We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Ranked #3 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
edinburgh
Level Contributor
313 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Afetr reading all the reviews i decided to book for a night last week on our way to skye and agree with all written. fantastic location and such a ncie change to get a B&B not full of tartan kitcsh. the apple pancakes for breakfast were brilliant and good to see sucha selection of fruit etc.

service first class and local knowledge on where to eat etc made a nice touch.

would definetly visit again

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,438
    61
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
131
1,119
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carolinas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

We stayed in Room 9 – it was true bliss! The service was immaculate, the breakfast to die for and the view and location could not have been better. It is worth going to Pitlochry just to stay at Craigatin House.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeTravelerCarolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

The one thing that we regret about the Craigatin is that we were only there one night! Amazing! We stayed in Room #9 and were extremely impressed. If that is one of the 'normal' rooms, I can't imagine what the upgraded rooms are like! Bliss. The view was breathtaking (there was some construction off in the distance, but it didn't detract from the view at all). You always wonder how much of the website is creative photography, but the Craigatin exceeded all the expectations set. We had a lovely breakfast, the room was perfectly stocked with all the niceties, and the staff and owner went above and beyond to be helpful and welcoming.
Thank you Craigatin for making our stay in Pitlochry so memorable!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nextstoptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

My boyfriend and I spent one night here during the recent May weekend and could not have found a better location if we had tried. We stayed in one of the suites (Room 11 I think) having decided that as we were only able to manage one night away we might as well do it in style. A warm welcome on arrival along with some handy hints on where to have our evening meal got our brief trip off to a flying start (the Moulin Inn is well worth the visit - try the stake/haggis). The beautiful decor combined with thoughful little touches went a long way to making our little stay all the more comfortable - such a treat to be able to have more than one cup of tea/coffee in the room.

The massive bed (6ft I believe) lent its self to a very peaceful night and the breakfast in the morning was fit for a king. Try the French Toast - such a fantastic change from the usual full cooked (which my boyfriend assures me first class) we can also recommend the porrridge.

All in all a wonderful night away - infact I was so relaxed after my one night out of town - it felt like I was returning from a fornight in the sun

Can we come back soon please????

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank office_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Lovely people, great rooms and ambience. We arrived after a windy, wet day on a motorcycle tour to a friendly welcome and a lovely warm, beautiful room. Definitely the best accommodation of our tour. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KismetWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2009

We stayed at Craigatin House back in March during a week's trip around Scotland. We had nearly chosen a hotel outside of Pitlochry, but when we checked the reviews on Trip Advisor we decided against it & instead found this B&B, for which we are so relieved!

The room was of an extremely high standard (better than many hotels we've been in previously), the view is amazing, the breakfasts delicious & the location on the edge of Pitlochry is brilliant as it is peaceful whilst also being only a walking distance away from shops & restaurants.

And especially, the service we received was outstanding. Martin & Andrea are extremely welcoming & friendly. They took an interest in what we were doing each day & offered advise on where to go, what to see & where to eat. It is very obvious that they have taken time to learn about the area, even the history of the house & that they really appreciate their surroundings. And this shines through in their work.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

At the risk of lacking originality, the temptation is to echo all the great comments about Craigatin that have gone before us. But rather than talk about all the things it IS, why not discuss what it ISNT, because I'm sure you'd all agree that it's really the sum total of our negative experiences that contribute to our ideas of what might make a great b & b. So, here goes...

1. Craigatin is NOT swathed in tartan. So if you love all that, and can't be doing with clean, modern, plush designs and fabrics, then you'll be sorely disappointed.

2. Martin and Andrea who run Craigatin are NOT grumpy, unhelpful and disinterested in your stay.

3. Breakfast is NOT a line of long-neglected trays of lukewarm eggs, bacon and beans. If you're reticent to quality and suspicious of choice then you'll have plenty to grumble about here.

4. The waiting staff are NOT incapable of interacting meaningfully with other humans. Fans of social isolation will be disturbed by their friendliness and efficiency.

5. There are no bibles in the rooms. If this appalls you, then you needn't worry - Martin and Andrea will already have been judged by a higher power than Trip Advisor.

6. There would appear to be NOTHING that is too much trouble for Martin and Andrea. It was both me and my wife's birthdays the week we stayed at Craigatin, and this was mentioned in passing as we handed Andrea a bottle of champers to stick in her fridge to await our arrival back from dinner. On our return, not only was the fizz in a lovely bucket with a couple of beautiful flutes standing at the ready alongside, but they had also left us a delicious chocolate cake to enjoy with our drink. They didn't have to do it, but that extra touch rocketed Craigatin to the very top of our list of great b&bs in Scotland.

The bulk of the competition in Pitlochry should be looking at Craigatin, and themselves frankly, to learn a little bit about why it's been so lauded on this website. Martin and Andrea have just planned and executed everything very, very well indeed. And they care about their guests - a rare thing these days. In conversation with an annoyingly talkative member of staff at Blair Castle - believe us when we say you'll recognise him from our brief description if you encounter him - we got the distinct impression that there may be some local hostility to Craigatin's success. Understandable why, but those tired old hoots-mon tartan-carpets-and-antlers Scottish guesthouses that are likely the worst whingers of all should sit up and take note of why Craigatin gets such fantastic praise. It's quite simply that it deserves it. All of it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#2 of 66 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Property: Craigatin House & Courtyard
Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigatin House & Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into an award winning, four star GOLD, boutique bed & breakfast. The individually designed spacious large double rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview. For special occasions, our suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing