We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely wildlife retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Red Squirrels are frequent visitors to the squirrel feeders around Squirrel Cottage. Squirrel Cottage living room with a wood pellet fire for instant heat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Red Squirrels are frequent visitors to the squirrel feeders around Squirrel Cottage.
Squirrel Cottage living room with a wood pellet fire for instant heat.
The bedroom is large and the bed can be made up as a kingsize double or twin beds.
Squirrel Cottage kitchen is well equiped with all the washing powders and soaps provided.
The large sunroom has windows on three sides, two relaxing chairs, a large table, various puzzles ..
One of several bird feeders aroung Squirrel Cottage. Here long Tailed Tits enjoying the peanuts.
Roe deer are seen in and around Squirrel Cottage. More often late winter and early spring.
A young red squirrel squeezing in to get black sunflower seeds, outside Squirrel Cottage bedroom.
Winter at Squirrel Cottage, with full central heating and insulation its is a good time of the year
Autumn at Squirrel Cottage, this photo was taken mid October.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
PFM10
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely wildlife retreat”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed for a week primarily to enjoy the wildlife and walks in the area which is very beautiful. Squirrel cottage was a home from home and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there! Didn't want to leave. Bed was a bit hard for us, but other people had commented it was comfy, so maybe just us. But we suggested a removable mattress topper as an.option for guests and this suggestion was well received by our lovely hosts. Would definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you very much for your feedback, in particular the comments regarding the bed. We have taken on board your suggestion to purchase a removable mattress topper and it is now in place for all guests to enjoy at Squirrel Cottage. We very much appreciate the time you have taken to share your stay expereinces with everyone. Best wishes Kathleen and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry B
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Lovely cottage & extremely well equipped; there's nowhere better for a relaxing break. Peaceful & quiet location but only 5mins from Pitlochry & if you like wildlife, it doesn't come better than this. James & Kathleen are perfect hosts; always helpful & friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & Quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Squirrel Cottage with others. We very much appreciate your kind words. Thank you. Kathleen and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christebe...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect country cottage - especially for wildlife lovers”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This was our second stay at Squirrel Cottage and plan to return next year. Our main reason for visiting the area at this time of year is to attend the Perthshire Amber Festival concerts. The birds and red squirrels were an absolute joy this year, we spent many hours watching their antics.

The cottage is very comfortable and cosy, extremely well equipped and spotlessly clean. Kathleen and James have thought of everything, from the lovely welcome pack of breakfast essentials to the wide array of toiletries - in fact they supplied everything we've ever forgotten to take on holiday! We've stayed in a number of self catering cottages and it's unusual to have toiletries included, but most useful. Kathleen and James are so welcoming, and always ready to help with queries about the wildlife, local walks, events and facilities. The printed information provided in the cottage is also exceptional.

There is so much to see and do in the surrounding area, even in the autumn/winter months. Pitlochry has a number of good shops/restaurants and of course the Festival Theatre is well worth a visit.

All in all, Squirrel Cottage is a delightful place to stay, we'll definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable and well equipped
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Thank you very much for taking to write this carefully thought out review of your experience of staying at Squirrel Cottage. We very much appreciate your many positive comments. Thank you. With our very best wishes, Kathleen and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veggiefox
wirral, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Red Squirrels for breakfast!”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

this is a lovely place to stay and guaranteed sightings of red squirrels ( at close quarters) together with fat pheasants and loads of tiny coal tits, goldfinches etc.

The kitchen is well equipped, a lovely big bedroom and everything is left for your comfort - butter and milk in the fridge, plenty of toiletries and toothbrushes etc. in case you have left yours behind.

Lovely location and plenty of places to eat in nearby Pitlochry if you don't fancy cooking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the squirrels!
Liked least: the TV which was very difficult to set up/ use
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience of staying at Squirrel Cottage on TripAdvisor and very IMPORTANTLY thank you very much for staying at Squirrel Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAirey_10
Dumfries Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must for nature lovers”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just left Squirrel Cottage after our annual holiday, the cottage part of a very old but much loved house. The cottage however is entirely separate, the owners have created a homely comfortable space, with lots of unexpected extras. There was butter, bread, milk a choice of water, as well as ensuring there was loads of personal toiletries should you forget your toothbrush. The cottage had loads of tourist information and the owners were happy to give us information on some gems not in the literature.
The bedroom was spacious, the bed was fabulously comfortable and the room had a huge picture window furnished with one way glass, so we could watch the wildlife without disturbing them. The squirrels are less considerate when it comes to disturbing you, as they can be heard knocking against the glass.
Watching the wildlife made the week, so much so we did not move very far from base

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The environment
Liked least: Very hot water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences of staying at Squirrel Cottage with everyone. We are really pleased you enjoyed the wildlife too, we also feel the wildlife is very special and do as much as we can, as you know, to ensure they are here. We thoroughly enjoyed having you both to stay, Best wishes, Kathleen and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan s
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the best holidays we have ever had”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

2 hrs after arriving our first of 3 sightings of a pine marten. Kathleen & James the perfect hosts. Didn't want to leave the cottage as it was so welcoming and relaxing. Local area good for walks and wildlife. Pitlochry perfect local town to visit. Re-booked straight away for next year. Counting the days until we return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wildlife
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for sharing your experience of staying at Squirrel Cottage - I now tell all our guests of your shear determination to see the pine marten, as we are sure they make regular visits to the squirrel feeders. Like all wild life watching one has to be persistent and you both certainly were - and you were rewarded. We are very much looking forward to your return next year. Best wishes Kathleen and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenCatt...
Gobowen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The MOST FANTASTIC holiday.”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just left Squirrel Cottage on 6 June. Not only were there red squirrels in abundance but woodpeckers seen regularly. As for the accommodation....perfect. Lots of little touches to make it feel 'home from home'. James and Kathleen on hand for advice if required but would leave you in peace if that's what you want.
Has to be the best self-catering cottage we have been to, both for location as well as quality. Have already booked again for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing atmosphere created.
Liked least: Leaving!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for the fantastic review, we are really pleased the red Squirrels appeared in abundance and loved all your hazel nuts - the hazels nuts are definitely what red squirrels are addicted to! The red squirrels are becoming less timid with this week guest's reporting how friendly the red squirrels are. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with everyone and look forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;