We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit fishy”

Pitlochry Hydroelectric Dam and Fish Ladder
Ranked #6 of 40 things to do in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pitlochry Hydroelectric Dam and Fish Ladder spans the River Tummel at Pitlochry in Perthshire, Scotland. It was built between 1947 and 1951. By damming the River Tummel, Loch Faskally was created behind it. There is a salmon count monitor and the dam power station has a visitor centre.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit fishy”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Perhaps better to visit when the fish are migrating. Beyond reading the info, not much to see or do.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    441
    182
    32
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is probably one of the biggest attractions in Pitlochry and its such a shame that SSE dont up keep the area. We visit everytime we pass Pitlochry and its now in need of love. The observation room isnt open anymore, theres just a monitor and counter. The white tiles in the observation pool haven't been cleaned in ages, i can remember when the were brushed clean weekly. Its a shame as it gives a poor impression of Pitlochry and SSE but they only care if they make profit. Bring back the Hyrdo Board, at least they cared for the salmon ladder.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank elchrisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely walk”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was a lovely walk,very relaxing and spectacular views,keep going and you will cross a bridge further down and just round the corner is a wee gem nestled away,the Drummond pub an resturant well worth going to,see my review of drummonds

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pammij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A fish out of water”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Interesting walk over the suspension bridge , along the banks of the river, and up to the fish ladder and dam. We were also asking ourselves what this was all about, and were intrigued to see how the system of cordened off pools, to the side of the dam proper, give the fish a sporting chance to make it upstream. Although we didnt see any salmom in the pools or through the viewing screen, we did see one jump (more like flop) over the floating line that was about 50m out from the dam on the lake side proper. We popped in to the theatre along the river bank for a cuppa and a convenience stop, and found this a good spot to spend a break on our drive for an hour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimbobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Informative and excellent value”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We visited the fish ladder in the evening and had the good fortune of watching a heron hunt while standing on the side of the fish ladder. The fish ladder is an excellent walk especially after dinner in the evening. There is no charge and you can get some amazing pictures of the river and dam. The various info boards scattered around the dam really help you to understand the environment and history of the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndreK933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pitlochry Hydroelectric Dam and Fish Ladder also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Pitlochry Hydroelectric Dam and Fish Ladder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing