We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay by Angela”
Review of Dundarach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dundarach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Just returned from this lovely hotel. We had a 4poster with wonderful views. Staff couldn't have been more attentive. Very relaxing but if you want a little more life go to the water mill inn down the road for good food atmosphere and entertainment. Will go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Dundarach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

Warm welcome, lovely warm rooms and quiet location.

Stopped as family enroute to Glenshee Ski resort. Hotel was in a good location just off main road and railway line but far enough away to prevent any noise disturbance.

Breakfast was a great spread with good choice and variety. Would happily recommend to those who want something welcoming, peaceful and well priced.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in new wing adjacent to main hotel and accessed by a very short covered walkway.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lianajsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

A lovely quiet hotel
very gothic lots of interesting rooms to view
nice staff who gave a welcome and
the breakfast was hot and good for a cold morning to go out on
will return again.
easy access to the town shops

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conistonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Had a family room with a double and single, so ideal for my wife, disabled daughter and I. Overall for £120 for bed and breakfast for three, it was good value. The bathroom is a bit dated and tired, however the main room was clean bright and contempary with flat screen TV.

Breakfast had a good choice of fruit, pastries & cereals etc, with excellent cooked breakfast. The view from the breakfast/dinning room in the morning was stunning, with a view down the glen. The main building does have some character and good location, though at the bottom end of Pitlochry, not too much of a walk to the shops etc.

One point that did niggle a bit, was ratheer than being greeted in the morning by a waitress with the expected highland lilt, we were greeted with a thick Polish accent. Staff were pleasant and polite.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallace62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights for a theatre break in the autumn. Warm hotel just off the main road near the centre of Pitlochry. Theatre, Blair Athol Distillery, restaurants and shops all within an easy walk. Stayed in the main building with good views. Room decor rather dated but you can expect this in an old building. Rooms were comfortable with lots of hot water. Good lounge with plenty of seating for reading books, chatting or having a drink. Breakfast had a good variety of dishes but no black pudding and rather scrimps on the eggs. Meal in restaurant was of very good range and quality but was rather pricey at £24 for two courses and coffee or £32 for up to 4 courses and coffee. (starter, soup, main, dessert or cheeseboard, coffee/tea). Reasonable wine for around £15 but you can pay double this or more. The hotel is situated very near the main road so you can take a walk across the crossing of the railway line and the first restaurant you meet is Limos. This is a Greek/Turkish restaurant with a great variety of dishes that are well priced.

Room Tip: Pick a room a little more expensive than basic with the view guaranteed.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaitiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed at the Dundarach Hotel for one night in a large room with 4 poster bed. My partner booked this room type specifically as a romantic getaway.

The staff were very pleasant and the hotel had a kind of antiquated charm to it. It was mostly very clean, apart from the odd stains on the carpet but it did have a sort of run down feel to it.

It served it's purpose, and provided a warm clean dry place to stay with a lovely view and a really dinky faux fire (which really were the best features of the room). I was very excited about the HUGE bath in the (bizarrely) carpeted bathroom. Some grubby streaky fingerprints on the full length mirror in the bathroom suited the season and we had a bit of a laugh about it being kinda spooky(some of the pictures are a bit like weeping angels, if you watch doctor who you'll know what I mean!). The chain on the bath was broken which made it tricky to get the plug out but these are really minor gripes.

Breakfast wasn't worth getting out of bed for, bland and overcooked and lukewarm, I wished I hadn't bothered.

All this said we had a great weekend, the Enchanted Forest was well worth it and we didn't spend a lot of time in the Hotel in the end anyway. The old Mill Inn (Pitlochry town centre) is a lovely spot for a drink.

Room Tip: The view from the rooms at the back was lovely. Also, beware the annex! I would have felt really swi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennaEbonstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

My wife and I along with another couple booked into the Dundarach for two nights on Tuesday 16th of October 2012. and were allocated superior bedrooms,numbers 14 & 15 in the annex which were lovely. The only let down were the
(A) two electric showers in both rooms which either produced scalding hot or very cold water which rendered them useless. We had to resort to the bath which was fitted with a bath shower / mixer, which leaked like a sieve when the bath was being filled. On Wednesday morning I reported the problem and was advised how to operate the shower which I did without success on the Thursday morning. I reported the matter to the receptionist, and being a retired plumber told her that the manufacturer should be contacted with a view to having the two month old Mira commissioned and the mains water pressure checked to rectify the problem.
(B) No black pudding, haggis, mushrooms, and a shortage of bacon on the breakfast plate did not in any way portray a confirmation of the photograph shown. The bacon we had was dry and hard and looked as if it had been cooked for sometime before serving.
(C) The Fire doors were wedged open with fire extinguishers which should have been mounted on the wall. This practice is a breach of the terms of the Fire Certificate and staff should be made aware of this. The Fire Door leading to the South wing from the main entrance of the Annex does not close to form a seal in the event of fire and requires to be repaired.
Apart from these items we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the points raised in the review to avoid disappointment.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,835 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
896 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundarach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundarach Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £122 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundarach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dundarach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundarach Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing