We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous. Faultless. Fantastic.”
Review of Fonab Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fonab Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This place is fantastic. From the location to the people it cannot be faulted. In particular I have to give a big shout out to Dener and Salvatori, the attention to detail they provided for us was second to none. From remembering our daughter liked a straw in her drink to the front of house staff passing on info re our visit to the restaurant staff, so much so that we had a great big bag of fruit provided for us individually wrapped for our day ahead.
When we arrived our room was ready and we were given a guided tour by the lovely Marco. The room we had was a suite in the new part of the hotel. The room was immaculate and really spacious. We had a Nespresso machine, bottles of water and biscuits were provided at night. Within the bathrooms (of which there are two) there are Thierry Mugler goodies and these are replenished every day. My daughter (8) had her own bathrobe which delighted her. The wifi worked perfectly and the inhouse Bluetooth system was great too. The beds (and that includes the fold down sofa bed) was extremely comfy and although we didn’t indulge, you have a pillow menu too, from duck down to memory foam. The terrace areas (again you get 2 of these) are surrounded by boxes of flowers and are hand picked for dead flowers every day. The terrace furniture is comfy and its peaceful to sit out. You can hear the traffic a little bit, but nothing too much to spoil your relaxation. When the patio doors are shut you cannot hear a thing.
The restaurant is immaculate and Dener had our table ready for us every morning with a placing for three people. You have a menu for breakfast instead of a buffet, however there is a buffet for fruit yogurt and breakfast cereals. The breakfast menu is fantastic, and to have your breakfast (especially the eggs benedict) made for you fresh every morning is something else.
Dinner was great too but perhaps some half portions for children might be an idea.
The grounds of the hotel are excellent and the view all the way down to the dam is something else too.
We loved this place, even although the spa and pool were not open yet, but this means we will need to come back and experience this too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chunkyweemidgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Good Afternoon!

Wow what a great review - Thank you so much for all of your kind words. We work extremely hard to ensure that everyone who visits us here has a very positive and memorable experience from simple things like ensuring you have no "dead heads" on your patios to remembering what accompaniments your daughter requires with her drink.

I have to admit that Eggs Benedict is my all time favorite breakfast dish too and it is terribly unfortunate that i have to "quality test" this from time to time! Nether the less i am pleased to hear you enjoyed the whole dinning experience and I shall certainly pass on your kind words to our team.

We look forward to seeing you again, and please feel free to follow our website for information on the Spa and opening schedules.

Thank you again for the review.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,997 - 2,003 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mouhssine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank VinceSly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambres avec vue sur le lac ou chambres dans le chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PLR756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank williandmarliseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Abegglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Boka ett rum i huvudbyggnaden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerA026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,875 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
690 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
801 reviews
22.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonab Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonab Castle Hotel

Address: Foss Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £182 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonab Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonab Castle is a wonderful and historic building on the banks of Loch Faskally, by Pitlochry. It has been transformed by the Clark family into a fabulous and glamorous new 5 Star hotel. The hotel offers 26 bedrooms including 4 suites and a luxurious Penthouse suite (a number with loch views). The hotel brasserie and lounge provide outstanding vistas of the loch itself and Sandemans our fine dining restaurant is a tranquil setting for experiencing exquisite cuisine and fine wines. The Spa at Fonab is our brand new Spa offering a host of pampering and relaxation experiences. With Thermal Suite, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, treatment rooms and nail bar and pedicure. We look forward to welcoming you to a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fonab Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonab Castle Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing