley..We are a five minute walk from one of Scotlands foremost sporting Hotels where they serve meals of the highest standards..Preferential salmon fishing and dining terms can be organised through ourselves ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benvrackie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benvrackie Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing