We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cuil-an-Daraich Guest House
Ranked #32 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just the one night-be aware that despite the address this place isn't actually in Pitlochry, it's about 4 miles outside it. A taxi will cost you £12.

Room was fine if a little tired. Rachel (proprietor) apologised for the paint smell which was quite strong. We left the window open all evening and night and the fumes were still there in the morning. With hindsight we should have asked for a different room. That said, our room was SPOTLESS and there was tea/coffee available, a hair dryer (handy!) and shower gel. The pressure in the shower wasn't great but the water was hot.

Breakfast (cooked) was ok for me but not to the taste of my cousin. There was a good selection of cereals and yoghurt as well. The breakfast room looks out on a stunning view-it is somewhat spoilt by the old trampoline and compost bin in the garden.

Overall stay was fine-it's an interesting building with decent parking and free wifi.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank keyora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    35
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
49
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Cuil-an-Daraich is about 4 miles from Pitlochry, a little off the beaten track, but it is excellent. It is spotless with large comfortable rooms and a good breakfast (piping hot!) Rachel the owner was very helpful and I would definitely stay there again. There is also a local inn which serves food Friday/Sat/Sun, cosy and popular. I thought that this B & B was excellent value. would definitely recommend it. Beautiful views, calm and relaxing.

Room Tip: I stayed in the blue room. Large twin with an en-suite shower room. Spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFinchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Needed a relaxing break this was it. The owner Rachael allocated great big room,nice warm and cosy. Bed comfy. Excellent choice at breakfast. Was left in disturbed but the owner was at hand if I needed anything. Perfect relaxation.Thanks Rachael
Beautiful location just watched the river go by!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank shirlmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I submitted the previous review 'bed like a bag of spanners' and following on from this, Rachael, the owner has contacted me directly to apologise for the unsatisfactory stay we recently had. She assures me that she has replaced the bed in the 'purple room' and has offered us a complimentary stay. I intend to take her up on her offer and will be more than happy to submit a further review based on my next stay. hope this review helps potential travellers. :) Its great to hear that our views have been take on board and now dealt with.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraferguson82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I shall start of with the positives as I believe I am a fairly easy to please individual. The owner, Rachel is welcoming and lovely, the actual building, steeped in history is also pretty impressive and breakfast was more than satisfactory situated in a pleasant conservatory with stunning views. Now to the negatives, if you want a good nights sleep here please avoid 'the purple room'! I booked this property for my partners birthday whilst visiting the enchanted forrest. Not only did the four poster bed squeak beyond belief aka with every turn, the mattress was exceptionally lumpy and the pillows lacked any form of filling to say the least.Both my partner and I struggled so much with the uncomfortable sleep that I had to sleep in the single bed!! Needless to say I dont expect to have to sleep in a seperate bed to my partner when away for a romantic weekend. My mum had stayed in the same room only two nights prior and had warned us to expect such but wondering if she may have been overly critical I chose to make up my own mind. It was a shocking experience one of which I have thankfully never experienced before - I am a frequent traveller with work and have never experienced anything of such poor standard particularly with beds! We did mention the above to Rachel who very surprisingly never offered any form of goodwill gesture, which was disappointing. Had i not prepaid with travel republic i would have refused to pay anything apart from the excellent breakfast! Be warned and if you choose this property either ensure they have replaced their existing beds or pay on departure. Good luck!

Room Tip: Avoid the purple room unless bed has been replaced
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraferguson492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A little run down, but excellent value. We stayed one night in the purple room to get the four poster
It was lovely but the bed squeaks. Full Scottish breakfast is served in a pretty conservatory. A car is essential if staying here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here one night only midweek. The b&b was very comfortable and clean / warm.
Friendly owner.... The logierait inn is a terrific local restaurant within walking distance and we'll worth a visit for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
10.0 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
691 reviews
4.5 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
527 reviews
4.3 mi away
Craigvrack
Craigvrack
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
439 reviews
2.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Brolly Inn
Red Brolly Inn
#1 of 1 in Ballinluig
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuil-an-Daraich Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuil-an-Daraich Guest House

Property: Cuil-an-Daraich Guest House
Address: Logierait, Pitlochry PH9 0LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cuil-an-Daraich Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cuil-an-Daraich Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuil-An-Daraich Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing