We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Red Squirrels are frequent visitors to the squirrel feeders around Squirrel Cottage. Squirrel Cottage living room with a wood pellet fire for instant heat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Red Squirrels are frequent visitors to the squirrel feeders around Squirrel Cottage.
Squirrel Cottage living room with a wood pellet fire for instant heat.
The bedroom is large and the bed can be made up as a kingsize double or twin beds.
Squirrel Cottage kitchen is well equiped with all the washing powders and soaps provided.
The large sunroom has windows on three sides, two relaxing chairs, a large table, various puzzles ..
One of several bird feeders aroung Squirrel Cottage. Here long Tailed Tits enjoying the peanuts.
Roe deer are seen in and around Squirrel Cottage. More often late winter and early spring.
A young red squirrel squeezing in to get black sunflower seeds, outside Squirrel Cottage bedroom.
Winter at Squirrel Cottage, with full central heating and insulation its is a good time of the year
Autumn at Squirrel Cottage, this photo was taken mid October.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
John_G525
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We agree with all the positive comments from previous reviewers. James and Kathleen treat you as guests rather than just visitors, and are available and willing to offer as much advice and help as you need, but without being at all intrusive. (Ask James about his family's connections to India). Squirrel Cottage is an annexe of their house with a shared drive but it is totally private, with views over the garden from the sun lounge and with the burn tumbling down the glen beside the house. The cottage is extremely well equipped (at our suggestion Kathleen has even just supplied an egg pricker to stop your boiled eggs cracking!!), very comfortably furnished, and was warm and cosy (in mid-January). Feeders are strategically placed by windows to attract the local wildlife, and we saw red squirrels, great spotted woodpeckers, siskins, long-tailed tits, bramblings, pheasants and a multitude of the more common garden birds while drinking our morning tea in bed! In the evening we saw the fallow deer that comes to garden each evening for the food provided for her.

You can access several local walks from the cottage, and the surrounding area has as much walking (on the flat or up hills {mountains}) and mountain biking as you could wish for. Pitlochry, with shops of all types and a good supermarket, is 5 minutes away by car.

This was our first visit to Squirrel Cottage, but it will certainly not be our last. We consider this to be the best self catering establishment we have stayed in, and we have stayed in many. My wife advises me not to make this review too glowing as she wants to keep this gem a secret!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and warm welcome
Liked least: No adverse comments
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Thank you very much for this review, we are really pleased you found that Squirrel Cottage lived up to your expectations. Yes we do see visitors to Squirrel Cottage as guests, who are paying to have a holiday and do try and make sure they have just that. We are very fortunate by the abundance of wildlife that surrounds Squirrel Cottage, which brings so much pleasure to us and the guests at Squirrel Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P
Aberfeldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb in every way”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

First off James and Kathleen can not do enough for you. The cottage is so well laid out with extras you will not believe. We stayed over Hogmanay and till the 3rd January. The view from the bedroom is outstanding if you like watching birds, and from the front conservatory it doesn't disappoint either. Very clean, tidy and well looked after property.

Ian and Kirsty.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2014
Thank you very much, Ian and Kirsty, it was a real pleasure to have you to stay at Squirrel Cottage. It was great having you join all us locals in Killiecrankie Village for Hogmanay, too. Well done Kirsty for teaching the eightsome reel to a team who had never done it before! All adding to a great night to see the Old Year out and the New Year in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona P
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most excellent self-catering cottage bar none!!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our first stay at this excellent self-catering cottage was from Saturday 30th August to Saturday 14th September - suffice to say we thought so highly of the accommodation and the owners James and Kathleen that on our return home we booked for a short stay from 14th November to 17th November.

This cottage is the most perfect place we have ever stayed. James and Kathleen have thought of and provided everything you could possibly need whilst staying self catering - all you need to bring are yourself, food/drink and clothing and you are truly good to go. There is provided for you a hospitality tray in the bedroom with a selection of hot chocolates etc, writing materials, toiletries, you name it and it is there!!

The cottage itself is in a perfect location for relaxing.chilling or for visitng the surrounding area. For me, a mamoth animal/nature lover, it was amazing to be able to lie in bed and watch the birds feeding at the station at the rear of the cottage for me it was heavenly. There are also munerous feeders to the front and I spent many happy hours watching antics of the birds. Unfortunately during our first initial visit we were not fortunate enough to see a squirrel but we certainly did on our most recent one. My other half spent a fair amount of his time on the small putting green that is on thefront lawn and he had a whale of a time.

The area itself has an abundance of activities no matter your age or fitness level. Highland safaris at Dull (I kid you not!!) has a lot to over for all ages. We also visited Nae Limits to participate in white water rafting - amazing but oh so cold!! Plenty of good eating places whether that be a full meal or just a coffee.

Our two weeks here in the summer were absolutely brilliant - we have stayed in numerous self-catering establishments throughout the country and this has got be simply the best.

Visit number two just last week was more for a chill out following a rather hectic time at our work and this was just the remedy. I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough.

We totally love Squirrel Cottage and as such have already put a request in for two weeks next summer.

If you wish to vist this beautiful part of the world we would hihgly recommend you stay at Squirrel Cottage - you would not regret that decision.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!
Liked least: Nothing!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2013
Thank you very much, Wow!!! What a great review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for sharing your experiences.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
899robert...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb cottage, surrounded by wildlife, with easy access to countryside.”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have enjoyed a number of holidays at Squirrel Cottage which is invariably maintained and presented by the Owners to a very high standard of comfort and cleanliness. Their many personal touches have always added to the pleasure of our visits.
The cottage is very peacefully located, and provides a full view of its gardens which are constantly being visited by a very wide range of local wildlife - quite delightful.
Of particular interest to us is the direct access which the Cottage provides to many walking routes - both high and low level - suiting a variety of ages and abilities.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Squirrel Cottage experiences.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeff s
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful holiday in Squirrel Cottage.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Squirrel Cottage twice a year over the last 10 years! Of the many holiday cottages we have enjoyed, this is the best! The comfort of the cottage and the setting in spectacular countryside is second to none! The spacious and very comfortable conservatory gives tremendous views of local wildlife. The cottage is equipped with every comfort for the guests. Kathleen and James are warm and welcoming and take the time to ensure that each visit is a memorable one. Our holiday always passes too quickly, shown by our bookings for the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and setting.
Liked least: There is nothing that we didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Squirrel Cottage experiences.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Squirrel Cottage is a veritable haven”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was our 3rd stay at Squirrel Cottage and it never ceases to delight us. The cottage itself is extremely well equipped including all the little extras ! James and Kathleen are charming hosts and their knowledge of the surrounding area/wildlife is excellent.

There is an abundance of wildlife right on the doorstep; red squirrels, pheasants and species of birds too numerous to mention. The 'magic window' in the bedroom is one way - you can look out and be endlessly entertained watching the birds and red squirrels on their feeders to your hearts content. I have decided that I need 1 camera at each end of the cottage just in case I miss something !

Squirrel Cottage is very much a home from home for us and more than does it's job in de-stressing us 'townies' !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences of staying at Squirrel Cottage with everyone, particulary as you are repeat guests. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAK45
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful walks & wildlife”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Exceptionally well equipped cottage, large generous square footage for two people, well positioned for walking, The Pitlochry Theatre, excellent food at the Killicrankie Hotel and the wonderful wildlife in the garden. Kathleen and James are a delightful and very helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your Squirrel Cottage stay expereince with others - hope to see you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing