We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Fonab Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fonab Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were only there for one night, but it was a great stay. The room was very nice, staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very good indeed and the scenery stunning! If we go back to Pitlochry we will stay here again no question.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Twobikes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent stay at Fonab Castle.

We are all delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and appreciated the amenities, food and the attentive and friendly service of the staff.

Thank you for wanting to recommend us to family and friends and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Fonab in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,891 - 1,897 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed in a castle mini suite for a three night break recently, everything was just perfect. We had a beautiful view from our windows looking over the fish ladder, lovely views in the morning with the mist coming off the water & over the surrounding hills. We ate in the restaurant and thorough enjoyed the food & service, everyone was friendly & attentive. We will certainly return once the Spa facilities are up and running and will recommend to our friends.

Only small negative was that the Owners, were visiting during our stay and they did not deem it appropriate to engage their guests in conversation apart from those guests, who chose to stop off at their table during breakfast or dinner. It would have been an ideal opportunity for them to speak to their guests & get feedback by taking the time to actually visit each table personally!,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank falkirklassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Good evening!!

Thank your for taking the time to share your views on your recent stay and experience at Fonab Castle Hotel.

We are delighted that you thoroughly your stay with us and got the chance to see the mist over Loch Faskally in the morning. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed your experience of the Brasserie with it's friendly and attentive service.

Our owners believe it is not right for them to go round the Brasserie speaking to all of our guests as they prefer to remain in the background, so they leave this up to the likes of the Restaurant Manager, Deputy General Manager and myself. They will speak to guests who approach them, but do not like to intrude on guests themselves whilst they are dining. They also do not like to be in the limelight whilst visiting the hotel as they believe we are all one team and we all have the same achievable goal in making Fonab Castle Hotel a success.

Thank you for letting us know you will recommend us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fonab in the near future and especially once our Spa is available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We seem to be forever searching for hotels in Scotland, particularly outside the central belt, that actually deliver the style, service, food, staff competence, room details and location that have been extolled in their advertising and websites. Well on Thursday last we were lucky enough to strike gold. My husband and I were in the area to attend an afternoon performance at the local theatre and again crossed our fingers and booked and overnight stay at Fonab Castle Hotel.
My initial phone call to discuss our requirements, an essential part of the process in our case as my husband is disabled, was very promising. The lady who took the booking was clearly confident in being able to offer me a number of room options that would suit our needs, but importantly allowed me to optimise our stay i.e. all our practical requirements met and a lift and a view. A rare combination we have found in past experience.
Our stay was everything we could have hoped for. The room was spotlessly clean, modern and well equipped. It was spacious with floor to ceiling windows opening onto the balcony where we were able to take in the full vista of the surrounding countryside, which is spectacular. The roomy and spacious sitting area also offered this lovely view in comfort and warmth - it is November in Scotland after all!
Dinner was excellent, with an extensive choice and a chef who knows what he is doing. Service was attentive without being intrusive and we finished a very pleasant evening with drinks in the comfortable and cosy lounge. Breakfast the following morning was equally impressive and all freshly prepared and served. No self service here, and what a refreshing change not to have to wander up and down a dining room to get juice and fresh fruit. My complements to the kitchen on my fresh fruit starter in particular - I have never had better in the UK, and our cooked mains were spot on.
This hotel well deserves credit and it is a long looked for diamond amongst the overwhelming average and rather tired, worn and far from luxury offering available elsewhere. We would recommend it to our friends and family and it will be a regular visit on our future agenda. Well done Fonab Castle and thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Talk to the hotel when you book, they will help you decide which rooms best suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sn0wy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your views concerning your recent stay at Fonab Castle. Your thoughts are integral to helping us to deliver the best service and offerings that we can.

I am particularly pleased to hear about your positive experience when you initially called the hotel. This is a very important point that cannot be replicated if a guest chooses to book via one of the online hotel reservation sites.

We are all delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the service, food and amenities of Fonab and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Fonab.

Check In as a guest and Check Out as a friend!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We were looking for a 5 star hotel for a long week-end break in Scotland. We found everything we were looking for in Fonab Castle Hotel.
The hotel was lovely, with stunning views of the Perthshire countryside in late autumn. The food was excellent, and the staff in all areas of the hotel were first class, and very pleasant, and helpful at all times. They made our stay special, taking time to speak to the guests, while giving a first class service.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to our family and friends, and we will certainly be back for another stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts after your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel.

We are all delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and again we are pleased to note that the staff were memorable for their service and friendliness, as well as you appreciating the food and our bedrooms.

Please do feel free to recommend us - this would be very much appreciated. And hopefully we look forward to welcoming you back to Fonab in the very near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed in a room in the castle for my husbands birthday,it was beautiful everything was first class, from the lovely food in the resteraunt, to the beautiful surroundings and friendly staff. One of the loveliest hotels we have stayed in. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Just fabulous!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lipstick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel.
Ii am personally delighted that you chose to stay at Fonab Castle to celebrate your husband's birthday and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

As an Inverurie boy, myself, I look forward to you recommending us and to see more friendly faces from my home town.

We all look forward to your next trip to Fonab

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We have just had two exceptional nights at Fonab Castle. As frequent travellers on business and leisure this rates very highly in our great experiences - the combination of location, views, service and quality of food creates a unique environment. The staff are particularly welcoming, friendly and attentive. Although some areas are still work in progress and it was a quiet week in Pitlochry the standards set augur well for the future. We have already booked a Spring return.
Thank you for making our wedding anniversary just perfect.

Room Tip: Castle Signature Rooms are delightful with 204 and 304 having particularly stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pottse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts concerning your recent stay at Fonab Castle and thank you for choosing us to celebrate your wedding anniversary.

We are all pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay and your comments on the friendly attentive are greatly appreciated - this seems to be fast becoming an appreciated hallmark of a stay at Fonab.

We look forward to welcoming you back in springtime.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Firstly, a big thank you to all the staff who we met who made the night we stayed extremely rememberable. The hotel and facilities are exceptional, the attention to detail is outstanding. We initially were allocated a very nicely appointed room in the new wing, we had already upgraded and were not disappointed, there was nothing wrong with this room at all it was perfect, however, the wife really wanted a room in the main castle. We spoke with Otto and he did everything he could to make our stay unforgettable. Thank you for the room in the castle, next time I will be more then happy to stay in the new rooms.

We dined in the restaurant and the food and service was excellent. We started with cocktails in the lounge while we decided what we wanted to eat. I know it was quiet with only eight residents, but the staff really made us feel welcome and treat us all as if we were the only ones in the place.

Thank you to the waiting staff who looked after us, and a really big thank you to the chef, the food was outstanding.

We had a bit of a bad start to our weeks holiday but I can assure you the last night spent at the Fonab Castle Hotel was one of the best nights I have ever had, I really mean this when I say THANK YOU.

Nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff who couldn't do enough for us, I really encourage you to treat yourselves to a visit that you won't regret, finally, thank you Otto, you made it all happen.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brunocummings344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Fonab Castle.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us - from the bedrooms, the food and the service. The attention of the staff is an area that we are very conscious off and we all work hard to give just the right level that you would expect.

I am pleased that we were able to upgrade your room so that you both got to experience the Castle's bedrooms - which we are very proud of.

Next time we get to welcome you to Fonab I am sure you will be just as delighted with the Woodland Bedrooms and Suites in the modern wing of the hotel and it will be a pleasure to look after you again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,869 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
799 reviews
22.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonab Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonab Castle Hotel

Address: Foss Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £181 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonab Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonab Castle is a wonderful and historic building on the banks of Loch Faskally, by Pitlochry. It has been transformed by the Clark family into a fabulous and glamorous new 5 Star hotel. The hotel offers 26 bedrooms including 4 suites and a luxurious Penthouse suite (a number with loch views). The hotel brasserie and lounge provide outstanding vistas of the loch itself and Sandemans our fine dining restaurant is a tranquil setting for experiencing exquisite cuisine and fine wines. The Spa at Fonab is our brand new Spa offering a host of pampering and relaxation experiences. With Thermal Suite, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, treatment rooms and nail bar and pedicure. We look forward to welcoming you to a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fonab Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonab Castle Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing