We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Theatre Package”
Review of Dundarach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dundarach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2007

The Dundarach's Theatre Package consists of dinner, bed and breakfast and a ticket for Pitlochry's Repertory Theatre. It is possible to stay six nights and see six different plays. We had chosen to stay three nights. Every aspect of our break was excellent. And there was no "single supplement"!

The hotel is set in spacious grounds, five minutes' walk from the town centre and well-placed for embarking on Pitlochry's signposted forest walks. The autumn colours were magnificent. The theatre was fifteen or twenty minutes' walk away, depending on the route chosen. (It was a bit dark in October to use the ten-minute shortcut through the wood.)

The staff were friendly, polite and efficient throughout our stay.
The meals were well-cooked and substantial. The dinner menu varied each night, though the soups were always creams, with no broths or consommes. Those who chose game bird courses (pheasant or guinea fowl) found the flavour rather bland. The menu was complemented by an interesting and reasonably-priced wine-list. Coffee after dinner was served in the comfortable lounge.

The bathrooms and bedrooms were clean and attractively decorated, with ample space for the occupants and their clothing. Some of the downstairs rooms were starved of sunlight by large trees outside their windows. They were, however, well-lit and had bold, bright prints on the walls. In a couple of bathrooms, the only shower bracket was set about two feet six high, which left a choice of having a bath or having a shower with the nozzle hand-held.

The theatre tickets booked by the hotel were for the best seats in the house, in the centre of Row G. We did find ourselves pushed to get there in time, since dinner was served from 6:15. After four courses, we found ourselves rushing the coffee to leave time for our walk to the Festival Theatre by eight o'clock. On our return after the play, we found the approach to the hotel ill-lit. (We purchased a cheap torch for nights two and three.)

I will have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any of my friends.

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank Glasguensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Dundarach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2006

As one of the foreign guests at this fine lodging during July we all had afternoon drinks, not a problem, the menus are available in english and german. The trainee member of staff was still very polite and helpful while learning. Also it is quiet in the evening so you are having a good rest before going off on the outdoor activities we were in Scotland having. We stayed 10 days with all meals. Sehr Gut. We are coming back next year. For drinks out try the Old Mill Inn, very busy , good for malt whisky, then go home for sleeping. Heidi Kohl

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank heinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2006

Unexpectedly decided to stay overnight as in Pitlochry for theatre visit. Luckily, got the last room free in the hotel. Very smart reception lady (who may be the owner) was really helpful.
Room, in the annex, was quite nice and price was very reasonable.
Proximity to the theatre is excellent, although it would be hard to walk down to the theatre and back at night as the unlit road is quite bumpy.
Only thing management could look at to make hotel really excellent: is the dining room. The foreign staff find it hard to know what guests are asking for. Also, they whip away plates before one is finished eating. But the food was tasty, especially the breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eyeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2006

My husband and I spent one night here in July on our way from Inverness to Edinburgh. Although it was high season, the hotel seemed very quiet. I think it may be that it was full with a foreign coach party who were mainly out and about, as there was a large noticeboard up in the lobby .

On our arrival late on a hot afternoon we asked about having a drink and were told that the bar was shut until evening, which was a disappointment as it would have been nice to have had a drink in the garden. We later enquired about bar food and were told that if we wanted to eat they could provide us with a table in a room near to the bar, but food was not available in the main bar. Throughout all of this there were no other guests to be seen in the hotel. We ate at the Port na Craig Inn opposite the theatre by the river, which was lovely. On our return to the hotel at about 10.00 there was still no sign of other guests and the bar was empty and shut!

Breakfast was fine and there were then a few other UK guests in the dining room, mainly elderly except for one family.

Room was large and clean, although the bathroom was a bit tired. The setting of the hotel is very scenic and Pitlochry was lovely. However we felt that the hotel lacked any atmosphere and was not very friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank barbara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2006

Would definitely stay again, great service and atmosphere and lovely surroundings. First Class!

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank Carrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Kirkintilloch
12
Reviewed 29 April 2006

If you are from central Scotland and you want a good walking weekend, stay in Pitlochry.

Dundarach Hotel give you maps of the local, mapped, signed walks and they are fine, good exercise and if you need 8 miles or maybe 14 miles, to Glen Fender, In Blair Atholl for instance, stay at Dundarach Hotel. We paid £48.66 for dinner bed and breakfast but there were 12 of us, on a 2 day stay.. Good , helpfull staff at Dundarach. Foreign,
east europeans and very nice. Nothing is too much trouble

Lunch time we went to Chez Eric, Dundarach Bistro, on West Moulin Road, we had a full cooked lunch for £12.99 a head. If you look hard enough it is there. House wine £8.95/ bottle.
The town is choked with tourists at may holiday,
from all over europe, distilleries and everywhere and the theatre is also mobbed.

The weather was very sunny all weekend, despite it being a bank(bonk) (h)oliday
Kirsty, Morag, Ally, Cyn, Bethan and Megan + our men. Good laugh, most definately

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2006

9 of us were in Dundarach last week, all week.

The breakfasts were good and the daily dish of the day, which was our dinner package was fantastic.
7 different choices in the week.

There were fishers staying over as well and we had a great time relaxing after hours. The bar often shuts at 23.00 but sometimes goes longer.

You can stay there with confidence. Lots of parking.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank staffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,837 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,004 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundarach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundarach Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £123 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundarach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dundarach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundarach Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing