We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B and B”
Review of Benvrackie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Benvrackie
Ranked #19 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

At the last minute we decided to have an overnight stop on the way back from our holiday on Skye and booked the Benvrackie quite hurriedly on the basis of a very quick internet search. We could not have chosen anywhere better.

Contemporary and welcoming. Absolutely spotless. Beautifully decorated. Good sized comfortable room with a spacious en-suite (and my favourite Arran aromatics toiletries!). Attentive, friendly, but not intrusive hosts. Great location for a holiday in this area of Scotland but also perfectly located close to the A9 for a stopover too.

We really enjoyed the fact that it was located a short and easy walk from an excellent place to eat (the East Haugh hotel), which would have been reasonably priced for the quality of food even without the 10% discount card which is available for Benvrackie guests to use.
Sitting in the lovely guest lounge overlooking the hills with a "wee dram" on our return from our evening meal was the icing on the cake.

Excellent breakfast too, even if I did not do the full breakfast justice after enjoying too much tasty fresh fruit and yoghurt …. sorry Colin!

Thanks again Brenda and Colin for welcoming us into your home. Thank you also for the lovely welcome from Molly - the very well behaved, but friendly, black lab.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We've just come back from two nights at the Benvrackie.
I don't think we have ever been made to feel more at home than when we stayed with Colin and Brenda last weekend.
During our two night stay we enjoyed a combination of excellent accomodation, perfect location and a fanatastic breakfast. This was in additon to the tea and home made scones we were treated to when we arrived and when I finished cycling (Etape Caledonia)
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abloater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed for just one night with our daughter & son in law to celebrate their 1st anniversary.
Welcomed by Brenda with tea/coffee & scones, sitting admiring the view. After we came back from dinner sat with a wee dram.
We had a twin at the back, & daughter had a double at the front, both lovely & well equiped with homemade shortbread in a little tin.
Breakfast made by Colin was superb, daughter & I had pancakes, & both men had full Scottish with eggs laid from their own hens.
Molly the black lab was very friendly. Hope to stay again soon, next time for longer!
Thank you

Room Tip: Only 3 & all will be same top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gracie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My partner and I spent the weekend in Benvrackie as we were attending a family wedding at Blair Atholl Palace. I am really fussy when it comes to rooms and it either makes or breaks my stay. After looking at photos of numerous hotels and B&B's in the area we decided on this one. We were not disappointed! Colin and Brenda were very helpful and attentive and a lovely couple. The room was spotless you could eat your dinner off the floor, the wet shower room was stunning as was the views from our window. Breakfast was delicious, well cooked and there was an array of choices on the menu to suit. I'm hoping we can return again and I would highly recommend this B&B over any hotel I looked at in the area. Many thanks Brenda & Colin for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the house have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife & I have just returned from a weekend at Benvrackie B&B, on the southern outskirts of Pitlochry. From our warm and charming welcome, with fresh scones, to our departure after another delicious breakfast, our stay could not have been bettered. Our hosts were attentive to every detail; our room and facilities were first class. Every description would have to be superlative and we would certainly recommend it as a great location and a marvellous place to stay.

Ian R.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turfbeg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just got back from a lovely stay. The whole experience was first class, from the friendly greeting by Colin and a welcome cup of tea and freshly made scone and homemade jam served in a gorgeous little sitting area, to the wonderful bedroom, comfy bed and fab wet room we couldn't have asked for more. But we got it with Colins wonderful breakfast, which included all the normal favourites plus omelettes, homemade scotch pancakes, fresh fruit and a lovely proper porridge. There was a decanter of whisky and a bottle of baileys to help yourself too as a nightcap. I cant rate this B & B highly enough and Im already trying to work out when I can fit in a trip back.

Room Tip: There are only three room and think any one of them would be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for a two night weekend break with my partner. Beautiful and clean b&b. Owned by a lovely friendly and helpful couple. Tea and scones on arrival which were delicious. Beautiful peaceful location,a short trip from Pitlochry. Would truly recommend a stay here and will defiantly go back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank midgetgem1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinmellor, Owner at Benvrackie, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

It really pleased us both as we read your most kind review for us here in Benvrackie..It is so good for our guests when the product we supply pleases them .The summer season is looking good for Pitlochry and the theatre ensemble are busy getting prepared for their hectic summer season. Remember that you will be made welcome in our home should you ever return. "Haste Ye Back"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
2.0 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#7 of 65 in Pitlochry
200 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#2 of 65 in Pitlochry
634 reviews
1.5 mi away
Willows Bed & Breakfast
Willows Bed & Breakfast
#41 of 65 in Pitlochry
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Atholl Villa
Atholl Villa
#9 of 65 in Pitlochry
809 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riverwood
Riverwood
#1 of 3 in Strathtay
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalshian Guest House
Dalshian Guest House
#10 of 65 in Pitlochry
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benvrackie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benvrackie

Address: Benvrackie Benvrackie General Wades Military Road | East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5TE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: £87 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Benvrackie 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually designed property offering high end accommodation with views over river and wooded hillside,contemporary bedrooms,en-suites and an upstairs lounge with a delightful view over the Tummel Valley..We are a five minute walk from one of Scotlands foremost sporting Hotels where they serve meals of the highest standards..Preferential salmon fishing and dining terms can be organised through ourselves ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Benvrackie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benvrackie Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing