We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northlands B7B - possibly the best value in the UK!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northlands Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Northlands B7B - possibly the best value in the UK!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I were on holiday from Australia and travelled extensively throughout England and Scotland staying a different B&B or boutique hotel every night. After staying at some wonderful places in Devon and Cornwall we headed North to Scotland and without having even heard of Pitlochry we stubbled upon Northlands. Our host Pauline offered us a big double room for 80 pounds. The room, the bedding, the en-suite, the dining room, were all immaculate as was the service - beautiful full Scottish breakfast, sweets and a wee dram by the bedside at night time. This set the standard for the next two weeks in Scotland and nothing came close in terms of value for money. We stayed at some places that cost us three times as much but they were nothing like three times as good as Northlands. In fact, we liked it (and Pitlochry) so much we made a significant detour on our way back to stay there again - this time in the biggest of the rooms for a mere ten pounds more (90 pounds). We couldn't recommend Northlands, Pitlochry, and the surrounds highly enough. Thank you Pauline for a wonderful stay - sorry it took us so long to write a review!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline D, Owner at Northlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Fran, Thank you so much for the marvellous review of your recent stays with us. It was a pleasure to meet with you on both occasions and we’re delighted that you found your visits so enjoyable. We were especially pleased that we had the opportunity on your second stay to suggest some great places to visit in the area that are off the main tourist routes. All best wishes for the future, Pauline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
134
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I visit many B&B Hotels in UK and this is certainly one of the best. Immaculately clean, very spacious rooms, delightful welcome packs (including the "wee dram", and of course a very enjoyable full scottish breakfast. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and Pauline (hostess) has a vast knowledge of the area. Situated slightly elevated on the hillside within walking distance of the town. I would strongly recommend the Northlands B&B in Pitlochry you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Front rooms facing out over the city have nice views and there is little or no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline D, Owner at Northlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Annita A Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to Northlands. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope your family festivities further north were equally enjoyable. Best wishes to you both for 2014, Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

At every point Northland's B&B exceeded our already high expectations.

My partner and I stayed for one night as a stop-over whilst on our way to the Isle of Skye. Having travelled for 8 hours in awful weather we arrived exhausted.

We were staying in Room 1 the king-size double bedroom and it was a real treat. The height and scale of both the bathroom and bedroom coupled with the tasteful decoration and huge windows really made a lasting impression. The room is huge with the biggest, cosiest, most decadent bed you could ever hope for and the bathroom was just as impressive with a large roll-top bath and spacious power shower.

Breakfast was the most wonderful experience. The breakfast room is once again grand and inviting. The fire was lit and the table was set-up beautifully with everything you could possible want without being over-the-top. There was a selections of cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit and fresh smoked fish - all delicious! This was followed by an excellent scottish breakfast cooked to order with plentiful tea and toast. Haggis, tattie scones and plain bread (I hope I've remembered that right?) are all on the menu so it was a real experience for someone like myself who had never been to Scotland before. My partner is a real meat-eater and he was very pleased with the quality and quantity of the sausages, bacon, haggis and black pudding, having all been sourced specially by Pauline.

A few examples of some other nice touches that made the experience extra special:
-invited to help ourselves to a tipple from the drinks cabinet downstairs
-a shot of very nice whiskey and millionaire's shortbread in our room on arrival
-on seeing our thermos Pauline insisted on filling it for us
-a large selection of maps and guidebooks in the communal room
-Pauline very knowledgable about both the area and wider Scotland
-book stand for the bath (what a nice touch!)
-lots of fluffy white towels and dressing gowns on the large heated towel rail.

We picked Northland's B&B due to it's excellent tripadvisor reviews yet were still blown away by the value for money and memorable experience that Pauline provided. Also it is worth noting that she went out of her way to be helpful and kind without ever making us feel uncomfortable or awkward. It was very much a home from home and an excellent place to relax which we very much appreciated and made a great start to our holiday!

Room Tip: Room 1 had a view over Pitlochry and down into the valley, which allowed us to watch the most beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline D, Owner at Northlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hi Alice A, Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stopover at Northlands. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope your Hogmanay holiday in Skye was equally enjoyable. All best wishes for 2014, hope we have the pleasure of meeting you both again in the future. Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Thanks for this great experience Pauline. Rooms were really welcoming and comfortable, breakfast was so good and we really appreciate the 'little attentions' that made our stay just great!

Pauline is also a really good resource person for recommendations and advice on visiting this beautiful region of Scotland

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franexplor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline D, Owner at Northlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Franexplor, thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at Northlands. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to this beautiful part of Scotland and hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future. King regards, Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menominee, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Northlands B&B in Pitlochry, Scotland is a beautiful, well run, well maintained B&B. The Duncan's have hit the nail on the head when it comes to providing a "complete" B&B experience.
The home is very stately and the welcome was warm and inviting. There was no detail that was overlooked by the Duncans. All the furnishings were comfortable, clean and relaxing. It was a perfect location from which spend a few days in and around Pitlochry. For us, it was a perfect match staying at Northlands and visiting the area. We could not have asked for a better facility. We highly recommend Northlands for any type of visit. It is centrally located and allows for quick visits to Perth, Inverness, skiing and just plain sightseeing. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: There are only two and both are marvelous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline D, Owner at Northlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Pat K, thank you for posting a review on your 3 night stay with us in September. Your kind words regarding our home and the hospitality received are very much appreciated. It was wonderful to meet with you and your husband and great to chat with you during your time at Northlands. Hopefully you will return to Scotland in the future and we will look forward to welcoming you back when you do. Best regards, Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Thanks for a wonderful time Pauline! The breakfast was something else. The rooms were wonderful, so was the hospitality. Thanks for making our stay with my Son and Daughter in law happy one.The information about all the places to visit were very helpful,but the black pudding and haggis at breakfast was the best I ever tasted.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline D, Owner at Northlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Jean W, it was a pleasure to meet you and share your family visit to Pitlochry. We are so happy that we contributed towards such a special time for you all and delighted that your first review on Tripadvisor is for Northlands B&B! We have to agree that our black pudding and haggis from Grants of Speyside are fabulous – hope we’ll have the pleasure of sharing with you again in the future. Warm regards, Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

From the minute you arrive and are greeted by Pauline you feel right at home.
The house is beautiful!
Breakfasts are out of this world and bountiful.
It is located centrally but on a quiet side street so there is no traffic noise to worry about.
We stayed in room #1 and it was very spacious and comfortable. A nice surprise was the pieces of millionaires shortbread and a wee dram of Whisky left for you on the dressing table.
We will be back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angus1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline D, Owner at Northlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Angus1156, Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Northlands B&B, we are delighted that you felt at home and enjoyed your stay. Great that you plan to return in the future – see you then! Best, Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#1 of 66 in Pitlochry
596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
0.1 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#2 of 66 in Pitlochry
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northlands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northlands Bed and Breakfast

Property: Northlands Bed and Breakfast
Address: Northlands Lettoch Road | Lettoch Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northlands Bed & Breakfast, situated in the conservation area of Pitlochry, presents all the amenities expected of a deluxe bed and breakfast. Luxurious accommodation in individually decorated and furnished en-suite rooms, delicious breakfast served in an elegant dining room and friendly, unobtrusive hospitality. Centrally located with private parking and Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northlands Bed And Breakfast Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing