We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go on, treat yourself!”
Review of The Old Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Mill Inn
Ranked #3 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go on, treat yourself!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Met up with family and sadly we only stayed one night at the beginning of April, certainly will return. Loved every minute of our stay. Surpassed all expectations and from the moment we arrived to checking out we could not fault the place. Anja checked us in and took the time to not only show us to our room, which was very stylish with a quality finish, but also explain how everything worked. All staff very attentive, nothing too much trouble. Young waiter who served us dinner was only on his second night but you would never have known. Smiling all the time and answered all our questions with ease. Lovely choice of food on the menu, excellent breakfast. Many an establishment could learn from the staff here, well done to you all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    110
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
137
813
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for five nights at the beginning of April. From beginning to end our stay was excellent.
Our bedroom (number one) was really good - the size certainly gave it the wow factor. The bathroom (with separate rain shower) was stocked with local products from the Highland Soap Company, a nice touch. By the way their shop is down the road!
The staff were very attentive - nothing too trivial.
Breakfast was delicious - from fresh fruit and cheeses to a tasty cooked Scottish breakfast made using local produce. What we ate from the restaurant menu was cooked very well. Our only criticism was that for five days there wasn't enough choice.
Overall, a brilliant hotel and one we would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of April and were most impressed with the high standard of customer service, attention to detail and the facilities at the Old Mill Inn. We stayed two nights in room no.5, and it was simply gorgeous. Very clean, beautifully decorated- it felt like a proper retreat!! The meals we had over the course of our stay we're fantastic- plenty of choice on the menu, and the staff were most attentive. As we stayed over a weekend, we got to experience the live bands on offer, firstly "last orders" on the Friday night, then "the red pine timber company" on the Saturday night- both great to listen and dance to, and certainly appeared to draw and hold the crowds all evening. Definitely will return, and definitely will tell my friends about this gem of a place! Thankyou for a brilliant stay!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Great two night visit. Staff excellent and very efficient. Log stove great after a cold day walking in the beautiful countryside. Food was top cuisine. Great live music at the weekend. Rooms very comfortable. Will be back soon. Thanks

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

lovely wee place had tried to stay last visit down but was always fully booked .
staff were exellent (anja is stronger than she looks lol as she told me )
booked a meal and drinks good scottish breakfast
will be back

only regret small car park !

Room Tip: would reccomend if you can get a booking friendly staff , enjoyed the break thanks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here with family to celebrate my 50th birthday and the experience was fantastic. The welcome and attention from staff on arrival and throughout our stay was friendly and professional. The bedrooms are modern and decorated to a high standard, they are well equipped for all your needs. The bar provided a nice place for us to chill out as a family during the day but in the evening stepped it up a gear with the excellent live music. The fact that locals come and go from the bar during the day is a reflection of the service provided in the Old Mill. The selection of meals throughout the day caters for all and food is of a high standard - this includes a wide selection of breakfast options! We had an amazing family weekend and will definitely return to the Old Mill Inn. Well done to the excellent staff and attentive owners for providing a very high standard of customer service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthainy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

First class accommodation, good location, excellent helpful staff and very good food and service. We stayed in room 3 which was clean warm and cosy, and furnished to a very high standard. We had everything we needed for our stay. Only wish we could have stayed longer, next time we will make the Old Mill Inn our base.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGuinnesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,780 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
857 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Inn

Property: The Old Mill Inn
Address: Mill Lane, Pitlochry PH16 5BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Mill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill Inn is a family owned hotel, offering excellent accommodation, food and service. Recently renovated to a high standard, The Old Mill Inn started life as a Corn Mill situated in the heart of the highland resort of Pitlochry. Winners of Inn of the Year 2014 at the Scottish Hotel Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Pitlochry
The Old Mill Inn Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing