We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but didn't get the period features we expected”
Review of Dundarach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dundarach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We spent one night at the Dundaroch for our wedding anniversary. My husband had specifically picked this hotel as he thought I would like somewhere old fashioned with lots of period features. The building itself is beautiful. Unfortunately we were given a room in an Annex (which is not really mentioned anywhere when we booked) which was a tribute to the 1980sm complete with velour headboards and an avocado bathroom suite.
We were quite disappointed by this as it was not what we had expected with no character at all. However, in fairness it was a large room and spotlessly clean. Views were amazing, particulary fromm the dining room and the breakfast was very good with lots of choice. The staff were all very helpful.
A few things could have been easily improved, eg our room had a folder of information for 2010 and a platic plant that needed a dust (or better yet removed) but overall it was a good place to stay and a very easy 5 minue walk into the town centre.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again, but only if I could ensure that I got a room in the main hotel and not the Annex.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel, not the Annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed in the annex in room number 3 on 8th September 2012. Everything except the condition of the bathroom was satisfactory in the bedroom. The Bath panel was cracked.The shower was not working and there was black mould between the tiles and the carpet in the bathroom was to our mind unhygienic. This was reported to reception when we checked out and nothing was said by the staff . We were quite disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrinatale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We booked online through a third party website so didn't get a choice of room, when we arrived the staff were friendly and our first impressions were that old hotel building was beautiful, well maintained in stunning surroundings.

Things went south from there, we were ushered to an 'annex' building outside the main hotel, it looked nice from the outside but changed when we got to the room.

The bedroom was large, a modern TV, tea making tray, all the usual things you expect in a hotel room. The decor felt a bit dated, the bed base, cover and curtains were all matching but looked out of place in 2012, I'm guessing late 80's or early 90's, rusty/gold silky fabric with a not-so matching faded pink carpet. You can see the room we stayed in on their website but it looks much better in the photo!

The bathroom was a good size however the same faded pink carpet was carried through, not only do I dislike carpets in bathrooms (I just feel it is unhygienic), this one looks clean but is fading and has gone flat with wear.The bathroom suite looked very clean, also dated (avocado). The wooden toilet seat was loose and the plastic feet were falling off, but it was useable.

The bath had a built in mixer shower tap, there was a very modern electric shower overhead, I think they must have realised at some point that the non-thermostatic mixer tap is not safe or adequate. To my dismay the water pressure was so low that the electric shower kept cutting off, when it came back on I was scalded but when it cut out again the freezing cold water cooled the burning! This could easily be rectified by fitting a water pump.

Breakfast was ordered to the room and it came on time, it was a very nice continental, there were choices on ordering and it came just as ordered.

The room has a radiator and convector heater, plenty of options to stay warm but the central heating was enough on this cold night.

The bed was comfortable but the bedding and pillows were well worn, the feather duvet had 'bald' patches, where there is no longer any down inside, the pillows started soft but by the middle of the night were brick hard, I woke with a sore head and neck. Again, easily fixed by replacing these items, I would expect a hotel would consider these consumable and replace regularly.

Although the hotel is right next to the train line, you barely hear it from inside, the station and a crossing are near so the trains are slow moving, it is also located well away from the main street making this a very peaceful place.

In summary, a beautiful place, pleasant staff, good attention to some of the more detailed items but they missed some of the bigger, more fundamental items.

Room Tip: When booking make sure you ask for the main building, people who stayed there seemed happier in thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rampant_Sc0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here for one night and found it to be fine for a quick stay. The room felt a bit worn and out dated which made it feel a bit untidy (old carpet, lenolium in bathroom). The hotel staff was very nice and attentive. The dining room overlooked a very nice view and they provided an average breakfast service. The place had some character but because of the room quality, we feel it provided an average accomodation for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colbinkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We had a huge, fantastic room (a superior room, I think) with a four-poster bed, nice seating area and lovely view of Pitlochry's surroundings. Nice bathroom too (although the carpeting is odd!). It was extremely comfortable. The service was faultless - it's a family who run the place, and they are very nice, friendly people. The waitresses are lovely too. The breakfast was excellent, a good choice including full Scottish, continental and smoked fish options. We had dinner here one night, which was very good - the menu is perhaps a little old-fashioned but there's nothing wrong with that in my opinion, and the food was very well-prepared and presented. Top marks as well for the whisky selection, including my favourite Edradour from nearby. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esd_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Dundarach Hotel. We have stayed in Pitlochry on several occasions but we were not aware of this hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We had one of the traditional rooms in the main part of the hotel. The room was large, comfortable and clean. We had dinner on the first night in the dining room - this cost £32 for a four course meal with tea/coffee. On the second night we sampled the bar menu. We only had one course - battered cod - and it appeared to be from the frozen variety! In saying that it was quite tasty. We certainly would recommend this hotel and would happily stay there on another occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank popeyeAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We received a friendly welcome to this hotel, which is a short walk (around 5 mins) from the centre of Pitlochry. A great place to explore the local sights and attractions from with ample parking.

Quiet surroundings, with beautiful grounds, which our room looked out upon.

Lovely breakfast, cooked options included the usual full Scottish, kippers and porrige. There was also a large buffet style table we could help ourselves from which included cereals, fruit (fresh and tinned), fruit juices, slices of ham, potato scones, jams and condiments. Coffee was topped up regulary by the cheerful waitresses.

Would stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,911 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
813 reviews
1.4 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundarach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundarach Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £129 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundarach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dundarach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundarach Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing