We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Fonab”
Review of Fonab Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fonab Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Fonab”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I had a great stay at the Fonab Hotel on the third weekend of October 2013. There was a small mix up with our room resulting in the fact that we both were upgraded to the penthouse suite. The staff could not have been nicer and the food and breakfast was to die for. I enjoyed it so much that I have re-booked the penthouses suite again for November

Room Tip: The Penthouse suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Good morning.

Thanks for the great comments.

I'm glad you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade for your birthday and even more so that you have booked our Penthouse again for November.

I will pass your great comments onto our staff.

Thanks once again and we look forward to seeing you later this month.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,508
    263
    95
    24
    5
See reviews for
253
1,385
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We recently had a 3 night stay in one of the Castle Signature Rooms (202) it does half over look the car park but we weren't intending to stay in our room looking out the window and when we were in the room it was dark outside!

There's too much being made in these reviews of whether Fonab Castle is 5 star or not so do not be influenced by references to this. 5 star to you would be different to 5 Star to us, so does it really matter - for guidance this Hotel would sit very comfortable in the Relais & Chateaux collection of hotels if you are familiar with that. What we look for is comfort, service, good food and location - this ticks all these boxes.

The hotel is a balance between a traditional castle hotel setting and a boutique hotel. Shudder to think what the refurbishment and set up costs for this is and will be once it is fully functional - all aspects for the rooms, decor, fittings etc are very high quality, even down to the kettle in our room which is top brand. My wife thought the door handles on the ladies toilets were wonderful - that sort of shows the attention to detail that has taken place in the fitting out.

Most people try to pinch the toiletries when they leave - we were looking through the yellow pages for 'Van Hire' in Pitlochry so we could take the bed, or at least the mattress home with us, it was unbelievably comfortable. The room was very spacious and elegantly furnished, huge bathroom with separate shower and bath.

We weren't sure if the Sandemans Restaurant or the Spa Facilites were going to be open - as it was they weren't, their delay was explained to us on arrival., didn't spoil our enjoyment.

The location of the Hotel is fantastic - less than five minute walk to the Theatre and a very pleasant and easily walked distance into Pitlochry via the dam. Great setting on the side of Loch Faskally and in October the colours in the area in general are spectacular (when the sun is out).

We ate three nights in the Brassiere and breakfasted as well - lovely food, well prepared and presented - excellent Eggs Benedict - and the Seared Salmon in the evening was so good my wife had it two nights running. The breakfast choice was great.

The service from staff was top notch and they were very friendly and helpful - one of our dislikes about some hotels we have stayed in is the staff appear to be instructed to engage in limited conversation with the guests, a bit 'upstairs/downstairs' approach. We like a good chat with the staff when we stay at hotels and certainly everyone we met were very open and happy to chat which was great.

The hotel opened in July so they are still in a bit of a learning curve - we asked if they had a feedback form when we left but they didn't so they are obviously comfortable with getting it via Trip Advisor. There were a few quirky things that we thought might have made things better - if you don't have a loch view room and want to spend some time relaxing/reading a book etc somewhere with a Loch view the only inside space you seem to be able to do this is in the Brassiere , which really isn't set up for that kind of inactivity. The lounge is in the castle itself and is front facing and quite dark. There is a room above the Brassiere which we presumed was going to be Sandemans Restaurant that has a great view but again it's not going to be suitable for relaxing.
Almost wonder if Sandemans wouldn't sit better in the current lounge, which has a very original and atmospheric feel about it. But we don't design hotel's!

Some bubble bath being provided if you have a bath would be helpful - the complimentary slippers were fine for us - size 8 and 4, but a gent with feet bigger than that would never get them on.

If you are looking to stay in a top quality hotel in the Pitlochry area, and want somewhere other than the tired traditional Pitlochry tourist hotels then Fonab fits the bill - you get what you pay for but it's well worth it.

I sense that this review is going to come up as being posted by a 'facebook' ID used to help run a local football team so for sake of confirmation that we did actually stay at Fonab our true identity is, Paul and Joan Adams.

Room Tip: Loch view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hello!

Thank you for the Sterling review.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Fonab. It's great to hear you comments regarding the food, service and bedrooms. We have worked really hard over the past 6 months to build a team who can uphold these services and its really great to hear someone praising us so highly (as many others have too). it's like a wee pat on the back!!

Regarding the tables in the Brasserie, we recognize that sometimes they are too close together and we are working on this to better space the tables. With the slippers, they come in a one size fits all however we will now be ordering a small amount of larger sizes which can be requested on check in.

Thank you once again for you comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I spent a weekend with my wife at this new hotel. First impressions were great. We were greeted by ?Megan at reception and quickly shown to our room. The room was very tastefully decorated (room 201) and was spacious and had loads of amenities and special touches. The room was a little cold initially but soon heated up when we turned up the radiators.
Nothing was too much for the staff. They were exceptionally attentive but never 'in your face'
We had a meal booked at the brasserie - the only complaint being the tables are so close to each other that there is a distinct lack of privacy. I understand that this is the way it has to be as the brasserie was virtually full.
Our stay otherwise was fantastic. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her stay and I would highly recommend this hotel for couples who are looking for that extra special occasion.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasculardoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Good evening!!

Thank you for your kind words towards the staff and especially Megan - she is a wee star! The Brasserie is a work in progress, but i am pleased that you understood why the tables were laid out this way.

regarding the heating, I have spoken with Housekeeping, and we will put it up a touch for our arrivals into the castle. we are at the stage where we are trying to find the happy medium with the temperature and constructive comments like your will help us go a long long way.

Once again thank your for the great review and kind words towards the staff and service.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just returned from a relaxing break in the beautiful Perthshire countryside where we enjoyed a few nights at the recently opened Fonab Castle.

The castle is a very attractive property refurbished to a high standard, set in beautiful grounds with fabulous views over Faskally Loch.

The standard of amenities, service and food have been set high and it seems on track to attain 5 stars.

We had a beautiful and most comfortable room in the castle, one of only four with a bath, which had luxurious furnishings, bedding and bathrobes.

The breakfast was served in the Brasserie and offered a menu with lots of choices, in addition to the usual full Fonab breakfast, there was smoked salmon scrambled eggs, eggs benedict, steak and eggs, to name a few.

We had dinner in the Brasserie, which we also enjoyed very much, see separate review. We felt the prices for food and wine were reasonable for the high standard of ingredients, cooking and service provided.

We also want to make a special mention of the management and staff for the special atmosphere they have created at this beautiful castle.

Room Tip: Can't comment about the woodland rooms, but the Castle Room we had was quiet, had a great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinglight66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Good evening to you!

Thank you so much for the great comments. We try really hard here to create a balance of luxury with relaxed service trying to make everyone feel comfortable.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your room, the Brasserie and also the service you received from our team.

Even if we don't get our 5 star rating, we will certainly treat everyone in the same relaxed but professional manner.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and i'll be sure to pass these onto all of the guys.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were very fortunate to be given an overnight stay on 19th October as a Golden Wedding gift from our family . It turned out to be a memorable stay in a lovely suite . Everything about Fonab was perfect from the excellent food in the brasserie to the beautiful view over Loch Faskally but its greatest strength lies in its wonderful professional staff who were unfailingly helpful and pleasant .We will definitely be back !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Good morning!!

Thank you for the wonderful comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed Fonab and even more pleased that our team looked after you.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I rarely review hotels but after reading some negative reviews about Fonab I was spurred on to put the record straight. I booked for early October for a night away with my husband to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel made our anniversary so special. Wonderful room for us to have a special night away with lots of really nice touches in the room. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in! Wonderful dinner in the restaurant. We were looked after by Ed (if we remember correctly?!). Not only was his service amazing both at dinner and at breakfast but I had forgotten to pack my husbands phone charger and when he heard us talking about this he said he would lend us his own personal charger. He went back at his break and brought it up to our room for us. Just one example of how the staff go out of their way to make your stay as good as possible. Both breakfast and dinner were lovely, really tasty and lots of choice. I thought our meal was very good value for money. We were so impressed hopefully our anniversary at Fonab will be repeated again next year. We couldn't recommend highly enough. If it's not 5 star I don't know what is. We rate higher than some of the big established 5 star Scottish hotels due to the cosy personal feel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geol81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Good morning!

Thanks for leaving that amazing review.

Ed is great with our customers and guests and he always will go the extra mile to help them out, so i am pleased that you have noticed this and thank you for your kind comments.

It's also great to hear that you have enjoyed your room and Brasserie experience.

We hope to see you next year for your anniversary (if not before).

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here overnight on Wednesday 23rd of October with our 10-month old son, as we were visiting the Enchanted Forest that evening in Pitlochry. We found the hotel very easily, it is just off the A9. We stayed in a lovely room (no.503) just round the corner from reception. There were patio doors leading outside, so it was easy for us to get all our bags and buggy from the car. The room was all set up for us with a cotbed, kettle and baby bath and towel. The decor was lovely and the room was very comfortable.
We had reserved a table in the brasserie for lunch and this was excellent. We had a 3-course meal with cocktails and everything was delicious. I had the cheese souffle, venison sausages, then chocolate fondant.
My husband was called away after lunch, and so I had to make my own way into Pitlochry to get the coach to the Enchanted Forest. After finding out the local taxi firm didn't have a child car seat, the assistant manager of the hotel drove my son and I into town in his car, as he had a child seat in the back. Above and beyond the call of duty.
Breakfast the next morning was also excellent. We had a few cooked items with toast, coffee, orange juice, and my husband had a strawberry smoothie too which was yummy. The brasserie has lovely views of the loch and surrounding countryside. Staff in the restaurant are very friendly.
We hope to stay here again soon so we can see more of Pitlochry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the loch, rather than the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Diva-KD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello!!

Thank you for all the wonderful comments. I'm pleased that you enjoyed Fonab and even more pleased you managed to make the enchanted forest!

We literally will do anything in our power to help our guests even if it means a lift down into Pitlochry in our cars - however i must point out it is our last resort. Saying that, i am pleased we managed to get you down there on time for the bus.

It's great that you enjoyed the room, food, cocktails, staff and facilities and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,780 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
857 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonab Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonab Castle Hotel

Property: Fonab Castle Hotel
Address: Foss Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonab Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonab Castle is a wonderful and historic building on the banks of Loch Faskally, by Pitlochry. It has been transformed by the Clark family into a fabulous and glamorous new 5 Star hotel. The hotel offers 26 bedrooms including 4 suites and a luxurious Penthouse suite (a number with loch views). The hotel brasserie and lounge provide outstanding vistas of the loch itself and Sandemans our fine dining restaurant is a tranquil setting for experiencing exquisite cuisine and fine wines. The Spa at Fonab is our brand new Spa offering a host of pampering and relaxation experiences. With Thermal Suite, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, treatment rooms and nail bar and pedicure. We look forward to welcoming you to a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fonab Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonab Castle Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing