We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fonab Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fonab Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

What an absolutely fantastic find!. From initial booking enquiry to checking out, I received excellent, professional service of the highest level. The Castle and Annexe Rooms are beautifully furnished to very high standards. Attention to detail is second to none. Breakfast and Dinner in the Brasserie were amazing. (The Ox Cheek main was to die for!) Staff were so very pleasant and wonderfully attentive without being intrusive. Luxury through and through without the stuffiness of many other higher class hotels:) We will definitely recommend to everyone we know and so look to revisiting when the spa is up and running.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjr666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at Fonab Castle.

We are all delighted that you loved our bedrooms, their decor and all the amenities that we provide in them. A lot of thought and care has gone in to choosing them all and your appreciation is greatly welcomed.

Also we are heartened to read that you loved the food and service within our Brasserie - from the dinners in the evening, through to our breakfast and all delivered with our hallmark service of friendly yet unobtrusive staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future- so that you can again experience the Fonab touch and enjoy our new Spa when it opens up later this year.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    223
    81
    21
    3
See reviews for
218
1,234
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay in Fonab Castle.
After a stressful few weeks and an amazing wedding the idea was that we would get away for a couple of nights together to recharge and relax as our honeymoon is not until May.
From our very arrival we were overwhelmed by beautiful hotel and luxurious surrounds, which was only surpassed by the warm welcome we received from the staff.
The room is tastefully decorated and thoughtfully appointed, the bed was beyond belief in terms of comfort.
Breakfast selection is fabulous as are the views from the brassiere restaurant. Dinner is nothing short of delicious each night, cooked to perfection – we did not want to come home.
The extras we enjoyed a champagne afternoon tea, which was amazing and my now husband had arranged for us to be welcomed with chocolate dipped strawberries in our room – totally worth every penny.
The entire hotel is beautiful; the lounge boasts lovely views and a particularly great, cocktail, whisky and gin selection.
All this beauty and luxury is only surpassed by the amazing staff who could not do enough for us, they are welcoming, helpful and friendly. They are prepared to go above and beyond expectations to ensure a wonderful stay.
We are so happy with this hotel experience before we left we booked for our first wedding anniversary next year.
I cannot believe it has not been rated 5 star……….yet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LATales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Fonab Castle after your recent MiniMoon!

We all remember you very well and are delighted that we helped to make your perfect day finish on such a upbeat and memorable note.

I am delighted that you loved your beautifully decorated room with all the thoughtful amenities as well as the friendly yet attentive staff who all helped to look after you both.

Again i was pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your meals with us in the Brasserie - from the full breakfasts through to dinner at night - all enhanced by the care and attention of our staff.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary, but if you can squeeze in another visit before that we would be delighted - chocolate dipped strawberries at the ready!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I cannot fault our stay at the Fonab. We stayed in the Woodland Suite and despite the room facing the car park, we couldn't hear any traffic noise or were we bothered by the new.

The suites are a good size and we loved the "his and hers" bathrooms! The showers are amazing and the Nespresso machine was a great idea in the room.

Pre-dinner cocktails in the lounge were delicious and Darren our barman was excellent given we asked for drinks he had never made!

On Saturday we had the 7 course fine dining menu. I am still thinking about it! I entertain clients a lot in Edinburgh and have eaten in a few Michelin Star places and the food at the Fonab is on a par if not better. Highlights were the scallops, seabass and melt in the mouth fillet beef. Dinner on the Sunday was in the Brasserie and the food was as good. The monkfish curry was divine.

The Fonab serves the best breakfast. I liked the idea of not having a buffet but treating breakfast like a proper sit down meal is a great idea. My husband ate the Sirloin Steak and Eggs and he's still raving about it. It's little touches like this that make The Fonab stand out.

Staff are very friendly and attentive and the location of the hotel is ideal to take advantage of the local walks.

We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebR1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments on your recent stay at Fonab Castle.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our Woodland Suites and appreciated all the amenities such as the tropical rainfall power showers and the Nespresso coffee machine.

Your thoughts on the quality of the cuisine that we offer from Sandemans on the Loch Fine Dining is very helpful considering that you entertain out in quality establishments and such comments certainly let our kitchen brigade know they are heading in the correct direction as well as informing our other guests. Like you, I also love the scallops and the fillet of beef.

We thought long and hard over what we offer for breakfast and decided against the easy option of the buffet - and the comments from guests show that not only is our a la carte breakfasts really appreciated but that the choice that we offer is also recognised as being far and beyond what is usually offered in many hotels. But like you we think that breakfast is very important as a set up to the day as well as a showcase to the quality of the hotel.

Our team of friendly staff all look forward to welcoming you back to Fonab Castle Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from Fonab Castle which he won on a website over Christmas. The Castle is perfect and no corners have been cut. The room is totally 5*. We had a woodland room with a balcony and a view across the loch. We had the most comfortable bed I have ever stayed in. It was the little touches that made it so special such as the nespreseo machine, the light in the walk in wardrobe and the attention to detail on the decor. The breakfast also lived up to expectation. We had a gorgeous smoothy to start and then the full works, looking out over the loch. We would like to give a special mention to Mike who went our of his way to make our trip special. We will be returning hopefully later in the year when the spa is open!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Good morning!!

Thank you for leaving a review on our TripAdvisor page. We appreciate all of the kind comments and are glad you that enjoyed your stay with us here at Fonab.

We believe the wee touches and the staff go a long way to making the guest experience the best it can be and we are pleased that this helped make your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My friend & I are away for a couple of nights on a girlie break in Pitlochry. We had heard about the Fonab Castle Hotel and made a point of finding it. We arrived at 4.30 to see what was on offer, intending that we may have an afternoon tea there before leaving on Wednesday. We were warmly greeted by Ian who offered to show us around. We asked to see the menus for a future visit and were encouraged to take our time and sit in the beautiful lounge/bar area. It is a lovely space with a spectacular view of the river. The large windows and gas fires on the tables add to the luxurious feel.
Having studied the menus and liking what we saw we decided to enjoy a glass of wine. There was a great selection to indulge in. As time went pleasantly by we chose to also eat in the brasserie. Delicious food and relaxed atmosphere. On paying the bill we asked the best route to walk back into the centre, the gentleman explained that it would be quite dark on the path down to the dam crossing but offered us a lift back in the hotels mini bus. Our driver was Ian who had given us such a friendly welcome. We are both planning to take our husbands for a return visit. Thank you to all the staff who were warm and friendly and made our visit so enjoyable.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hazel m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Good afternoon Hazel m m.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review on our page.

We are pleased to see that you were well looked after and enjoyed the beautiful scenery and facilities the hotel has to offer. The staff are wonderful and enjoy looking after our guests.

We look forward to seeing both yourselves and your husbands in the future. Please call us directly on 01796 470 140 for the Best Available Rates,

Kind regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I just spent 2 nights at Fonab, staying in one of the Castle rooms.
I congratulate the owners for going all out to create an exceptional new hotel that has been very well thought out with real attention to detail. This place will doubtless establish itself amongst the better country hotels in Scotland. I think they've managed to pull off a finely balanced development, combining old-ish castle with modern additions that make the place bright, modern and useable, but still with character and substance.
The room was very nice, the bed comfortable, and the pillow selection allowed for any form of plucked wildfowl you could imagine. I'd agree with other commentators that some traffic noise could be heard from the castle roadside room, but then I'm a light sleeper and I can't really hold that against the hotel.
The castle could perhaps do with an alternative to the large, modern upstairs lounge bar area for post meal drinking. Somewhere that's more cosy and snug, perhaps the area at the bottom of the spiral staircase. I understand the fine-dining restaurant was a lounge area until a few weeks ago. Just a suggestion - most will be more than happy with the very swish lounge.

We ate one night in the brasserie and indulged in the fine-dining 7-course the following night. One the whole, the food was very good indeed. The brasserie was very good value for money, given the high quality of the food. The 7-course experience was indeed an experience. Some of the courses were excellent (Jerusalem Artichoke Cappuccino, Sea Bass, Scallop) - the rest were "all good". Salvatore, our attentive host, made the marathon 2 1/2 hr session pass with pleasure and good humour. At the risk of sounding like Greg Wallace, some dishes, like the asian spiced pork belly and braised ox cheek, could do with a bit more punch in the flavour - but I'm being nit-picky and doing what everyone does these days - espousing about food.
One thing I should not forget to mention - breakfast. We both love breakfast, Fonab did itself proud and we left full and happy. Great porridge, great french toast, great hollandaise. Great coffee too and a stunning setting to start the day.
Staff, in my experience, were all very friendly, welcoming and relaxed, whilst remaining professional and efficient. They definately made us both feel comfortable and looked after.
Keep it up. Well done and thanks. We'll hopefully be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weegieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Good afternoon!!

Thank you for the amazing review. I have to say i'm loving the name "weegieloon!"

We have went out of our way to ensure that all the small important touches are there in our bed rooms and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed the pillow selection, room, food and service. Unfortunately we can't do much about the A9 and the windows can't be altered due to the castle be historically listed but, in saying this, we are pleased you understand. Currently the A9 is being resurfaced along the front of the castle grounds which has lead to increased noise, so hopefully this should make a huge difference once the works are complete in the not too distant future.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, hopefully and thank you again for the great review.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Have just returned from an overnight stay which we received as a present from our son in Australia and must say everything was perfect from start to finish. We had a room in the castle and did not hear any traffic noises at all. We dined in the brasserie and the choices on the menu were varied. We both had fish cakes to start and then a chicken dish and a venison dish for mains. All were well presented and perfectly cooked. Breakfast in the morning is not the usual buffet style but waiter/waitress served from a large menu with a wide range of options. Staff all seemed friendly and helpful. So all in all a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FonabCastleHotel, Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Good afternoon Ian P.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our TripAdvisor page. We are really pleased to read about your positive experience here at Fonab and glad to hear you loved you room.

Breakfast is a major priority to us as its the most important meal of the day! We are glad that you enjoyed the varied menu and the service.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Gary White
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
10.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonab Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonab Castle Hotel

Property: Fonab Castle Hotel
Address: Foss Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonab Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonab Castle is a wonderful and historic building on the banks of Loch Faskally, by Pitlochry. It has been transformed by the Clark family into a fabulous and glamorous new 5 Star hotel. The hotel offers 26 bedrooms including 4 suites and a luxurious Penthouse suite (a number with loch views). The hotel brasserie and lounge provide outstanding vistas of the loch itself and Sandemans our fine dining restaurant is a tranquil setting for experiencing exquisite cuisine and fine wines. The Spa at Fonab is our brand new Spa offering a host of pampering and relaxation experiences. With Thermal Suite, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, treatment rooms and nail bar and pedicure. We look forward to welcoming you to a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fonab Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonab Castle Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing