We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good walk with stunning views.”
Review of Ben Vrackie

Ranked #9 of 40 things to do in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good walk with stunning views.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Ban Vrackie is a good walk for anyone and can be quite testing for a person not used to walking. Around three miles and 600 metres climb. That being said, some very noteable views can be accessed without the final climb up to the peak. The first part is a steep but fairly easy path through aforestation, then there is a much easier climb across open moorland to Loch a Choire before the final steep and quite testing climb to the summit The path is clear throughout. As can be imagined, the views from the top are stunning taking in the valleys of the Tummel and the Garry, Blair Athol with its Castle, the nearby peaks of Schiehallion and Ben Lawers as well as Rannoch moor and the mountains around Glencoe. An excellent day out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    44
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth the hard work!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was the first time I had attempted such a walk - it was worth the aching legs!
Most of the walk from the car park is easy going and very scenic. The last climb to the summit was very steep but worth the exceptional views from the top!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KateWil2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Super day, great walk”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

walked from the Fonab Hotel to top and back. Stopped at Moulin Hotel for Braveheart local ale on return. Even my wife enjoyed it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FifeAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hard going but worth it for the view.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Went climbing Ben Vrackie with my husband at Easter. Wasn't sure about going but went along. Found the path quite hard work in places especially where the path was made of steps. We passed a couple of runners on their way down, I can't imagine how anyone can possibly run up and down! When we reached the top all the hard work was rewarded with spectacular views. I would definately take a jacket with you as it was cold and windy at the top but around 17 degrees down in Pitlochry. I am so glad I went up Ben Vrackie.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank lezells18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Steep & Fun”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Starts off steep, levels off, and then you have to climb a steep staircase. First time hiking in years so found it tough. Was very cloudy, snowy and windy but made it to the summit. Be well prepared for a turn in the weather up here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ben Vrackie also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Ben Vrackie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing