We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional!”
Review of Fonab Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fonab Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I travel frequently and and have done for over 25 years. Over that time I've stayed in a lot of hotels... Some good, some bad and some ugly.

In the end, very few fit into a lofty category I consider unique and exceptional. So it came as a pleasant surprise when we stumbled on just such an experience at Fonab Castle Hotel in the lovely little town of Pitlochry in Scotland.

Fonab Castle Hotel is really a wonderful place to stay. From it's perfectly groomed appearance to its picturesque location and exceptional food it has just about everything going for it but the thing that really sets it apart is the service; simply fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone at anytime and always delivered with a warm genuine smile!

This alone was enough to rate Fonab Castle a 5 out of 5 but then the very lovely Shona took it upon herself to go out and buy a few toys for our little boy after discovering we could only pack a small number for our long haul flight!

So, though trip advisor won't let me do it, 6 out of 5 Fonab Castle! Exceptional. We'll be back :-)

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RodMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,448
    251
    90
    23
    5
See reviews for
238
1,328
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Had one night stay here with my partner. What a super hotel and it's only going to get better. Wonderful setting, great rooms, superb and friendly staff and excellent food. We had pre dinner drinks in the lounge and a lovely evening meal and breakfast in the brasserie. The wine list was unbelievably great value and the Malbec we had with our steaks was perfect. Well done Fonab you have a new fan and I look forward to a return visit once the pool and spa are all open. Thanks for a excellent stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pressendye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I recently visited Fonab Castle for a meal for our last night in Pitlochry. We were picked up by complimentary mini bus owned by the hotel. On arrival we were shown to the brasserie by the concierge. We were then taken to the table we had booked with a view and what a view it was of Loch Faskally and the surrounding countryside. We ordered a starter and main course and a bottle of wine to compliment the meal. The service and staff were of the highest degree and the food was even better. We heard in conversation that the hotel had received 5star rating that day and we were not surprised by this, in fact I would not be surprised if it did not achieve a Michelin Star for food in the near future. This is a major achievement as the hotel is not yet 8 months old. Well done to the owners, (whom were there that night and made time to talk to everyone eating there and thanking them for being there.) A superb place to eat (stay should you wish) I know I will return for food there on my next visit to Pitlochry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Wow! We did not know about this treasure until we booked and when you arrive - even better!
Well done to the owners- the mix of old Castle and new building work so well.
Food lovely, bedrooms fab, area lovely, service fantastic. Such a relaxing break.
Currently Spa and Leisure being built, cannot wait to see this!
What a fab Wedding venue this will become.
You would be crazy not to try here - and we only stay 30 minutes from here. Will def be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank theeliisfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Decided last minute as we had no kids at home, to go to Fonab castle for dinner. The receptionist was very helpful as they were very busy and we hadent booked, but she did find us a table in the brasserie. Although not the best table, it was still very nice. We had heard mixed reviews of the food but decided to give it a go - we were really pleased that we did! Lovely food, tasted excellent, well presented and enough. We just had a mixed bread started to share followed by the lamb and pork dishes. Deserts were the mixed berry trifle and banana & chocolate pudding - yum! I had cocktails & the other half soft drinks. It was def worth the last minute decision to go. Beautiful setting & service was excellent - although at the start a little over fussy, but once the restaurant got busy it was just right.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigermothred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My boyfriend surprised me for our 3 year anniversay by taking us here for an overnight stay. I wasn't sure what to expect at first but I can say that this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. We were warmly greeted upon arrival and were very impressed by a member of staff accompanying us to our car to take our luggage up to our room, upon which he told us of everything the room and hotel had to offer. Our room was in the new part of the hotel (less than a year old) and the decor was sublime, as was the view from the balcony! Everything in the room was state-of-the-art and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. We were lucky enough to bump into the hotel owner who reserved our preferred table in the Brasserie restaurant for us for dinner that night.

There is a lovely walk around the loch that I would recommend, especially for those that are lucky enough to take their dogs (available for rooms on the ground floor). Pitlochry is only a 5 minute walk away from the hotel, and absolutely charming. The view from the Brasserie was stunning, and throughout dinner our gaze kept turning towards the sunset over the loch - and the food in the Brasserie for dinner was very good and reasonably priced.

One thing not to miss at the hotel is the breakfast in the brasserie, which has been recently voted the best hotel breakfast in Scotland. There is a menu, but it is very flexible and I was encouraged to pick and choose whatever I wanted from it, all of which was delicious!

The best part of our stay, besides the beautiful room and scenery, had to be the staff. All of the staff were so welcoming and personable, and even knew us by name on the second day. The owner of the hotel spoke to many of the guests personally, which you do not see in many hotels! This is a real gem, and has recently been awarded a well-deserved five stars. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. What a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: If you plan on bringing your dog make sure to book a ground floor room, and any room with a loch vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

From being met outside at the car to having our bag carried out on departure, nobody could have asked any more from every member of staff in the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and we really felt valued. Despite being early for check-in our room was ready and we were offered it immediately. The reason for the visit was a special occasion and we were treated to an upgrade to a signature room, a card, chocolates and a glass of champagne on the house. The hotel is beautifully presented throughout and the attention to detail everywhere is exceptional.

The fusion of old and new architecture won't be to everyone's taste and neither will the decor, but we thought it worked well and the the lounge bar and brasserie have great views of the loch and surrounding hills. Whatever your thoughts, it's evident that no expense has been spared and housekeeping keep the expanses of glass, mirrors and wooden panelling scrupulously clean.

The room itself was beautifully appointed and clean and the bathroom was spotless. The egyptian cotton bedding is luxury and you can choose from a menu of 4 different types of pillow!!! The mattress and topper are equally sumptuous and extremely comfortable. All were well covered with protectors.

We had cocktails in the lounge bar before dinner, which were well mixed and presented, and were taken down to the Brasserie for dinner. It's worth noting that Sandeman's, the fine dining restaurant, is only open Wednesday to Sunday which we weren't aware of despite looking through the website prior to booking. However, the meal we had was beautifully cooked, prepared and presented and the cost was extremely competitive. Portion sizes were more than adequate whilst the wine list is comprehensive and covers most tastes and budgets. For the full selection though, you'll need to ask for the extended list and not just choose from the list attached to the food menu. You can also peruse the wine bins on the wall in the lounge bar for inspiration but don't forget to check the price before you order.....

The experience wasn't quite perfect, there were a couple of minor niggles but they were attended to immediately and without question and followed up by management. Overall, our time at Fonab Castle was exceptional and the staff and owners should be justifiably proud of what they've achieved so far. With the construction of the spa and swimming pool the experience should be even better. We will definitely stay here again and will be making the 45 minute journey from home to eat here without staying over. This being despite living in an area filled with good food establishments!! The challenge will be for the hotel to maintain these high standards over time. We wish them every success.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
10.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonab Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonab Castle Hotel

Property: Fonab Castle Hotel
Address: Foss Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonab Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonab Castle is a wonderful and historic building on the banks of Loch Faskally, by Pitlochry. It has been transformed by the Clark family into a fabulous and glamorous new 5 Star hotel. The hotel offers 26 bedrooms including 4 suites and a luxurious Penthouse suite (a number with loch views). The hotel brasserie and lounge provide outstanding vistas of the loch itself and Sandemans our fine dining restaurant is a tranquil setting for experiencing exquisite cuisine and fine wines. The Spa at Fonab is our brand new Spa offering a host of pampering and relaxation experiences. With Thermal Suite, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, treatment rooms and nail bar and pedicure. We look forward to welcoming you to a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fonab Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonab Castle Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing