We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mum and Daughter night away”
Review of Dundarach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dundarach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mum and Daughter night away”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Hotel set in lovely grounds and has a very relaxing atmosphere inside and out. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The only thing that let the hotel down was it's restaurant. The breakfast was lovely and you could ask for more but dinner was a big let down. There are no prices on the restaurant menu if you don't want the full four course meal so Mum and I didn't really know what we would be paying for (we should have asked). Anyway we both ordered a starter which were both lovely but it was the mains that really let it down. I ordered venison and when it came it look like four greyish brown xxxxx in a running gravy and very overcooked! presentation and taste were awful. Mum's roast lamb was ok but looked more like a hospital dinner. At £20 for a main really should be better. Would stay again but dinner in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol37wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    57
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
44
75
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I booked this Hotel for a one night get away for my Fianceé and I. Staff were very friendly on arrival, quick check in and overall made you feel looked after. We had a bit of trouble with our door, we struggle to open it, the owner came to our aid but he also seemed bewildered by the lock. After 5 minutes we got into our room, a very big room, recently redecorated, lovely antique style furniture, fresh fruit basket on the table, huge bathroom and excellent views. The bathroom was carpeted, not the most hygienic bathroom flooring but it was clean as far as we could tell. A short walk to the Town, very busy for such a small place, plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. We for a nice walk then returned to the Town for Dinner. We chose and place called The Auld Smiddy Inn, an old blacksmiths house and workshop turned into a gastro pub. The meal excellent, a little pricey but well worth it. We returned to the Hotel, a quick freshen up, then went down to the bar, great selection of Whiskies, wines & spirits but lacking in the beer/lager department. The barmen was friendly and happy to help with anything. We retired to the room, it felt very cosy even for it's size. Because our room was above the bar and lounge, we were able the access the wifi in the room, a wee bonus. Excellent nights sleep, so peaceful that you could here just the water from the river. We had the breakfast in the room, beautifully cooked breakfast a couple items from the continental menu and coffee that set us up for the day. We would definitely stay here again, couldn't fault really thing. We were looking for somewhere just to chill, recharge and relax, that's what we got.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimboD1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed with my family for 4 nights in a family room which was clean and comfy.The ambiance of the hotel was fantastic.The architectural style ,the furniture as well as the marvellous views and peaceful surroundings were the very image of a fairy tale!Food was rich and of excellent quality.Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 734AndreasH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for one night with a group of friends for our annual visit to the Pitlochry festival theatre. We all had nice rooms which were very comfortable, some having lovely views over the Perthshire hills. The location is excellent, within walking distance of the the centre of the town and the theatre and salmon fish ladder.
The service was extremely friendly and efficient from the check-in at reception to the breakfast on the Sunday morning.
Breakfast was appreciated by all, a good selection of hot and cold choices.
Also good value for money, no extra person charge for the one single room in our group.
Have stayed in several Pitlochry establishments but this is the best so far. Will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowDrMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a 4 poster bed room.massive room and very comfy.great views.bathroom massive with lovely bath although noshower which is strange!staff very helpful especially our pal maric!quite expensive but very good quality.will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bensonT72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Wonderful break with my grandkids in this old country house hotel. We were housed in an adequate family room in the annexe very close to the main house. Staff were so helpful and friendly, the breakfast was first class, a huge choice. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo777_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
broughty ferry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

my partner and i stayed for 1 night,we were shown to our room in the annex,which was modern and clean.given the choice though..would have preferred to stay in the original part of the hotel.intended to eat in the hotel but due to lack of choice,over priced food and overall a very rude abrupt foreign barman we decided to go elsewhere! also the shower in the room was impossible to use as it faced directly down on to the taps and was either freezing cold or boiling hot!the hotel does have the potential to be better with better customer service(excluding the helpful friendly receptionist).

Room Tip: try and get placed in the original part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregor n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundarach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundarach Hotel

Property: Dundarach Hotel
Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundarach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dundarach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundarach Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing