We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northlands Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is the best B&B we have ever stayed at. Pauline and David looked very well after us, we could not want for more. In addition the attention to detail is marvellous, the bedrooms were gorgeously decorated as was the rest of the house. The breakfast was also way above expectation. They also have a beautiful garden, complete with a brook and ancient monument. Great location with only a very short walking distance to the beautiful centre of Pitlochry. We can't recommend Northlands B&B enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikkelver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline D, Owner at Northlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Mikkelver, Thank you very much for such a lovely review, we are so happy that you and your family had fun on your recent visit to Pitlochry. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality and home. Warm regards, Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
126
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We spent three wonderful nights at Northlands and could not have been more welcomed or comfortable. Pitlochry is a delightful town and Pauline is such a helpful and friendly hostess. From the moment we arrived, she welcomed us at the door and made us feel right at home. It was like visiting with family, only more fun! The rooms were spectacular, the breakfast outstanding, the location perfect, and the price unbeatable. It was, by far, the nicest place we have stayed in Europe. We will definitely be going back and recommending Northlands to friends. A true gem of a B&B. Thank you, Pauline and David!

Room Tip: The twin bed room is a good size with lovely light. The smaller of the two double rooms is small but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberlee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline D, Owner at Northlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Kimberlee S, Thank you for such a wonderful review. It was fascinating having historic cooks and their family staying with us. Discussing and learning from you about the European and especially the Scottish influence in North Carolina was so interesting. We will make a special pot of our yoghurt just for you when you return! Best, Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed in Pitlochry for two days and enjoyed ourselves tremendously. The town itself is like Disneyland in terms of cleanliness, friendliness and quaintness ... but its all genuine. The town has its own distillery, theater, restaurants, trails and quiet roads. But the highlight of the visit was, interestingly, Pauline's graciousness at Northlands Bed and Breakfast.

Pauline treats everyone like long lost family. The writing table in the room has a fresh slice of millionaires shortbread (rather than a store bought package) alongside a shotglass and a dram of local whiskey. Breakfasts are filling and delicious ... who would have thought that haggis could be so good? The cream and berries are fresh and seasonal, the jams are homemade ... all signs of a (justifiably) proud cook.

There is plenty of parking space, plenty of hot water, and even the soap is special.

Pauline and David are very knowledgeable about the people, sights and events in and around Pitlochry and offer sound advice. Pauline and David get the highest marks on all aspects of our stay.

This is what every B&B should be like. We couldn't have been happier.
Highly recommended.

Amir & Maia

Room Tip: This is a wonderful B&B. Stay here if at all possible !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amirinisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline D, Owner at Northlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear amirinisrael, Wow, your description of your stay is wonderful. Pitlochry is indeed a magical place and as a community we all work hard to ensure our visitors are able to enjoy what we are lucky enough to experience year round. It was delightful to share with you and your wife the connection of our home with Natsume Soseki, the Japanese Charles Dickens. We hope you enjoy the recipe for Millionaire Shortbread back home and had a wonderful time further north cycling the Speyside Whisky trail. Best, Pauline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelange, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Thank you much to Pauline for her attention to details to create a memorable experience, all with a radiant smile that makes you feel like visiting your best friend, doing its very best to please you and optimize the stay in this beautiful and quiet Victorian house. The richly decorated room we slept in had a highly comfortable bed, with an excellent bathroom, and two millionaire shortbread fudge squares next to a bottle of whisky on a side table as a welcome token made us fell like we were at the Gleneagles'. The breakfast was as complete as can be with the widest and most tasteful choice we came across out of all the B&B's visited during our stay in Scotland. The house itself overlooks a nice garden with a burn going through it and a 2000 year old stone. Pauline gave us good practical and historical indications and went out of her way to make the necessary arrangements for our next night.
If you visit Pitlochry, here is the place to book, blindfolded. We definitely will come back and stay there when visiting Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadfly135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline D, Owner at Northlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Gadfly135, It was pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality.
We love our home and so appreciate being able to share the history of the house and this wonderful part of Scotland. We are happy to help our guests with their travel itineraries in the country and pleased that your next stay was a success. We look forward to seeing you again. Best, Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We are just back from a three night stay at Northlands B&B Pitlochry. A warm welcome awaits you from Pauline at this splendid Victorian house with its lovely location overlooking the surrounding countryside but close by to the town's facilities. Our room was extremely comfortable with excellent facilities and lovely extras to make you feel at home, The breakfast at Northlands is exceptional and served in a delightful dining room. In fact I don't know why I am telling you all this as I want to keep it a special secret but that wouldn't be fair to Pauline and Northlands - what a combination! We will definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daisy261084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline D, Owner at Northlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Daisy261084, Thank you so much for writing such a complimentary review about your recent stay with us at Northlands B&B. We’re pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to you returning in the future, we will have the porridge on the stove and banish the black pudding for the duration. Regards to you both, Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I cannot fault our one night stay from the welcome to the comfort and facilities in the bedroom and the excellent breakfast. Northlands is a traditional victorian Scottish house with spacious rooms and well placed for the facilities of Pitlochry. We will certainly stay here again if we are in Pitlochry in the future

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline D, Owner at Northlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Patricia J, Thank you for writing the above review of your recent stay with us at Northlands. We are always so pleased when guests have an enjoyable stay with us and grateful when they share their experience on Trip Advisor. We hope you are able to return in the future, we would be delighted to welcome you back. Best wishes to you both, Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballywalter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Thanks to all you Trip advisors who posted your reports on the Northlands for it was your great reports that drew me to book and we where not disappointed, We stayed in bedroom 1 which was lovely and the bathroom was very spacious, we loved the bath! Breakfast was a real treat every thing you could have wished for and more. Pauline our host made us very welcome and her knowledge of the local area and places to visit was so helpful. We dined at the local Golf Club on our first evening and it was very good and great value for money, on our second evening we dined at the local Indian which we enjoyed. I would recommend Northlands to my friends and family. Thanks Pauline for making our stay with you so memorable. We are looking forward to our next visit already and we will remember to bring you our Northern Ireland Veda!!

Room Tip: Room 1 is Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 551730Cameron18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline D, Owner at Northlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear 551730Cameron18, Thank you to you and our other reviewers for taking the time to comment on your visits to our home. We are delighted that you found your stay at Northlands B&B memorable and are pleased that you are planning to return. We look forward to seeing you again and tasting some Northern Irish veda bread when you do. Best wishes Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
0.1 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#2 of 66 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#1 of 66 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northlands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northlands Bed and Breakfast

Property: Northlands Bed and Breakfast
Address: Northlands Lettoch Road | Lettoch Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northlands Bed & Breakfast, situated in the conservation area of Pitlochry, presents all the amenities expected of a deluxe bed and breakfast. Luxurious accommodation in individually decorated and furnished en-suite rooms, delicious breakfast served in an elegant dining room and friendly, unobtrusive hospitality. Centrally located with private parking and Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northlands Bed And Breakfast Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing