We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wee distillery in Scotland”

Edradour Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$617.55*
and up
Tour to the Queen's View, Pitlochry, and the Sma' Glen from St. Andrews
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Ballater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best wee distillery in Scotland”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The beautifullly maintained grounds of this distillery only add to the experience. Tour guides are very informed on the process of the distillery. Tasting occurs PRIOR to the tour and you get to keep the glass! This is my wife's favourite.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank gkenned2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,131
    235
    51
    29
    60
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great little traditional distillery”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a tour of this distillery for less than a tenner. The guide was very informative. We received 2 free samples and kept a whisky glass. The tour was interesting and informative. If this is your thing i would recommend this small traditional distillery rather than a more modern large scale operation.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A look into the process of Good Scotch”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our group took some time to stop at Edradour Distillery in Pitlochry for a tour. It was most educational both in how their whisky is made as well as what they do to help with reusable parts of their process. The guide was very personable. He'd been with the company for years and was proud of their high standards. We all learned a little bit about what steps to take before actually taking a sip of scotch to get more depth of flavor.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ragazza14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value and interesting tour”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have done whisky tours in Scotland and Ireland, and found this one to be quite an interesting addition to our knowledge. It was the first place we have seen the condensing process done by simple water tanks and coils and everything was pretty low-tech (even to the extent of having an open mash tun which we've also never seen before). The barrel warehouse was interesting; previously the tours we have done either didn't show us the warehouse or, in the case of Bushmills, they take you into a warehouse where they keep the empty casks to explain the differences in the various woods but not one with actual product aging in it. We also got to take home a lovely glass each after the tasting, which is very good value considering they (and other distilleries) sell this type of tasting glass for about £5 and we only paid £7.50 for the tour to start with!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NornIron22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

After a great week holiday in pitlochary was saving this tour for our last day. We drove there to be met by the sign "over 12 years and over" NO MENTION OF THIS IN ANY LITERATURE OR LEAFLETS. Young chap at door was lovely when I explained daughter under 12 and said to ask inside. A very rude and far from friendly woman said no my daughter couldn't tour. When I asked why their literature didn't explain this she said "it's on the gate!".....of all the Scottish hospitality we experienced I'm glad this was the end of our trip not the beginning! as previous review was more interested in flogging off expensive whiskies to American tourists. By chance found a lovely whisky shop in town who not only gave free drams but was same price or cheaper than distillery. Much friendlier ones elsewhere.

Helpful?
8 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edradour Distillery also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Edradour Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing