We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ryan”
Review of Fonab Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fonab Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just spent the night at this hotel on18th jan2014. We stayed in the woodlands room over looking the picturesque loch. The rooms were beautifully decorated and well presented. If you enjoy a hotel with a relaxed feel, where they serve excellent food and well made drinks then you'll love this place. The staff were friendly and attentive when you needed them to be. I couldn' find any fault with this hotel you won't be disappointed if you decide to go.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review following on from your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel.

I am really pleased that you loved and appreciated staying in one of our Woodland Rooms in the modern wing of the hotel. These are some of my favourite rooms and suites within the hotel.

The relaxed feel to the hotel is something we work hard to achieve - giving a luxury hotel experience, without the formality that is found in many other establishments. We all want our guests to feel 'at home' and one of the family.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future so you can again enjoy all we have to offer.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,864 - 1,870 of 2,044 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

We spent 3 nights at Fonab Castle between Christmas & New Year on route from Fife to Inverness. The location is perfect, just off the A9 but within easy walking distance of the town centre and with the Festival Theatre just about on the doorstep on the doorstep. We stayed in a castle signature room at first floor level and enjoyed panoramic views across the loch which was such a bonus when we opened the curtains each morning. The castle has been refurbished to a very high standard and in keeping with the age and ambience of the original building whilst the new restaurant and accommodation wing has been conceived sympathetically to blend with the castle and its surroundings. We ate every night in the brasserie restaurant and discovered enough choice and variety in the menu to satisfy us - the staff were excellent and worked very hard - many of them we saw both at breakfast and dinner. We also enjoyed the amazing variety of gins and took the opportunity to try something new. All in all a great break and we look forward to returning in the future when the spa facilities and 2nd restaurant are open - if we can get in......I suspect that this hotel will become a very popular destination!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a castle signature room with a corner turret window overlooking the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotscowgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following on from your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel, between Christmas and New Year.

Your room choice of the Castle Signature Room with views overlooking Loch Faskally. These rooms are certainly the 'essence' of Fonab and the care and attention that went into their design is not only very apparent in the beautiful decor but also very well attested by the favourable comments from our guests.

Again we are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your meals in our Brasserie - with the extensive variety to choose from complimented by the friendly and attentive service of our staff.

The great selection (over 50) of gins is something that we are very proud of and I am sure you will see some new additions when you next return to Fonab Castle.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fonab so that you can enjoy our new Spa and the opening of the Fine Dining Restaurant.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had initially planned on a 2 night stay at the beginning of January and decided to stay on another night as we were so happy with the hotel / time we were having (we were lucky enough to get the last room available for the extra night!)

The rooms are fantastic and every member of staff was friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgeable about the hotel and surrounding areas. We had breakfast and evening meal at the restaurant each night and the menu is varied and food was of the highest quality each time. 'The Gin Palace' is a must try in the bar with a wide selection to choose from and relax withn in the evenings.

We had a great time and will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and comments on your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel.

We are all delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay - so much in fact, that you extended your stay!

Again you mention the friendly and attentive staff as well as the delicious food in the Brasserie - we are all pleased you enjoyed and appreciated it.

The Gin Palace is Gary's pride and joy and makes sure he has as large a selection for you to choose from as possible and the more you choose the more you relax! Can't wait for you to return so that you can see some new gin additions as well as some TLC from the staff.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We booked the three day Festive Break and from the moment we arrived early on Christmas Eve, (and were told our rooms were available) until our departure, we experienced the most wonderful setting, amazing luxury and above all, the friendliest and most attentive staff. To all the previous reviews, we say 'ditto' - but I have one little bit to add. I saw the assistant manager Gary, laying the tables for Christmas Dinner wearing white gloves - so no smears on the glass wear here - just our kind of place.
There is so much I could write about about Fonab but reader, why not see for yourself!
From start to finish, this was an unforgettable Christmas Break and one we hope to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Fonab Castle and sharing with us our very first Christmas. We all had as much fun as the guests did!

It certainly was a great package for you all with the Gin O'Clock, Whisky Tasting, Travels with a Terrier round Lock Faskally, not to mention all the Afternoon Teas, Dinners, Breakfasts and Lunches.

We are absolutely delighted that you appreciated the attentive service of the staff and your little insight into our attention to detail of Gary, our Deputy Manager, wearing the white gloves speaks volumes to the care and attention that goes on behind the scenes as well as out front.

We do hope to see you again very soon, but in the mean time we wish you a Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Fantastic room from the great view to the decor and massive shower head! Dinner was great never had such a fantastic chicken Kiev. Breakfast great to with massive choice and as much as you wanted. Will definitely be back to try tasting menu with wine in the future. Staff all lovely and made time to talk to you.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank aileenharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments following on from your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel.

We are all pleased that you loved and appreciated our bedrooms and suites - especially the big shower heads, they really are great.

Again, you mention the food and the attentive service that you received in our Brasserie - one of the hallmarks of a stay at Fonab - so thank you for sharing and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future to try the new Sandemans Fine Dining Restaurant.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Birthday night for my husband. Once again a wonderful and warm greeting meets you here. Staff excellent and most curtious. Rooms were as expected, of the highest standard imaginable. Meals were delicious, both at dinner and breakfast with service second to none. Big thank you to Otto who kindly drove us into the town and came back for us. I will definately recommend the Fonab to more of our friends. Cant wait to stay again. Ten out of ten to all staff, well done x

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you so much for leaving a review of your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel and many happy returns to your husband.

I am delighted that you found the staff service to be excellent and courteous and that our bedroom and suite standards were up to your high expectations.

Our chauffeur driven Mercedes is certainly making a big impact and glad we were able to help you out on your visit into Pitlochry town.

We are also glad you loved the meals you had and look forward to welcoming you back when the Fine Dining opens in the very near future so that you can enjoy some of our new offerings for 2014.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Just returned from my second stay at this fantastic hotel. My wife and I spent a weekend here in November last year, and we had such a great time that we booked a second stay with our families to celebrate my dads birthday.

From the moment you enter the property just off the A9, everything about this hotel just oozes quality and class - from the Castle itself to the grounds, the interior decor and the food on offer.

If you're looking for a hotel in Pitlochry look no further than Fonab Castle - you won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: I'd recommend staying in the rooms in the original Castle - the room we had gave fantastic views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paranoid_android81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following your second visit to Fonab Castle Hotel.

Many happy returns to your dad and we are all so glad you all enjoyed your return visit - we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so that you can see all the new facilities that we are premiering in 2014.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,875 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
801 reviews
22.3 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonab Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonab Castle Hotel

Address: Foss Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £182 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonab Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonab Castle is a wonderful and historic building on the banks of Loch Faskally, by Pitlochry. It has been transformed by the Clark family into a fabulous and glamorous new 5 Star hotel. The hotel offers 26 bedrooms including 4 suites and a luxurious Penthouse suite (a number with loch views). The hotel brasserie and lounge provide outstanding vistas of the loch itself and Sandemans our fine dining restaurant is a tranquil setting for experiencing exquisite cuisine and fine wines. The Spa at Fonab is our brand new Spa offering a host of pampering and relaxation experiences. With Thermal Suite, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, treatment rooms and nail bar and pedicure. We look forward to welcoming you to a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fonab Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonab Castle Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing