We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful spot”

Fonab Castle Hotel Brasserie
Ranked #12 of 54 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$47
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The food was great and the view over the loch was sensational. We were there in good weather and had the option to sit outside beside the loch. Just stunning. The service was reasonably good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank monnie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    65
    38
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and fabulous food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Decided to try out the Brasserie and were really happy we did. The goats cheese tart starter was delicious the pastry was so light it melted in your mouth, the lamb main was really tasty and the chocolate fondant was to die for. My husband had scallops, king prawn curry and cheeseboard and he enjoyed every bit of his meal as much as I did. The view from the brasserie is stunning, in fact the whole ambience was conducive to to a really enjoyable evening. We had a bottle of Pinot Grigio and 3 courses with coffee and found the £109 bill extremely reasonable. The staff were excellent and very eager to please, I will be visiting again soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food offering good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Excellent meal, brilliant service. thorough enjoyable. Good choice of food. Staff so friendly and helpful. Beautiful views. Staff allowed us to sit outside for our dessert. Lovely outside terrace to be enjoyed in the good weather.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiths1480935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best in Pitlochry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Whilst staying in the area, a local told us about the Fonab Castle, recommending it as a place to lunch that is cheaper than places in the town! We visited for an evening meal and found the experience excellent. Arriving early we were directed to the upstairs lounge where we had a drink whilst admiring a wonderful view of the loch. The dining area, which is downstairs, also has views if you get the right table - we had the best and thoroughly enjoyed the summer evening. The food was excellent throughout, served by very attentive and friendly staff. A five-star meal at three-star prices; a great dining experience and definitely recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkelpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teba, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed (sadly) for 1 night on our way from edinburugh to Dornoch. Originally chosen just because of location, what a great piece of luck!
This is a fantastic hotel, with a great bistro restaurant, but the best thing of all is the staff, nothing is too much trouble.
We arrived at 8.55 our booking via booking.com was missing(not the first time), the bistro closing a 9, we could have had a nightmare, instead we had a great experience, the receptionist took us directly to the restaurant, where we had a great meal, during which our room key was delivered and of course our (loads of) luggage had been put into our room.
The room was simply prefect even with a curved window in the tower.
Next time we will stay for longer definitely!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fonab Castle Hotel Brasserie also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Fonab Castle Hotel Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing