We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay, very peaceful, charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dundarach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dundarach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice stay, very peaceful, charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Hotel Dunderach was selected in a drive-by in Pitlochry. Very quaint, older property. Gorgeous on the outside. Very receptive staff, made identifying room options a breeze. Slightly older property, with a few dated rooms. Rooms were spacious and very clean, well appointed and safe. Convenient to Blair Castle and the lower Highlands. Would stay there again.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank UncleChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    55
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
43
72
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Just returned from our stay at the Dundarach, we arived early, our intention was to leave the car in the hotel car park and go for a walk until check in time, we were informed by the very helpful staff that our room was ready and we had been given a complimentary upgrade to a four poster room.
The room was excellent, well decorated with a huge bathroom and great views over the countryside.
As we were meeting friends we ate elshwere for dinner but the breakfast was plentiful served in the dining room with good views, the staff were very good, nice to have a cooked breakfast served at the table instead of served buffet style,
Normally when in Pitlochry we stay another hotel but on the strength of our stay here when we return to Pitlochry in August our first choice will be the Dundarach.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Latchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

My wife and I spent the May Bank Holiday weekend at the Dundarach. On arrival we were given a warm welcome,we were checked in quickly and soon had the keys for our room, which was located in an annex adjacent to the main building. The room had everything we had expected and was well proportioned. We took all of our meals in the hotel restaurant which is located in the main building. The restaurant has large windows with beautiful views over the Perthshire countryside. Food was to a high standard, a four course menu with a range of choices to suit most tastes. During our stay the staff were very pleasant and attentive. The town of Pitlochry is a little gem with adequate shopping a fine theatre and many excellent walks in the immediate area. I would recommend both Pitlochry and the Dundarach.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tommag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

stayed here for one night, wish it was longer, hotel was lovely, a good sized ,cosy bedroom,big bathroom,and the comfy bed was the best ive ever slept on, breakfast was very good, i didnt have dinner here but heard it was great, the staff were all very frindly and helpful, beautiful view from the dining room even though it was raining!, only 5 min walk to town centre, i would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andiFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

We were reallocated to this hotel from the Scotlands in Pitlochry (there was a problem with the room - Aye RIGHT -overbooked more like). Anyway it turned out to be a very nice hotel. It was built in 1935 and has many gothic like features and the views from the dinning room were great. It was comfy to just relax and read a book. It was a little dated, but I find that a refreshing change rather than the minimalist trends of today. It was close to the High Street and theatre. The four course meal we had was really good the staff were really friendly and happy to chat, and we did enjoy breakfast. If you want a hotel with character and feature this would be good for you. I will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladysmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

We've stayed in this hotel twice and we love it. The main old house is beautiful, very peaceful, great atmosphere and the staff is always very friendly.
I can oly talk about the rooms where we've stayed and those are the 4 posted bed rooms, which are just superb, very spacious and comfy.
It seems they have redecorated the rooms, they look great.
The bathroom is lovely as well. You have a great view from both, room and bathroom.

We stayed in a double room and asked for a cot for our son (19months old), but that wasn't very good, way too small. I would recommend you to bring your own traveling cot.

Breakfast was very good the very first time we stayed here (2006), but now it seems rather poor, not that you'll starve, I would just say it's ok, other than "good" if you know what I mean.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aquamantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

Passing through Pitlochry we tried to find some budget accommodation for just one night. Since it was late July we knew it wouldn’t be easy and after trying several B&Bs we finally decided to splurge and managed to find a room at the Best Western Hotel Dundarach. Unfortunately we were very disappointed in the standard of the hotel.

Our room was in the newer building (not in the main “castle”) but was just as dark and grubby as the reception. The size of the room, the bed and bathroom was OK but in need of refurbishing. The wall-to-wall carpet covering the room and the bathroom(!) really needed cleaning (or preferably removal!) It wasn’t possible to enjoy a nice shower since the water temperature constantly switched between ice cold and hot. The breakfast was not very good either.

The accommodation standard might have been OK had it been a hotel in the centre of Edinburgh but not for a hotel with these prices. Very little value for money!

The positive things were: the location, the service minded breakfast waiters and the splendid view from the dining room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allanballan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.4 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundarach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundarach Hotel

Property: Dundarach Hotel
Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundarach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dundarach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundarach Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing