We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moulin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moulin Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Spent the weekend in the superior room. Clean and tidy. Tv and usual tea&coffee. Have to say the floor boards were really squeaky but this added to our enjoyment.
Food was lovely and enjoyable. Cooked breakfasts just right with staff very friendly and always ready to help.
Liked the bird cards at the tables to help identify the birds in the garden.
My only complaint is that in the 21st century guests surely must be given access to Internet wifi. Afterall a tv is provided so a modem could be added.
Overall a fabulous place to stay with so much walking routes available from the minute you walk out the hotel door. Oh aye and the ale from the nearby brewery is fab!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helpmyphysics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    199
    51
    34
    31
See reviews for
82
290
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Bar restaurant
Fish and Chips was SWIMMING in oil and fish tasted of cardboard - frozen!
Why - Scotland has more fish that anywhere else in the universe!!!
Starter would fit in my eye and straight out of local supermarket
Sultry "big-man" attitude of barman (criticism = confrontation) - grow up!
Brilliant waitress - give her a medal
Awesome place, deserving of awesome food - get rid of the dinasaurs and you will have something great

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Quade17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Thought I'd gone to heaven here. 3 visits over a 3 day stay in Pitlochry & Edradour. The real fires, the Moulin Brewery beers and the functional quaintness of this place is incomparable. Truly, a hive for Europeans to shelter; it was already packed on the Sunday afternoon we were there with French, Japanese, Germans, etc. while the food btw was stunning; my Coronation Chicken pieces with salad were phenomenal. I felt truly honoured to have a table for both Friday & Saturday night. Try their Ginger Beer; unique.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I_M_Ryte_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

An old Coaching Inn in the small attractive village of Moulin just outside Pitlochry. The Hotel has a great atmospheric bar attached to it with good pub food. Hotel also has its own micro brewery, if you like real ale, good food and old world charm then you will like this hotel. Bit dated but friendly, welcoming and comfortable and good value.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSACoopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

My wife and I were needing a short break, friends recommended the Moulin !!

We arrived and as we approached the hotel doors there were broken glasses and cigarette ends lying around ... not a good start we thought!!!

We entered the hotel to a warm and friendly welcome, we were shown to our room, our first impressions were it was a bit dated but.... it was spotlessly clean and looked really comfortable.

We got ourselves sorted out and went back down to reception,. We reserved a table for dinner and made our way to the bar.

The bar was quite crowded and no seats were available, we ordered drinks and after a while we managed to find a table near the log fire....a most relaxing afternoon was had,

My wife and I were very comfortable enjoying time together in front of the open fire.... we decided as the afternoon /evening went on that we would just stay where we were and have a bar meal instead.

The food was lovely, good quality and plenty of it, with great service and plenty attention to detail.

Our evening was most enjoyable.

Breakfast was served in the large dining room, a good hearty breakfast was had ... plenty coffee/tea and toast with a full Scottish breakfast

We checked out and spent the day wandering around Pitlochry before returning home.
We had a most enjoyable stay and would recommend this highly as a get away!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg_Crawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

My partner & I stumbled upon Moulin Inn a few years ago ( which is part of the hotel) so we decided this time to stay at the hotel and I have to say, we were not disappointed. We had a very nice room, big bathrooom and unlike some earlier travellers experience, we had constant hot water. Our room looked onto the Moulin Burn and Ben Y Vrackie and the views were lovely. The decor may be a little 'dated ' for some tastes ( lots of flowery carpets and stuffed animals) but it doesn't - or shouldn't - distract from the overall setting.

We ate at the Inn twice and both times had excellent service and lovely meals. Despite the place being busy, you don't wait long to be served. Lovely big fires as well which were very welcome by the third night as it started snowing!

One very small complaint would be after coming back from a long walk one day when it was very cold and there had been snow showers all day, the staff who cleaned the rooms had decided to leave our window wide open. Presumably the idea had been to air the room, but we estimated the room had been left like that for about 6 hours with a cold wind and show blowing in! The room it has to be said was not the warmest at the best of times, but after that it was freezing. I did go down and ask at reception for a heater and was advised if one could be found, it would be brought up. About 3 hours later we were in the pub having a meal and one of the staff came over, asked for our room key and took up a heater - but it did take about 3 hours to get one.

That aside, the trip was lovely, staff were very friendly and helpful and we would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Having gone to the Moulin and having what I would consider to be one of the worst experiences I have had for may years I wrote to the owner, both to complain and because I thought he would like to know what his customers think and that he might strive for excellence. He did not even bother to reply to my letter. I wrote again and as of filling in this review he has not thought it necessary to respond to me. A good hotel is usually run by good management, I can only assume that the reverse is true as well.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ENESOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
6.6 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin Hotel

Property: Moulin Hotel
Address: Pitlochry PH16 5EW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moulin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HRS, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Moulin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing