We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good service, needs attention to minor details.”
Review of Fonab Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fonab Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location, good service, needs attention to minor details.”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

It's hard to be negative about this hotel, so much of it was amazing, but...

There was one receptionist, who was always grumpy, one porter who was simply amazing and would do anything and everything for us. Sometimes staff were difficult to find, I suspect that was due to the quite season to be honest.

The food was excellent, although at times you felt that form was taking over from function - i.e. crockery was nice but difficult to use!

Room was beautifully appointed and decorated, and yet missed such basic items as a mirror with power sockets for my wife to dry her hair / use hair straighteners or a toilet that looked amazing but was so uncomfortable to sit on. I especially liked the coffee expresso maker that they pointedly mention on their website, you are given two sachets (I'm sure more are available but come on...) and a cup that does fit on the stand! We asked for a DVD player, we wanted to chilax in the room catching up on NCIS, but they are, to quote them, "Not compatible with our TV's"! Top tip, don't lie with BS ;)

You really feel like nobody who works there has ever stayed there, our next hotel The Malmaison in Edinburgh, wasn't as well appointed or as well serviced but their suite simply worked better.

So much potential - so much to fix and get right - but it's only been open six months so give it time!

Would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E1w00dB1ue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for the review and for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel.

I am sorry that you did not find some of our staff up to the level of service and friendliness that we expect and I thank you for bringing this to my attention.

We are delighted that you found our food to be excellent and the crockery (all Villeroy and Boch) may need a few tweaks so as to be more compatible with the dishes that are being served, we agree on this with you.

Our bedrooms and suites are always being complimented for the high level of amenities and the high standard of decor and to my knowledge all rooms have mirrors - both dressing table and full length and that electrical sockets are provided close by, as are high quality hair driers. we will certainly look into this fact from the room that you were in and rectify if this is not the case. We are also pleased you appreciated our Nespresso coffee makers and like all amenities in the bedroom if you had required more or a certain type provided, then all our guests need to do is ask and we will happily cede to your requests and have them provided.

The bedrooms are all thoroughly tested by the management as well as the owners and the services tried before and after they had been installed. I have to say that I am at a loss as to you finding our toilets uncomfortable, they are of a more round than oval shape but that does not detract from their purpose or form. Indeed our owner thinks they are the most comfortable 'thrones' to use.

The DVD that was supplied for you had only a scart connection - this older DVD player had been provided by one of the members of staff, as your request was a last minute affair. Our televisions have only a HDMI connection - hence the two were 'not compatible' Not BS but simple fact - best to have let us know of your requirements prior so that we could have made sure that everything was as you would have wanted. Alternatively you could have used the Smart technology of the television to have watched the NCIS online.

Thank you for taking the time to bring your thoughts to our attention, allowing us to continually evaluate what we have to offer. As you say, we have only been open 6 months and so it is difficult to compare us against other hotels that have been open and running for years. We all have to start somewhere.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fonab Castle in the near future so you can see that we are continually improving and making sure that all our guests are looked after.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,508
    263
    96
    24
    5
See reviews for
253
1,385
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just back from a lovely weekend in Fonab Castle. It is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. From start to finish it was five star all the way. We had not even pulled up to the hotel and we were met at the car and relieved of our cases. Rooms are spotless and we were lucky to have a view over the river. Stunning. Breakfast was first class and was served fresh to your table. No buffet here, The quality of food was amazing and if I was going to be picky I would say the only thing I did not like was the sitting in rows. However, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will definately be going back, A real wee gem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sscottishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at Fonab Castle.

I am pleased to see that you were well looked after from the moment you arrived and that you enjoyed the lovely view of the river from your bedroom.

Again you mention our breakfast and appreciate the fact that everything is served to the table. originally we did do a buffet breakfast, but from the comments and ideas that we received from our guests we decided to change to a full service - this makes for a much better dining experience as well as ensuring that all food is freshly prepared to order.

We are all delighted that you thought Fonab Castle to be one of the best hoytels that you have stayed in and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as part of a birthday treat.

As has been described the hotel is stunning with beautiful rooms and a high level of amenities. Food is stunning and the breakfast has to be one of the best breakfasts I have ever had.
Staff are friendly and genuinely appear to want to make your stay enjoyable.

So good to see another great hotel opening in a beautiful area. The views when dining are fantastic. Highly recommend and would give it an excellent if the Spa and leisure facilities were open and to the same standard.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElginAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts after your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel.

We are all delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the bedrooms and suites along with all the high end amenities that they have to offer.

Again, I note that you mention our breakfasts as a standout feature - from the full Fonab breakfast through to Steak and eggs, or homemade smoothies, we have something for everyone. All served by the attentive and friendly staff.

The build on the new Spa has already been started and we assure you that it will most certainly be to the same high standard as the rest of Fonab Castle Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back so that you can enjoy this new amenity that we have to offer.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Just spent the night at this hotel on18th jan2014. We stayed in the woodlands room over looking the picturesque loch. The rooms were beautifully decorated and well presented. If you enjoy a hotel with a relaxed feel, where they serve excellent food and well made drinks then you'll love this place. The staff were friendly and attentive when you needed them to be. I couldn' find any fault with this hotel you won't be disappointed if you decide to go.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review following on from your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel.

I am really pleased that you loved and appreciated staying in one of our Woodland Rooms in the modern wing of the hotel. These are some of my favourite rooms and suites within the hotel.

The relaxed feel to the hotel is something we work hard to achieve - giving a luxury hotel experience, without the formality that is found in many other establishments. We all want our guests to feel 'at home' and one of the family.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future so you can again enjoy all we have to offer.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We spent 3 nights at Fonab Castle between Christmas & New Year on route from Fife to Inverness. The location is perfect, just off the A9 but within easy walking distance of the town centre and with the Festival Theatre just about on the doorstep on the doorstep. We stayed in a castle signature room at first floor level and enjoyed panoramic views across the loch which was such a bonus when we opened the curtains each morning. The castle has been refurbished to a very high standard and in keeping with the age and ambience of the original building whilst the new restaurant and accommodation wing has been conceived sympathetically to blend with the castle and its surroundings. We ate every night in the brasserie restaurant and discovered enough choice and variety in the menu to satisfy us - the staff were excellent and worked very hard - many of them we saw both at breakfast and dinner. We also enjoyed the amazing variety of gins and took the opportunity to try something new. All in all a great break and we look forward to returning in the future when the spa facilities and 2nd restaurant are open - if we can get in......I suspect that this hotel will become a very popular destination!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a castle signature room with a corner turret window overlooking the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotscowgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following on from your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel, between Christmas and New Year.

Your room choice of the Castle Signature Room with views overlooking Loch Faskally. These rooms are certainly the 'essence' of Fonab and the care and attention that went into their design is not only very apparent in the beautiful decor but also very well attested by the favourable comments from our guests.

Again we are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your meals in our Brasserie - with the extensive variety to choose from complimented by the friendly and attentive service of our staff.

The great selection (over 50) of gins is something that we are very proud of and I am sure you will see some new additions when you next return to Fonab Castle.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fonab so that you can enjoy our new Spa and the opening of the Fine Dining Restaurant.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had initially planned on a 2 night stay at the beginning of January and decided to stay on another night as we were so happy with the hotel / time we were having (we were lucky enough to get the last room available for the extra night!)

The rooms are fantastic and every member of staff was friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgeable about the hotel and surrounding areas. We had breakfast and evening meal at the restaurant each night and the menu is varied and food was of the highest quality each time. 'The Gin Palace' is a must try in the bar with a wide selection to choose from and relax withn in the evenings.

We had a great time and will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and comments on your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel.

We are all delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay - so much in fact, that you extended your stay!

Again you mention the friendly and attentive staff as well as the delicious food in the Brasserie - we are all pleased you enjoyed and appreciated it.

The Gin Palace is Gary's pride and joy and makes sure he has as large a selection for you to choose from as possible and the more you choose the more you relax! Can't wait for you to return so that you can see some new gin additions as well as some TLC from the staff.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We booked the three day Festive Break and from the moment we arrived early on Christmas Eve, (and were told our rooms were available) until our departure, we experienced the most wonderful setting, amazing luxury and above all, the friendliest and most attentive staff. To all the previous reviews, we say 'ditto' - but I have one little bit to add. I saw the assistant manager Gary, laying the tables for Christmas Dinner wearing white gloves - so no smears on the glass wear here - just our kind of place.
There is so much I could write about about Fonab but reader, why not see for yourself!
From start to finish, this was an unforgettable Christmas Break and one we hope to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Fonab Castle and sharing with us our very first Christmas. We all had as much fun as the guests did!

It certainly was a great package for you all with the Gin O'Clock, Whisky Tasting, Travels with a Terrier round Lock Faskally, not to mention all the Afternoon Teas, Dinners, Breakfasts and Lunches.

We are absolutely delighted that you appreciated the attentive service of the staff and your little insight into our attention to detail of Gary, our Deputy Manager, wearing the white gloves speaks volumes to the care and attention that goes on behind the scenes as well as out front.

We do hope to see you again very soon, but in the mean time we wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,783 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
859 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
764 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonab Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonab Castle Hotel

Property: Fonab Castle Hotel
Address: Foss Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonab Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonab Castle is a wonderful and historic building on the banks of Loch Faskally, by Pitlochry. It has been transformed by the Clark family into a fabulous and glamorous new 5 Star hotel. The hotel offers 26 bedrooms including 4 suites and a luxurious Penthouse suite (a number with loch views). The hotel brasserie and lounge provide outstanding vistas of the loch itself and Sandemans our fine dining restaurant is a tranquil setting for experiencing exquisite cuisine and fine wines. The Spa at Fonab is our brand new Spa offering a host of pampering and relaxation experiences. With Thermal Suite, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, treatment rooms and nail bar and pedicure. We look forward to welcoming you to a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fonab Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonab Castle Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing