We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Christmas break”
Review of Fonab Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fonab Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas break”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt at home. The staff are fantastic. The rooms spacious and the views incredible.
Every meal, breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals were imaginative and very filling! Tip - pack clothes with a generous waistband!
Peter and Gary are knowledgable hosts, what they don't know about Malt Whiskey and Gin isn't worth knowing.
This was our first Christmas away from the traditional family gathering and we were a little unsure of what to expect. We needn't have worried the whole experience was beyond our expectations.
Thanks again to every member of the Fonab staff. You deserve a 5* rating. Hope to see you again in 2014!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Taylor5Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel - it was our first Christmas and so we are all truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as it was your first away from the traditional family gathering.

We remember you well and really hope that you return soon for more of the same attentive service.

Gary and I are now having to refill the Gin Palace and the Ministry of Malt as they both got good use over the Festive Period.

Looking forward to seeing you very soon in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,480
    257
    92
    23
    5
See reviews for
244
1,359
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at Fonab Castle. From the minute we arrived we were waited on hand and foot, the service was just amazing. We stayed in a suite which consisted of a bedroom, lounge and 2 bathrooms. I have been lucky enough to stay to stay in a 5 room suite in Cameron House which was amazing but even that did not have 2 smart tv's, Bluetooth speakers and the fanciest kettle I've ever seen. You can just see the quality of everything in the room and within the hotel itself, no expense has been spared.

We had 2 lovely meals, the first being the 7course tasting menu which I highly recommend, don't be thinking every course will be tiny, me and my husband left feeling stuffed and very satisfied but still managed to retire to the lounge for a few cocktails. The breakfast choice was just amazing, if we weren't still full from the night before we might just have tried the sirloin steak with eggs!!.

We travel the A9 quite often and will most definitely be coming back to stay soon or at the very least stop in for lunch or afternoon tea.

Well done Fonab, if you don't have your 5 stars already you definitely deserve them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicky123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel. We do appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience.

I am delighted that you appreciated all the touches and extras that you enjoyed in your Woodland Suite and to compare us so favourably to Cameron House Hotel is very pleasing to read. Also it was heart warming to notice how much you loved the food in our Brasserie - even though you didn't manage to have the steak and eggs for breakfast - there's always next time.

We look forward to seeing you soon as you travel the A9 even if its for Afternoon tea or even another overnight stay.

Happy New year from all of us at Fonab Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a table for seven of us on Boxing Day wasn't expecting to get a table but we did. We phoned and asked if it was possible for us to get picked up so we could all have a drink together this wasn't a problem either. The meal was fabulous with smoked salmon starter tastefully pork main course and a pina colada panna cotta with rum sorbet that was delicious. After the meal we asked if it was possible for us to see some of the rooms. We were given a guided tour of two of the castle rooms and one of the larger suites. The whole place is lovely and will only be better with the plans for more rooms spa and leisure facilities which are coming soon.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsWeatherwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and thoughts on Fonab Castle Hotel.

We were pleased that we were able to manage to get you a table on Boxing Day and that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to the Brasserie.

Our chauffeur driven Mercedes is a great little extra that ensuresd you all get to enjoy yourself and we are all delighted that you appreciated this touch in making your experience just that little bit more special at this Festive Time of the year.

The hotel will certainly be better with the spa and leisure facilities which are coming soon and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G41 5PN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed in Fonab Castle in December for 3 nights and the staff waited on us hand and foot. We took one of the castle signature rooms which overlooked Loch Faskally and the Perthshire mountains- even at this time of year the colours were gorgeous! We had booked tickets for Pitlochry Festival Theatre's Christmas show and were driven there by hotel staff and picked up too. The hotel only opened this summer and there are plans for further developments such as a Spa in the grounds which border on the Loch and River Tummel .This is well on the way to a Highland star.

Room Tip: The best views are in rooms facing onto Loch Faskally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneinglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and thoughts on your recent stay at Fonab castle Hotel.

We all agree that the colours during the Autumn and Winter are beautiful around Loch Faskally and you had a great vantage point in one of our Castle Signature Rooms.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our 'extras' with the return transfer to the Pitlochry Festival Theatre in our chauffeur driven Mercedes.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards from you future 'Highland Star'

from the management and Staff at Fonab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

we said we'd be back! today visited for Afternoon Tea with 2 other couples, a wonderful experience once again, the food, sandwiches, scones and cakes, along with the excellent service was brilliant, the professional staff, and quality of food, and wonderful surroundings helped make Boxing day special. We may have to drive 200mls round trip but it's worth every mile, our friends who live in Pitlochry will definitely be recommending Fonab to their residents.
for a romantic evening or a fun afternoon, like today the setting is just perfect. looking forward too our next visit. A pat on the back to all the staff working over the festive.

Room Tip: still got that to look forward too!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Good afternoon!

Thank you for another wonderful review. I am really glad you enjoyed your day yesterday and that you were well looked after. We appreciate you driving the 200 miles to come and visit us for afternoon tea!

The staff have worked fantastically over the festive period and have done a marvelous job. Can't fault anyone of them.

Thanks again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous overnight stay at Fonab Castle taking in a show at the theatre. The staff could not have been friendlier and more attentive, nothing was to much trouble, and we felt that they genuinely cared that our experience was of the highest order.
The room was beautiful and comfortable with a stunning view over the loch with 400 thread bedding just adding that little extra touch of luxury.
Dinner in the brasserie was delicious, our steak was,tender, tasty and cooked to perfection.
The complementary chauffeur service to the theatre also enabled the wine to flow a little to readily.

All in all a great an memorable experience.
We will return in February and experience fine dining at Sandermans which we were informed will be opened early to mid January.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clivehamlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hello!

Thank you so much for the great review! I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience at Fonab. The staff are amazing and genuinely do care and your right - nothing is too much trouble to us at all. We like our guests to enjoy their stay to the maximum during their visit to Pitlochry.

We look forward to seeing you in February!

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed bed and breakfast for one night in a Castle Signature room. The room was excellent, fitted to a high standard, great comfy bed and good bathroom. Breakfast was tremendous, lovely food served to the table. We also enjoyed a drink the bar area after seeing a show at the Festival Theatre and it was good too. We were only up for an overnight and didn't have the chance to enjoy a walk into Pitlochry but the hotel is close to the bridge that forms part of the hydro scheme (albeit the path down is probably not suitable for all). Close to the theatre too.

Would love to stay again, perhaps in one of the rooms in the new wing with a balcony overlooking the Loch - I'm sure it would be ace in the summer.

Staff were great. Hope this hotel keeps up the high standards.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Good afternoon!!

Thank you for the cracking review.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your room, food and services during your recent stay with us.

The Woodland Rooms are amazing in the summer with the balconies. Rates are up for these rooms on our website just now.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,753 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
846 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonab Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonab Castle Hotel

Property: Fonab Castle Hotel
Address: Foss Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonab Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonab Castle is a wonderful and historic building on the banks of Loch Faskally, by Pitlochry. It has been transformed by the Clark family into a fabulous and glamorous new 5 Star hotel. The hotel offers 26 bedrooms including 4 suites and a luxurious Penthouse suite (a number with loch views). The hotel brasserie and lounge provide outstanding vistas of the loch itself and Sandemans our fine dining restaurant is a tranquil setting for experiencing exquisite cuisine and fine wines. The Spa at Fonab is our brand new Spa offering a host of pampering and relaxation experiences. With Thermal Suite, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, treatment rooms and nail bar and pedicure. We look forward to welcoming you to a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Fonab Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonab Castle Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing