We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Fonab Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fonab Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Booked in for a few days on our wedding anniversary. Right from the start we were impressed by the hotel. Check in was fast and efficient with Alan the concierge taking our bags to the room. He took the time and gave us a brief look at the Brasserie, lounge, Gin bar . He took the time to explain all of the quality equipment in the room from the Nespresso machine, Bluetooth radio and went and collected fresh milk for our tea and coffee. He was an ambassador for the hotel, well done. The room was fantastic, excellent linen, robes, slippers, quality toiletries. Very well decorated and a Phillips smart TV on the wall. Huge bed, Very very comfortable.
The view from the balcony was breathtaking with a fantastic view of the loch.
The food was fantastic, so refreshing to have breakfast cooked for you rather than the standard buffet breakfast. Incredible choices for breakfast. What a fantastic choice as well the Brioche french toast and streaky bacon was outstanding as was the cooked breakfast. Portions were more than adequate. Dinner was quite simply outstanding, Best Fillet steak and chips I've had in a very long time, wife just loved the duck.
What can I say about the staff other than every one of them was superb. From check in to check out it would be extremely difficult to pick a single fault with any one of them. They were always attentive, nothing was a bother and I was so impressed with their attention to detail including my wife's dietary requirements. Well done! The Spa is not quite finished (probably about September 2014) but I will certainly be returning very soon. The quality of the fixtures and fittings was impressive, the lounge is so peaceful with outstanding views of the loch.
This place is as good as any 5 star hotel I have stayed in but the welcome and feel of an exclusive and intimate boutique hotel. I wish them every success in the future. I will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Room at the back with the spectacular views of the Loch are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Good afternoon Alex M!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a fantastic review regarding your visit to Fonab Castle.

it's great to hear that your enjoyed all of our in room amenities and the was the staff looked after you.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,989 - 1,995 of 2,203 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Had 2 nights in the hotel and agree that it is very high standard. If the leisure complex was operational then I would have no hesitation in classing it as 5 star.
We had a Woodland Suite with all the accessories that I would expect.
The nespresso coffee machine was welcome and I enjoyed using the sound system to play music from my iPod. Did have a small problem getting my iPad to connect to the free wifi but not of any significance.
The breakfasts were table service and high quality with plenty choice.
Had dinner both nights and again table service was first class.
We walked to the town in about 10 minutes but the path was a bit muddy, don't see how they could overcome this so if you want to walk to town then wear flat soled shoes.

Room Tip: We had a Woodland suite overlooking the car park and facing south. If we return I would prefer havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StewartFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following on from your recent stay with us at Fonab Castle Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over the two nights and that you found everything up to your expectations - especially the Nespresso machine - one of my favourite guest amenities too.

Our new Spa will soon be open and like you we are all looking forward to offering this new additional service to our guests and offering them an even better choice of things to do in and around the Castle.

I will pass on your comments to the rest of the staff about the service and cuisine you received in the Brasserie and I am sure they will be thrilled to be so appreciated.

Good point in wearing appropriate shoes for taking the back path by loch Faskally into town and a good tip for those who would like to take the bracing walk right round the loch from our grounds and back via the Pitlochry dam.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Was taken by wife for a stay for my birthday this year. The room in the castle section was spacious and very comfortable with large en suite.
Great views from room and the Food in brasserie was excellent. If you like Gin, they have an excellent selection in the Gin Palace, also cocktails prepared were fab. Would highly recommend it. Will be better when Spa is completed.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lassothemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following on from your recent stay with us at Fonab Castle Hotel.

We were all delighted that your wife chose Fonab as a birthday treat for you and that the hotel lived up to your expectations and you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and the cuisine in the Brasserie, with its beautiful views over loch Faskally.

Our Gin Palace certainly is a popular part of the Fonab experience and we hope you get to partake again when you return to Fonab Castle, which we all hope will be very soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, stayed in a castle room which was beautiful and very new looking. Breakfast was excellent, dinner in brasserie was fab and bar was lovely. Great staff and a 10 min walk in to town. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jammy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your review and for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay in the castle room and that you had a great time in the Brasserie and our lounge bar on the first floor.

We cannot wait to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This place is great. Beautiful scenery and first class character, design and quality of fixtures and fittings.

A great deal of thought has gone into this hotel and it shows. However we did have issues and this is why we have rated 1 below 5.

We arrived to find that the suite we had booked online with late rooms was already occupied and no other suite was available. Space was important to us as we were staying with our children aged 6 and 7, however, hats off to Megan on reception and Alan who were really helpful and did everything possible to sort an alternative solution.

The staff are mostly very very helpful and child friendly. However there were some contradictions.

The hotel does not have a children's menu, and although we had my daughters birthday lunch here it put us off eating in the hotel at night. We raised the question of children's food before being seated at the table. we were offered the option of having something made up for the children, but it was stated in a way that implied if really necessary. I can fully appreciate the ambience of the hotel does not want to be spoilt by too many children running around, however they have family suites, and in fairness the vast majority of staff were fantastic with our children. But it often felt as if there was a conflict between the two ?

I would not want this to put anyone off staying here though as it is a very lovely hotel that is certainly worth a visit. You get the impression from other reviews that whilst everything may not be exceptional on every occasion, they listen and will continue to strive for excellence when ever possible.

Minor final comment. The lunch party had 3 bottles of wine and only once was it poured by waiter on first bottle. Simple issue but should have been better than that.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank abr08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent stay with us at Fonab castle Hotel.

I am delighted that you found the hotel, its design and quality and the surrounding scenery to be up to the standard you expected and that you appreciated all the thought that has gone into Fonab Castle Hotel.

We are sorry that you did not get the suite that you had originally booked. This was caused by another party arriving who also had children which were younger than your own and in accommodating them we had to move your requested room type. Not an ideal situation, we agree, but we really appreciated your understanding in the matter and in the alternative solution of the two rooms.

We do not, you are correct, have a children's menu. However we will always accommodate any meal requests that we can - be it 1/2 portions from any of our menus, or items from the menus made simpler to accommodate for taste or we will even cook specially to order for those who have requirements different from the menu or with special dietary requirements. Our staff are very child friendly and do and will go out of their way for special requests and requirements.

You are quite correct , in that, we do listen and continue to strive for excellence when ever possible and through such enlightened comments as yours we learn and improve all the time.

On your final comment concerning the wine, we do offer first pour in our brasserie as it is the informal restaurant that we have. Pouring wine throughout the meal is a hallmark of fine dining and this is always done in Sandemans on the Loch Fine Dining Restaurant. In the Brasserie the staff know to pour the wine at the start of the meal and again if they can but it is not one of the set standards as some guests have mentioned that they prefer it not to be done as they find it intrusive in casual dining. But we will continue to monitor and adapt our standards to the needs of the customer.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

There were many positives such as the beautiful scenery, the modern decor, the food in the brasserie and some of the helpful staff.

One main negative is the receptionist who "greeted"us. She didn't welcome us or have anymore of a conversation than she absolutely had to.

In our first room the tv didn't work and she was verging on rude when we spoke to her about it.

The concierge who dealt with the tv was very helpful and lovely to deal with but the receptionist definitely left a sour taste in the mouth.

Around the hotel there are a few things which we put down to teething problems, like the broken tv, the leaking sink in our 2nd room, the spa being built and building materials in the grounds.

With a warm welcome this could be a really lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Good afternoon.

Thank you for your comments.

I have spoken to the Reception team regarding this issue and we have rectified this. The TV has been fixed. The fault was due to a faulty internet cable which will not allow the TV to work if the internet cannot connect to the TV (all of our channels are beamed in via WiFi so if the cable isn't in the back of the TV it will not work). This was found the next morning to be the case and we now have our Housekeeping team checking that all sockets and connections are in place before returning a room as cleaned.

We are in the midst of building our Spa and a decking area out over the bank of the loch. Unfortunately, i have to disagree with materials lying around everywhere. Last week there were wooding decking panels neatly stacked at the side of the castle on the grass for the decking and a construction team building the spa in a fenced off and contained area. I would say neither of these issues were teething problems. The leaking sink has been rectified however and definitely may have been a teething problem.

We'd like to thank you once again for your comments and we hope to see you in again.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We were greeted by Alan the concierge with a welcomed umbrella at our car on a wet scottish day. The castle is set in a beautiful part of Perthshire and has been renovated to a very high standard.. On checking in the reception desk is very underwhelming and set in a dark alcove in a small porch. Not at all the grandeur of a five star establishment.
We had booked a woodland suite in the new annexe. The room had a separate sitting room with a bedroom and two bathrooms. The fittings were all of an exceptional quality. Alan showed us around our room then brought us fresh milk and homemade shortbread. Not sure where the fresh fruit was which is in the room description? The bed was to die for so comfortable and the shower is a real power shower! Had a peek at the standard rooms overlooking the loch. I would definitely book one next time as our suite overlooks the car park and I wouldn't like sitting out in the patio in the summer. Plus the standard rooms are cheaper with a nicer view.
We had a beautiful meal in brasserie. High praise for the chefs they did a wonderful job as did the young restaurant manager serving us. Restaurant five stars.
Unfortunately our sleep was a little disturbed by a crying baby in the room next door in the night and a barking dog in the room across the corridor. Nothing that the hotel could do anything about just our bad luck.
It was nice to sit for breakfast in the brasserie and enjoy the loch view. Again the service and food was 5 star.
It's very obvious that the staff are well trained and happy working at Fonab Castle they are a real credit to the management.
Fonab castle is a beautiful place but not sure I would rate it a 5 star establishment as I have stayed in 5 star hotels in Far East and Middle East and it doesn't compare but we will definitely be back once the building work finished and the new spa opened.
Thank you Fonab team for making our stay very comfortable.

Room Tip: Book the loch view room don't both paying extra for the woodland suite as they look on to the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geminicat-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Good afternoon!

We appreciate you leaving an amazing review on our TripAdvisor page.

Most 5* hotels have the grandeur due to being older buildings, however, we have small castle in which we were restricted to what we could use certain areas for due to the building being listed. The reception had to be in the new wing due to disability equality and the laws preventing us changing the facing of the main castle building (i.e. we couldn't use the main castle doors as we could not input a ramp for wheelchair users of people who have mobility issues).

I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed the food and service at both dinner and breakfast the following morning. I speak on behalf of the Senior Management team when i say the staff are a credit to us and we work tirelessly to constantly train and adapt service to suit everybody,

The rooms are of a very high standard and all of the fixtures are fittings are amazing! We are sorry to hear about the dog and baby crying, but it's refreshing to see a customer understand that as a hotel we cannot do to much about this situation. So thank you for that comment.

All in all we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,984 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
952 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 17 in Pitlochry
823 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green Park Hotel
The Green Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Pitlochry
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonab Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonab Castle Hotel

Address: Foss Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £168 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonab Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonab Castle is a wonderful and historic building on the banks of Loch Faskally, by Pitlochry. It has been transformed by the Clark family into a fabulous and glamorous new 5 Star hotel. The hotel offers 26 bedrooms including 4 suites and a luxurious Penthouse suite (a number with loch views). The hotel brasserie and lounge provide outstanding vistas of the loch itself and Sandemans our fine dining restaurant is a tranquil setting for experiencing exquisite cuisine and fine wines. The Spa at Fonab is our brand new Spa offering a host of pampering and relaxation experiences. With Thermal Suite, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, treatment rooms and nail bar and pedicure. We look forward to welcoming you to a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fonab Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonab Castle Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing