We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fonab Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Fisher's Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dundarach Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Trees Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Birchwood(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosemount Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,260)
Filter reviews
2,260 results
Traveller rating
1,796
314
113
29
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,796
314
113
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch viewwoodland suitethe fine dining restaurantsandemans restaurantthe penthousewine flighttasting menunew wingnespresso machinebeautiful hotelafternoon tealuxury hotellounge barspa facilitiesstunning viewsfresh milkfirst class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,193 - 2,198 of 2,260 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Fonab Castle in Pitlochry certainly lives up to its promise of an exclusive luxurious getaway. We stayed in one of the Castle Signature Rooms and couldn't have asked for more. All staff were very professional, helpful and very welcoming namely Otto who greeted us warmly at the door and was on hand for any questions or help. The Brasserie was ultra stylish with a fantastic menu and wine selection, special thanks to Victor. Exceptionally high standard of food and fantastic views over the loch. Thank you to all staff at Fonab for making our stay 5 star fab. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markieboywishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and for passing them on to us as well as the other potential guests.

I was really pleased to see that you loved your stay in our Castle Signature Room - these rooms really represent all that we want to give to our guests and believe in and for your kind words on the staff's friendliness and positive attitude. They all appreciate such positive comments and it makes them try even harder.

The Brasserie is a lovely stylish venue for meeting up and having quality food with great views. The staff in the Brasserie are always on hand to look after you and i am glad you appreciated Viktor's attention.

We look forward to welcoing you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a fantastic place for a break. We have just retuned from a two night stay and it was brilliant. The room was lovely and very comfortable. The hotel was beautiful and the food in the brasserie was excellent. What makes the hotel absolutely outstanding is the people. From the minute we arrived we received absolutely first class treatment from everyone in the hotel. Everyone was friendly and took time to chat whilst delivering outstanding service. Nothing was too much trouble to anyone.

We loved it just as it is. Once the pool, spa, gym and second restaurant are up and running it will be unbelievable.

Room Tip: We had a castle signature room and it was really nice with beautiful views over the loch.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandAud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

WOW - thank you for the lovely review.

We are delighted that you had such a great time and appreciated all that we were able to do for you and your fellow guests.

Like-wise we too are looking forward to the Spa and Sandemans Fine Dining Restaurant opening and also to welcoming back guests, such as yourselves, to enjoy them and all that Fonab Castle has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My Husband and I stayed 3 nights in this Hotel and it was fantastic. The Hotel is brand new and there has clearly been a lot of thought to the design and comfort for the guests. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and this made our stay even more special. Thanks go to Matthew, Denveer and Ed, the night porter is entertaining and very friendly. As the fine dining isn't open as yet we ate in the Brasserie, which is lovely. We stayed in a Castle signature room, overlooking the loch and the whole experience was so relaxing and is just perfect. The opening of the Spa will certainly be an asset to this, already, wonderful place. We highly recommend this Hotel, if you are looking for the personal touch & attention to detail, you will not be disappointed. We will definitely return soon.

Room Tip: Castle signature room, but ask for the one overlooking the loch as there are also ones which face on to the car park.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KittyPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we really do appreciate the feedback.

Our staff have been engaged to give friendly and attentive service and so I am pleased to see your comments on them all - they really do appreciate it.

i am glad that you want to return to us very soon and we look forward to looking after you again when sandemans Fine Dining Restaurant and our Spa are open.

As we say in Scotland ...'Haste ye back'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

There is doubt that this is a very good hotel and its taken a bit of consideration deciding on a rating. In the end I've gone with 4 stars.

Positives:
1) The staff couldn't be more helpful.
2) The room was lovely and the bed very comfortable.
3) Breakfast was very good and there was a great choice.

Negative:
1) There is only one room, bar the brasserie, in which you can relax. The room is not large and is not really a place in which you would spend alot of time. It seems a pity that you can't while away some time in a room that overlooks the lake.

So all in all its a really nice place that I wouldn't resitate returning to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aidan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Good morning.

Apologies for the late response.

Firstly i'd like to thank you for your positive words towards the hotel and staff. I am however sorry that you felt you could not fully relax. The Brasserie can be very busy and loud at times, however we do have a further two lounges which are situated in the main castle - one being the George Lounge where we have our Ministry of Malt and Gin Palace. These are serviced from the main bar in the Brasserie but are great places to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the Brasserie. These lounges are staffed and you can even request the team to play your favorite music to relax to via our Sonos system.

We hope to welcome you back to Fonab Castle Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just back today from Fonab Castle Hotel at Pitlochry and can we just say what a place to chill and relax, beautiful views of the loch from our balcony room. Breakfast has a wonderful choice of food and the chef makes beautiful meals and so well presented. The Staff are Abs Fab and can not do enough for you. I am now thinking of how quick we can fit another break in. So a Big Big thank you to all for making our stay wonderful. It was lovely to watch the fish jump in the Loch.
Iris & Eddie Farmer

Room Tip: we stayed in room 606 and had beautiful views and so peaceful
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sweep049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you so much for the review and all your positive comments - everyone at Fonab Castle really appreciate you taking the time to pass them on.

Like previous guests - we are pleased that you appreciated the attentive and friendly nature of the staff, it is a welcome trademark of Fonab Castle - allowing you to relax and letting us look after you all.

The Woodland Rooms which have the balconies are wonderful and the views splendid and this along with our offerings in the Brasserie certainly give you the place, as you say ... 'to chill and relax'

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to Fonab Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews