We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Location, Superb Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fonab Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fonab Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Location, Superb Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Spent 3 nights at Fonab Castle as a birthday treat. Took my brother with me and I stayed in a Superior King room in the Castle whilst my brother stayed in a King Room in the modern annex. Upon arrival we were greeted by the receptionist and given our key cards.

A concierge carried our luggage and escorted each of us to our respective rooms and explained the features of the room's many amenities including Smart TV, Nespresso machine, Bluetooth docking station to name but a few.

The setting is magnificent, on the banks of Loch Faskally and its proximity to the nearby dam means that it is just a short walk to Pitlochry town centre.

We stayed B&B but decided to eat each night in the Brasserie restaurant. The food each night and each morning was faultless and the staff struck just the right balance between being attentive without being intrusive. Both the Brasserie restaurant and the upstairs lounge have a magnificent view out over Loch Faskally and after a fine meal you can sit and relax in the lounge whilst watching the sunset over the Loch.

The Sandemans Fine Dining restaurant was unfortunately not open during our stay as it is not open on a Sunday, Monday or Tuesday night and this was a little disappointing as it would have been nice to have experienced the fine cuisine, however, what we did have in the Brasserie restaurant was I have already said - faultless.

The mattresses in all rooms were a little softer than what I am used to but when I brought this to the attention of the receptionist she was able to arrange for housekeeping to add a memory foam mattress topper. Whilst this helped a little, the bed was still a little on the soft side but I am used to sleeping on an extra firm bed.

My only other little gripe was that in the Castle Room (#201) the WiFi signal was a little in and out but I was able to use the WiFi facility in communal areas of the hotel and also in my brother's room and so this was just a minor negative issue.

The Health Spa is currently under construction with an October 2014 completion date and I would definitely be interested in returning to the hotel again when this is fully open.

Room Tip: The castle rooms are more traditional but the woodland (Annex) rooms have either a patio or a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,404
    246
    88
    23
    4
See reviews for
232
1,292
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

What a find! We enjoyed every minute, from the moment concierge Mike met us by the car with a brolly to shelter under as we unloaded, to our farewell to hands-on owners, Jed and Joanne two days later.
As you would expect of a five-star retreat, the surroundings, public rooms, restaurant, lounge and bedrooms are oppolunt, especially the shower fittings in our bathroom within the castle itself (room 203), where the quality of the tiling was exceptional.
The staff at Fonab go out of their way to make you feel welcome, the level of service we received from Megan, Marco and Edmund was exemplary - and all with a smile on their face.
Our break was made all the more special by an amazing coincidence. At breakfast on the first morning we were seated next to another couple in the fabulous brasserie with stunning views over Loch Faskally.
Within seconds of taking our seats the gentleman next to me said 'hi Dave, how are you - it turned out to be an old friend from school in Elgin, Donald Robertson, and his charming wife Linda - I hadn't seen Donald since we played in the Academy football team 44 years earlier.
Donald and LInda were both enjoying a five-day break at Fonab to celebrate their 60th birthdays, and we were delighted to raise a glass to their future health and happiness when we joined them at dinner that night.
Everthing at Fonab was first-class, the warmth of the welcome, the quality of the food and drink, the surroundings,but most expecially the staff.
We will definitely be back and can't wait to try the new spa which is due to open by the end of the year.

Room Tip: Room Tip: room 203 enjoyed a partial view of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I booked Fonab Castle for my parents 40th Ruby Wedding Anniversary and I am pleased to say it certainly lived up to its 5 star rating !!

From the moment we arrived in the car park to the moment we left following our stay we had the most amazing experience. Every single member of the team made us feel extremely welcome and certainly made my parents feel very special. On arrival to their room they had a card from the staff wishing them a lovely stay and anniversary and on the morning of their actual anniversary they were given champagne !!

We stayed in the 2 suites available and they are absolutely gorgeous, they have 2 shower rooms, 2 sets of patio doors leading to a long patio area, a bedroom and a separate living area both of which have large plasma screens.

We ate in the. Brasserie and the food was excellent, we ate starters, main course and dessert including drinks and coffee and the bill was very reasonable. The views at dinner were out of this world too, you can't beat a view over a Scottish loch as the sun sets while enjoying a small glass of bubbly !!

The plans are to open a spa, pool and gym in November so we plan to revisit and enjoy the new facilities.

I cannot recommend Fonab highly enough and if you are looking for a quiet, romantic few days away then I wouldn't look any further.

Thank you to all the staff as you really make Fonab the 5star it is.

Room Tip: Suites are much larger and have separate living and sleeping areas with 2 shower rooms however if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janine29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My new wife and I recently spent some time enjoying the experience that is Fonab Castle. We took the scenic route from the village to the hotel, over Pitlochry Dam. A wonderfully relaxing stroll to start a wonderfully relaxing few days in the most luxurious surroundings. Wonderful food, drink, scenery, accommodation and exceptionally friendly and attentive staff. Shame the Spa is not yet up and running but it's another excuse to return, not that one is needed!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beneme2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
322 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We checked out of this place a day early. Fonab Castle is not really a castle--there is a small castle component with a large modern wing attached and it is expensive with little value in terms of ambience, view, rooms, restaurants, etc. There is no spa or fitness center and there is no AC--the rooms get a lot of sun and it was hot. Opened in 2013, the staff is still in training and appears to need at least another five years to get their act together. We had reservations for their formal restaurant only to find that it was closed and the food in their casual restaurant was the worst we had in all of Scotland. The rooms are interior designer show pieces but a nightmare for the experienced traveller. The designers did not consider luggage space, storage space, closet space in their plans. We had bottled water but no refrigerator or mini-bar and best yet, no glasses. The door to our room would not lock, the phone would not permit us to call out, and it was impossible to take a shower unless you like scalding hot water or ice cold water No one in the staff knew how to fix any thing or take care of matters. Our luggage bellman was also our waiter. We checked in to find the room we had reserved was taken and our options were to take an inferior room, which we were told would only be available that night and not the second night of our reservations. Fonab Castle is advertised as a fairy tale experience; that's true, it is unreal.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cosmo144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFonab, General Manager at Fonab Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Fonab Castle Hotel. I am so sorry that we did not provide you with the experience you desired. Our Loch view rooms are extremely popular and i am afraid at the time of your booking through your agent they had all been reserved.

I am pleased that we were able to provide our Penthouse for one night to ensure a view of the Loch and Pitlochy was achieved. i was disappointed that we were not able to provide the Penthouse for you for the two nights of your stay but did understand that you wished to move to another hotel to ensure your stay was not interrupted.

I am so sorry that you were not able to experience our Fine Dining restaurant Sandemans , recently awarded 2 AA Rosettes, this can only be reserved for a Wednesday through to Saturday evening. And was as you have mentioned not open on the evening of your stay.

I do thank you for the areas that you have highlighted as we are always looking for ways in which we can improve our guest experience.

Kind regards

Johanne Falconer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel is superb. The renovation has been overseen from the beginning by the present Manager (owned by the Sandeman's port family......the hotel, not the man!) and it is a sight to behold. The hotel overlooks the Loch and it is wonderful. The grounds are lovely, and, for fine weather, there is also an excellent deck overlooking the water, and into the distance over the mountains. So peaceful. We have not stayed in the hotel (there are also apartments in the grounds) but we have seen most of the bedrooms. Absolutely beautiful. I can tell you about the food..................it is some of the best we have ever eaten. Food is served all day, if I remember correctly from midday until late, and on Sundays, there is the addition of a Sunday lunch, as well as the normal menu.. The choice of food is excellent. No other word for it. The smoked salmon (from Dunkeld) is THE very best we have ever eaten, the 28day aged Sirloin of Angus beef is succulent, and it goes on, corn fed chicken, so tender,a wonderful vegetarian dish on every menu, bread and homemade soups to die for.
The dining room also enjoys fabulous views. This is on the ground floor. Also , Turning left instead of right in the first hallway, you will see the discreet, beautifully appointed smaller restaurant, where one can enjoy a taster menu. Back into the hallway and go up the stairs, and there is a most perfect "lounge" area, where one can have pre-dinner drinks (and probably food if the restaurant is full). No matter how busy they are, the staff will look after you, At busy times one has to be patient but any wait (and we have never waited) is well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girljade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Worth every one of their 5***** and previous reviews have highlighted the many attributes of this hotel. Staff are friendly, chatty and welcoming. Interior design is of the highest standard even down to small details. We ate in the Brassiere and the food was amazing as was the choice for breakfast.
Do I have a complaint? Yes I do....we only booked for 1 night ! Would have loved to stay longer

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank smogEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
10.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonab Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonab Castle Hotel

Property: Fonab Castle Hotel
Address: Foss Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonab Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonab Castle is a wonderful and historic building on the banks of Loch Faskally, by Pitlochry. It has been transformed by the Clark family into a fabulous and glamorous new 5 Star hotel. The hotel offers 26 bedrooms including 4 suites and a luxurious Penthouse suite (a number with loch views). The hotel brasserie and lounge provide outstanding vistas of the loch itself and Sandemans our fine dining restaurant is a tranquil setting for experiencing exquisite cuisine and fine wines. The Spa at Fonab is our brand new Spa offering a host of pampering and relaxation experiences. With Thermal Suite, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, treatment rooms and nail bar and pedicure. We look forward to welcoming you to a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fonab Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonab Castle Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing