We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy and friendly”
Review of Fonab Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fonab Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classy and friendly”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Great place to go to relax, unwind and enjoy the amazing scenery. We had a castle room which was spacious and had an incredibly comfy bed. Ate in the brasserie for lunch diner and breakfast and all fantastic, sticky toffee pudding is the best I have ever had!!! Having stayed at a lot of nice places I sometimes find that they can be a bit snooty, not so here as everyone was friendly and a particular mention to Megan at reception desk and Ed in the brasserie who works tirelessly to make sure everyone is looked after, shame the Spa was not ready but that just means we will be back to try it out, our new favourite getaway!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,456
    253
    90
    23
    5
See reviews for
239
1,335
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

this hotel deserves its 5 stars and yet......
we had a large, excellently appointed room in the new wing. There is a pillow menu which includes goose down ones for the asking
a small but modern bathroom and towels which were both fluffy and sweet smelling. Large rainshower
The balcony of our room (602) had a fabulous, uninterrupted view down the loch as did the lounge
however the whole feel of our room and the lounge was slightly aseptic perhaps because of the modern design which contrasted with the castle to which they were attached (i cannot of course speak to the castle rooms) I realise however this is a matter of personal taste
air conditioning would have been welcome as to open the windows in the evening would have provided a feast for the midgies and we do occasionally get sunshine in scotland
there were problems on the first day with my breakfast (my wife declared hers excellent) but these had been ironed out by the second.
staff friendly
the young woman behind the bar in the lounge made the best mojiito i have ever tasted
the cocktails at £6.50 i consider good value but perhaps not the small bottle of ginger beer at £2.50!!!
the hotel is within a 10 minute walk of pitlochry theatre and has easy access to the A9
the hotel has a lot going for it but if you like the country house experience with faded elegance and squishy sofas it would not be my first choice

Room Tip: room 602 has a fabulous view as there were building works at the front of the hotel when we visited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jock16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Every single aspect of our stay at Fonab was unbeatable. From the welcome and assistance upon arrival, the room/furnishings/facilities, views, housekeeping, receptionists, concierge service, food and drink, and serving staff were all spotless and faultless. We stayed here for our wedding and cannot wait to go back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Book any room and you will not be disappointed. We had a couple of different types in our party, any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllyT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We phoned Fobab Castle late in the day to see if they had any vacancies for that evening, luckily we were offered the last room available which happened to be the Penthouse Suite. We were delighted with the beautiful room and fantastc views over the loch. We found all staff to be very helpful and attended to our every need. We dined in the brasserie and enjoyed our meal. Breakfast was fantastic, lovely fresh fruit (and what a bowlfull) followed by the Fonab cooked breakfast, excellent quality of foods and beautifully cooked. Only slightly negative comment, tables are slightly on the small side, we had to jiggle everything to make room for toast etc. Will certainly look forward to a return visit and hopefully the Penthouse will be available!! :-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VivMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
468 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have a very warm weekend for our stay and the hotel was able to do it justice with beautiful outdoor areas, breakfast with a great view of the nearby loch and easy access to Pitlochry. Great food, friendly staff and the worlds largest shower head. Difficult to see how you could be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Fonab Castle Hotel and really enjoyed our visit.
The location is excellent. Just off the main A9 road so easily reached, yet very secluded. Within walking distance of Pitlochry town centre, yet completely hidden from view. And with stunning views over lovely Loch Faskally.
We received an extremely warm welcome on arrival, and the checking in process was handled efficiently.
Rooms are modern and well appointed, and the decor throughout the hotel we found very appealing.
We dined on the terrace outside the Brasserie, as it was such a lovely evening, and enjoyed a three course meal with wine, followed by coffee and liqueurs in the lounge.
Service throughout was very friendly.
So, all in all a lovely experience.
However, this hotel is marketing itself as 5 star, and there were a couple of issues that we feel fall short of the standards you would expect in a truly 5 star establishment.
We had a ground floor room, which had a patio door that opened onto our own small patio and the hotel grounds. Nice, but the patio door was the only means of ventilation to the room, and as we could not leave a ground floor patio door open all night (and there was no air conditioning) the room was stiflingly hot. If you like a well ventilated bedroom, the ground floor rooms here are not for you.
The bathroom, whilst attractive in design, was quite small and cramped and contained only a shower. For five star, we would have expected a shower and a bath.
Service, whilst friendly, was at times slow and not really attuned to guests needs in the way 5 star hotels normally are. We waited half an hour for a pre dinner drink to be changed, having to finally chase the waitress and ask her to attend to us. Our breakfast was over half and hour in the waiting due to a 'mix up'.
We were there on a mid week special rate, but I think if we had paid the full rate, which is of 5 star proportions, then we would have been slightly less enamoured with our stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Gordon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a truly 5 star hotel. Check in, room, bar and restaurant, each experience was perfect. We chose to eat in the brasserie and the food and service were out of the top drawer. The staff are one of this hotel's many strengths. They are friendly, super efficient and make you feel special. On top of all that the views are superb. They are currently building leisure facilities which will provide extra amenity. For anyone looking for the best, this is it.

Room Tip: All good,but try to get one in the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mansonfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
10.5 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonab Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonab Castle Hotel

Property: Fonab Castle Hotel
Address: Foss Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fonab Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonab Castle is a wonderful and historic building on the banks of Loch Faskally, by Pitlochry. It has been transformed by the Clark family into a fabulous and glamorous new 5 Star hotel. The hotel offers 26 bedrooms including 4 suites and a luxurious Penthouse suite (a number with loch views). The hotel brasserie and lounge provide outstanding vistas of the loch itself and Sandemans our fine dining restaurant is a tranquil setting for experiencing exquisite cuisine and fine wines. The Spa at Fonab is our brand new Spa offering a host of pampering and relaxation experiences. With Thermal Suite, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, treatment rooms and nail bar and pedicure. We look forward to welcoming you to a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fonab Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonab Castle Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing