We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovingly restored with a mix of old and new”
Review of Fonab Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fonab Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
East Lothian
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“lovingly restored with a mix of old and new”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We went here for lunch on Sunday the 16th December. We had lunch in the brasserie and I have made a separate review for this on their Brasserie site. Our first impression on arrival was that it looked a fantastic building and had been lovingly restored. Was surprised that the entrance was through a modern glass fronted door that looked a bit out of character for being next to the castle part. When you go in your not entering a lavish reception area . The reception desk is very small and you could quite easily walk past it. I think this may be a problem in high season with tourists checking in and out. The lounge area was very nice and well furnished and decorated for the festive season. This room would have benefited a real log fire or wood burning stove. There was a nice open fireplace which was set with logs but this was not lit on a cold winters day.. I heard the problem for no fires was that previous owners had blocked up all the chimneys.This was such a shame as this would have been welcoming and warm. This place seems to have been restored to a high standard with beautiful fixtures and fittings. They are still working to finish the main restaurant and spa area. Views from the dining room are a delight and I think this hotel will without a doubt be heading towards a five star rating especially if they get the best of chefs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastLothianCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Good morning.

Thank you for leaving you thoughts, as a non-resident, on Fonab Castle's facilities.

The reasoning for the main castle entrance not being used as the reception is due to Disability Awareness and equality. Should we have had the reception area there, our disabled guests would not be able to access any of the Woodland Wing extension. Also as we are a listed building, we are not allowed to alter the face of the building at the front, therefore we could not provided access to disabled guests. The current reception allows access to all over the hotel as it is level with the ground, has a lift to the Woodland Rooms, Brasserie and the Lounge Areas. The current reception is also Central to all of the facilities and allows access for disabled guests to the whole hotel. We didn't need a huge reception as we only have 26 bedrooms so therefore a huge foyer would have been a loss of valuable space.

As you quite rightly said, our Chimney Stacks were all filled by the previous owners. This is very unfortunate however too costly to rectify. We are looking at alternatives to allow flame effects in the fire place in the Lounge - however we cannot use the fireplace in the original reception room as Fire Safety laws will not allow you open fire places in close proximity to Fire Exits which unfortunately the original reception room is a Fire Exit (for the main castle stair case) with the big original fireplace.

We appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,455
    253
    90
    23
    5
See reviews for
239
1,335
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My partner and I returned yesterday from our two day visit to Fonab and are still talking about it!

Can't fault anything.....fabulous room overlooking the river! We arrived in the dark so were stunned by the view when we opened the curtains in the morning!

The decor is a wonderful eclectic mix of modern and traditional....very fitting for the style of hotel, and the cleanliness is second to none....even the mirrored lift in the castle was fingerprint free for the entire duration of our stay!! Not an easy task, I imagine!!

The staff were excellent, nothing was a bother! Food, served in the brasserie, was fantastic! The Grilled Baby Chorizo from the nibbles menu, were nothing short of outstanding and we shall be attempting to prepare these ourselves as part of our own Xmas menu!!

This was a small relaxing break we had planned on the run up to a hectic family Xmas and it certainly fitted the bill! We hope to return in the future!
Thank you Fonab Castle Hotel and staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Good evening!!

Thank you for the superb review. I'm really pleased that you managed to relax prior to your family festivities!

The menu is cracking and Graham our chef works really hard with his team to create great food which is enjoyable to everyone. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the service from the Brasserie team too - I myself can't eat Mayonnaise so I'm pleased we managed to offer a different accompaniment to your King Prawns by cooking them with garlic butter and offering the sweet chilli sauce on the side.

The rooms are great and incredible value at the rates we have on at the minute - these will last until March 31st 2014.

We hope to see you again in the near future and hope you have a fantastic and not too hectic a Christmas.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Wonderfull hotel, the best loch view...
The rooms - cosy, clean, large, king size bed, smart TV
The braserie - super service, delicious food and selection of really nice wines.

It is not cheap, but the price is responding of the conditions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Good morning!

It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm pleased that we made your trip to Scotland that wee bit more enjoyable!

We look forward to seeing you again when you visit the Highlands.

Thank you for your review.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abernethy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We had lunch at Fonab before going to Pitlochry Theatre. The quality of the food was exceptional. The staff we found very friendly and helpful
We will book accommodation in the future as the whole place looks amazing. A great find.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Good morning!!

Thank you for the wonderful comments. I'm pleased to see that you found our hotel to meet your luncheon requirements. We are perfectly situated for the Theatre and have some great rates for a stay should you be back to see a show in the near future.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My wife and I sayed one night to break a trip to Inverness. We'd wanted to try Fonab for some time and were not disappointed. A castle signature room on the "Winter Warmer" offer is a great deal by anyone's standard. We ate in the Brasserie which was excellent - both having steak - the best we'd had for a long time. I hope the bar above the Brasserie is maintained as a bar and not used as the fine dining room. It would be a waste of one of the best views in Scotland. The lounge in the castle itself would be more fitting.
Staff could not have been friendlier and we had a memorable stay. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hello!

Thank you for leaving a review on our TripAdvisor page. We really appreciate all of the great comments in your review. I'll be sure to pass these onto the team.

We currently have a rough date for the switch between the George Lounge and Sandemans in January. We totally agree that the Lounge would be much better for everyone upstairs over looking Faskally and Ben Y Vrackie.

The Winter Warmer rate will run right up until March 31st 2014, so perhaps a wee stocking filler for Christmas?

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We have been eagerly awaiting the opening of Fonab and despite initial delays we most definitely were not disappointed. I booked the Fonab for 2 nights as a birthday surprise. We stayed in one of the Woodland Suites which gave us patio doors to the beautiful woodlands and river views. Words cannot quite describe the beautiful views available.
The room was extremely well appointed and quite possibly the best shower ever. We dined in the Bistro as the restaurant was not yet open, however the Bistro menu was excellent, as were the wines. Staff were friendly, knowledgeable, very professional. Whoever has been responsible for selecting the staff have done a great job, on every level from reception, concierge, restaurant were fantastic and on hand to help.
We asked for a tour of the hotel too so we could see how the castle has been restored, Otto kindly gave us a tour and the rooms in the Castle are absolutely stunning. We will be back and staying in one of those for sure - thats not to say Woodland rooms they are wonderful and we will be back to those too especially as dog was allowed in those rooms also!

We enjoyed some refreshments on the outdoor patio area overlooking the breathtaking scenery. The hotel is well located for fantastic walks, lots to choose from.

Fonab is one of my top 3 favourite hotels to stay, its luxiourious, fantastic attention to detail, wonderful food, staff, service and all whilst maintaining nice relaxing, informal atmosphere.

Room Tip: The Woodland rooms provide a balcony so you are straight to nice views, ask for river view side. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jools168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Good morning!

What a cracking review - Thanks!!

The staff are fantastic and we all work very hard to ensure that nothing is a problem for anyone. It's great to read that you enjoyed your room, the menu and the service. The Woodland Rooms are great for the views and access to outside the hotel and the grounds - even better in the summer with the balconies and patios.

Thanks once again and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Best regards

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverness
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We are just back from a night at Fonab Castle, and already planning our next visit. From the moment you step through the door you are made to feel so special. The Castle is stunning, we stayed in a Castle Signature a room, it was beautiful and so very comfortable. We ate in the Brasserie and it was one of the best meals I can remember. There is such a vast choice, there were so many dishes I wish I could have tried. A special mention has to go to the wonderful staff who can't do enough for you, and are lots of fun. They really made a great weekend extra special. So thank you Ed, Viktor and Salvadori (I hope I have got this right!). Can't wait to go back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KarsInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hello!!

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the weekend. It's great to see that the staff made an impression and i see you even managed to get your photo taken with our famous "Italian Stallion" Salvatore.

Its great that you loved the Signature Rooms and the Brasserie. Graham (Our Chef) works extreme;y hard to ensure there is a great choice on the menu and i am pleased to see that you have noticed this.

Thanks once again for your great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon hopefully.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
10.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonab Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonab Castle Hotel

Property: Fonab Castle Hotel
Address: Foss Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonab Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonab Castle is a wonderful and historic building on the banks of Loch Faskally, by Pitlochry. It has been transformed by the Clark family into a fabulous and glamorous new 5 Star hotel. The hotel offers 26 bedrooms including 4 suites and a luxurious Penthouse suite (a number with loch views). The hotel brasserie and lounge provide outstanding vistas of the loch itself and Sandemans our fine dining restaurant is a tranquil setting for experiencing exquisite cuisine and fine wines. The Spa at Fonab is our brand new Spa offering a host of pampering and relaxation experiences. With Thermal Suite, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, treatment rooms and nail bar and pedicure. We look forward to welcoming you to a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fonab Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonab Castle Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing